We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place for a family reunion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport

Save Saved
You added Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7901 34th Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55425   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WiFi & Breakfast!
Ranked #19 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a family reunion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We just had a 90th birthday party here with 25 of us arriving for a nice three-day weekend. The free shuttle to and from the airport, the free shuttle between hotel and the mall of america, the wonderful staff, the fantastic (free) breakfasts, all contributed to a wonderful experience.
The ONLY thing I'd warn about is the fact that since each family member booked his/her own room, there seemed to be NO way to pre-arrange to have rooms close together. I tried this through both the Hilton "diamond" line, and the hotel directly and was told that I just had to wait until we checked in. So my advice is to book all of the rooms with a single reservation.
The pool, which includes a sauna and hot tub, was interesting. It advertised itself as "low chlorine" but smelled and tasted a little like salt water. Not bad, just different.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    136
    77
    49
    19
See reviews for
160
62
20
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2009

Stayed here over Easter with my wife and 2 daughters (8 and 6). Rooms were clean and roomy with the fridge and mircowave a big benefit. Free drinks at happy hour, the great buffet breakfast, the pool (a little small), the steakhouse on site and the overall value for money were the big plus points of this hotel. Nothing really negative to say.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I have stayed at Embassy Suites many times because I think it is a wonderful hotel. However, this hotel has a player piano in the lobby. It is turned on at about 5:30 every evening and plays until about 10:30. I was on the 5th floor and it was very loud and annoying. The other members in my group were on lower floors and they said it was even louder! The only way to drown it out was to turn on the television. Same songs over and over again. This is my only complaint.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We have stayed and enjoyed other Embassy Suites hotels, so we picked this one.

First -- the location is wonderful. It's very close to the airport, and even closer to Mall of America
Our first disappointment was when my husband and I went to go for a swim after 11:00 pm. teenagers and young kids in pool. adults only after 11:00pm. nothing was done.

We asked the maid if she can clean our room when we were out , and she said "Not my room number to clean".

Breakfast was a fiasco every morning. We've been at Embassy Suites hotels before and we know that breakfast is often crowded, but it was set up very poorly, so that even just to get bacon or sausage, you had to wait in the eggs-to-order line (30 minutes) to get it even if that's all you wanted. We made suggestions to separate out the bacon and sausage, or make them available elsewhere, but they did nothing. They had 2 waffle makers going but one was broken the whole time, so there was a 20 minute wait for waffles. Just made me want to give up and go to MacDonalds. Fruit oranges and grape fruit. No bagels. 2nd day breakfast you stood in line like you wood in the school cafeteria.
They would hand you what you wanted. Very unorganized.

The staff here was reasonably friendly, but ineffective, and the follow though was non-existent. We have never had this experience anywhere else. We stayed at the Embassy Suites in AZ.

The maids did a very apathetic job in our room, and it seems like this hotel is currently in flux. I will never stay here again, but will instead, choose the other Embassy Suites in Bloomington.
When I call to inform ASSIstant MAng. of problem we had staying at the Embassy Suite
I did inform him that we did recieve a 30.00 $ discount. He stated Well there you go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

We'd heard lots of great reviews of this hotel, and have stayed and enjoyed other Embassy Suites hotels, so we picked this one.

First -- the location is wonderful. It's very close to the airport, and even closer to Mall of America and the Waterpark of America (do not bother -- this was dangerously overcrowded and expensive. 45 min. wait for a inner tube, which you needed to do the fun slides).

We booked a corner room at a slight premium, which was kind of neat, although looking back, it's not really worth the added $30. You get extra windows, but the room is crowded with so much furniture. There's also a vent over the entry door which is open, and makes the living room really noisy, especially for whomever is sleeping on the pullout bed. We asked the hotel to cover the vent which they did with cardboard and duct tape. It helped a little bit.

Our first disappointment was when we saw a sandwich on the carpeting in a corner of the hall outside our room. I asked the front desk (it was 10pm) if they could have someone clean it up and vacuum, because I didn't want bugs to start collecting. They were very friendly and said no problem. 36 hours later (and we'd asked 3 more times) it was still there. We even asked the maid, and she said "Not my job". Finally a day and a half later, someone picked it up but never vacuumed.

Our hallway was continually covered in crumbs. Once I even saw a used tampon applicator in the hallway and the maid walked right past it, as did a maintenance man!

Also, people are definitely smoking in the hotel, and our room reeked. We finally had to change rooms. Their solution to the smoke problem was to send the maid up with air freshener...

Breakfast was a fiasco every morning. We've been at Embassy Suites hotels before and we know that breakfast is often crowded, but it was set up very poorly, so that even just to get bacon or sausage, you had to wait in the eggs-to-order line (30 minutes) to get it even if that's all you wanted. We made suggestions to separate out the bacon and sausage, or make them available elsewhere, but they did nothing. They had 2 waffle makers going but one was broken the whole time, so there was a 20 minute wait for waffles. Just made me want to give up and go to MacDonalds.

On the last day, we were swimming and when I opened to door to the dry sauna, the door came off the hinges. It came right out of the door frame, exposed screws and all!

The staff here was reasonably friendly, but ineffective, and the follow though was non-existent. We have never had this experience anywhere else. We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Washington, and saw the General Manager around every day. He made a point to talk with the guests. Here, I saw the GM once, and although she was very friendly, I never saw her again.

Our last night, around 11pm we were in desperate need of a plunger. (Some bad food at the stadium). At 11pm, we were informed that they couldn't find a plunger, that it was in housekeeping and no one had a key. We were told that 3 people were working at that time: 1 person at the front desk, 1 security person and 1 person to wash towels! We pushed, and eventually, one hour later, the security man showed up with a plunger. There was a wedding at the hotel that night, and I can't believe that only 3 people were working there at that time.

The maids did a very apathetic job in our room, and it seems like this hotel is currently in flux. I will never stay here again, but will instead, choose the other Embassy Suites in Bloomington.

If you do stay here, make sure you stay on the south or east side, since the train goes by all night and blows its horn. Also, don't be tempted by the corner rooms -- the regular rooms are just as nice, and much quieter.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north dakota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2009

My husband and i stayed here over valentines day weekend and ejoyed the hotel the staff and the location. The satrbucks and steak house in the hotel was wonderful and the comp drinks in the evening were a very nice plus. Great for couples and families.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

We visit family in Minneapolis every year during the holidays. This year we decided to stay at the Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport. The hotel has a great location....just minutes from the Mall of America and they provide a complimentary shuttle.

We spent alot of time in the swimming pool. The suites are updated and we loved having the extra room. Kids went to bed on time....we could stay up and play cards in the living room without disturbing them.

The staff was very friendly and service was great. I definitely recommend this property. We have found a new favorite hotel.

  • Liked — Loved the two room suite.....and location to the Mall.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport

Address: 7901 34th Ave S, Bloomington, MN 55425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bloomington
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#15 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport hotel near Mall of America is located close to many Bloomington MN attractions. Our complimentary shuttle provides transportation to the American Girl Store in Mall of America or Minneapolis St. Paul MSP airport just 1 mile from the hotel. Visit Nickelodeon Universe or the Water Park of America just minutes from this Bloomington, MN hotel. Our all-suite, full-service, upscale accommodations offer the ideal choice for the business or leisure traveler. Guests of the Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport hotel stay in a spacious two-room suite complete with a refrigerator, microwave oven and coffee maker. Our complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast and complimentary manager's reception are served daily in our lush open air atrium. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. Woolley's Steakhouse, winner of 2009 Minnesota's Beef Backer's award, is well known as the best steakhouse in the South Metro. We offer our guests a first class dining experience. Our 150 seat dining room overlooks running brooks and the tropical hotel atrium creating a dining atmosphere like no other. Cuisine offers wide variety of grilled meats, poultry and fish. Extensive lunch menu features include famous salad bar and a wide array of sandwiches and hot and cold entrees. Our fine dining menu offers daily Chef Specials. An excellent wine list accompanies your choice of entrees. Extensive dessert menu available for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport Hotel Bloomington
Minneapolis Airport Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Bloomington
Bloomington Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport Bloomington, MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Minneapolis Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.