We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Bloomington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Bloomington to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Bloomington
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   2800 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55431   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #15 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Minneapolis, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2007

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Bloomington on Mother's Day weekend. I was impressed with the layout of the property - the "tropical" feel inside, the Starbucks, the restaurant. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The manager's reception and full breakfast were very good. I was a little concerned that, because we were very close to the airport, it would be noisy, but that was not the case. They have done a great job keeping it quiet. The room was spacious and clean. I loved the fact that there was a refrigerator/microwave/coffee maker in the room. Also, there was a "conference" style table on wheels with chairs that we could move around the room - made a great place to eat and watch tv! I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wanted a great get away.

  • Liked — The "tropical" feel of the hotel
  • Disliked — close to airport
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    143
    75
    42
    18
See reviews for
187
68
17
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

My family of 4 stayed at this Embassy Suites to be close to the Mall of America. My husband had to work while in town so I wanted a hotel that had a pool, breakfast and shuttle service to the mall since my husband would have the car during the day. Upon entering the hotel you get a feel for the old, historical Spanish atmosphere that the hotel is going for. The double French door entrances to all of the guest rooms gives the hotel character as well. The check-in went smoothly with the desk clerk providing info/schedule for the shuttle service to the mall. The room itself was spacious and the decor was fairly new but seemed like it had been done on a budget. I believe if the owners had spent just a little more on the room decor it would have kicked this property up a notch on the luxury scale. The bathroom lights were made of plastic and the counter looked worn out but still OK. The toilet ran continuously unless you jiggled the handle. The lamp by the beds looked really cheap also and wouldn't hang straight on the wall. As one poster mentioned earlier, the sheets were very rough! My 11 year old son used his jacket as a pillow because the pillowcase was so rough. I just think they skimped on nicer room amenities and it shows. The pool was fine with plenty of seating and towels for use. The full breakfast bar in the morning was really nice and can save you a bundle on a nice breakfast if you have a family. They offered just about anything you could want including a cooked-to-order omelet service. There was a line for service but it moved fairly quick. The staff was friendly in this area. The shuttle service to the mall was great and on schedule each time. The exterior of the hotel looks kind of drab and could use painting or updating too. Overall it's a good hotel but falls short of being great. It has potential because of the atrium character.

  • Liked — Spanish atrium decor
  • Disliked — Cheap room amenities
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

I love the ES and stay at them all over the world. This one was on the disapointing side. The crowd of people there were loud and annoying to other paying guests. They had many complaints but put up their hands and said they couldn't do much. They also had balcony's but we weren't allowed to use them? They said the reason was that people were smoking on them - well we had a smoking room so what would it matter anyway. I paid for a room with a balcony and got a room with little to know view because we couldn't go out on the balcony.

I called around and other hotels said they had the same problems - no smoking 25 feet from the hotel (I understand this) but remove the balconies ASAP. This property was in need of a major renovations anyway. The breakfast was slow, the cook wasn't good with children and didn't even earn a small daily tip.

We ended up checking out after only (4) days and spending the remaining (4) days at another hotel.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAngeles, CA
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2006

Just returned from a one night stay at this Embassy. The rooms and hotel are recently renovated and look very nice. The hotel was packed with people and children which made for long waits for the slow elevators and food which ran out quickly and had long waits for replenishments. I would have expected more help for both the manager's reception and morning breakfast, since it had to be clear the hotel was sold out and the events would be busy. However, the lines moved quickly and food tasted good. Didn't try the pool or exercise room. Also stayed in the Airport Embassy Suites and probably would prefer to stay there again over this one, however, if the Airport Embassy was full, would consider staying here.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

We just returned from a visit to the Twin Cities to visit friends and family with our 9 month old baby. The hotel provided a pack-and-play type crib - clean and in great condition - for the little guy to sleep in. It was so nice to have the extra room (and door).
The hotel is undergoing renovations, but we were not disturbed AT ALL by any of the construction - we were on the 8th and 10th floor (we left for a few days road trip, then came back) and the construction was on the 4th. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and had the best beds (with plenty of pillows) that I've had in a hotel in a long time. The Embassy Suites was a great choice! We will definitely stay there again next time we visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

Stayed 5/18-22/2006
Cons:
A hockey teamt presented a problem for us. Had we known, we would have stayed elsewhere. Call ahead. Zillions of noisy,smelly,12yr old boys, jammed up the elevators by pressing every floor button. They made a horrible mess in the eating area during the managers reception while their parents ignored them. Breakfast was unappetizing due to the kids fingering everything as well.
We thought by going to an upscale hotel, we'd avoid this sort of thing. Wrong!

Pros: Approx $140 with tax per night. Less expensive than the airport Embassy. Front desk people spoke English. .Older hotel but well maintained.Spanich themed decor. Clean with new comfy beds. Excellent breakfast bar, good selection. In room coffemaker, micro, table/chairs.Two bath sinks, roomy suites. Spanish themed decor. Shuttle service to Mall of America,Southdale Mall and airport. Must make arrangements ahead with the front desk. A short walk to Rainbow Foods and Target, 10 minute walk to more shopping...Kohl's, Herbergers, and restaurants( Applebees', McD's).
Nice in house bar with food menu. Beer $4/bottle.
Would stay there again but would call ahead to avoid the rugrat situation.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2005

This is the first time I have stayed in an Embassy Suites Hotel, and I doubt that I or my family will ever stay in one again. We booked a non-smoking room through AAA and we were given a smoking room (Suite 218) at check in. We complained and then were given a non-smoking room (Suite 306). We didn't have enough towels for the three of us and told the front desk to have the maid leave more towels when our room was cleaned. When we came back to our room, we had no towels at all. Even the clean towels were gone. We had to request towels 5 times over the course of an entire day to get any towels. If we hadn't finally gone down to the front desk and gotten firm, I don't think we would have ever gotten any towels. Also, there was mold and mildew on the shower tiles and curtain, loose tiles and gaps between them in the shower, accumulated dirt at the base of the bathtub on the floor, and it did not appear that the linens on one of the beds had been changed before we checked in. For the prices you charge, I would expect exemplary service and superior facilities. I have had better stays in Super 8's for a lot less money. How disappointing. I am going to report this to AAA, also, so that they do not recommend this hotel again as I do not believe that you are up to their standards.

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ESBloomington, Sales Manager at Embassy Suites Bloomington, responded to this review, July 28, 2008
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We apologize for the challenges that you encountered while staying at our hotel. Please understand this is not typical when staying at the Embassy Suites Bloomington. We have addressed the issues you encountered during your stay. We are excited to announce that our hotel has just completed a FULL renovation! From the bedrooms, parlors and bathrooms to the complimentary services area, fitness center and the lobby; we have made changes! Our hotel has been updated to not only meet high standards, but create a better hotel for our guests to visit. We have renovated our complimentary services area to increase the ease and accessibility of our complementary cooked-to-order breakfast and the Manager’s Reception as well. Thank you again for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Bloomington

Address: 2800 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#18 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Bloomington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Bloomington hotel near Mall of America is located close to many Bloomington MN attractions. Our complimentary shuttle provides transportation to the American Girl Store in Mall of America or Minneapolis St. Paul MSP airport just 5 miles from the hotel. Visit Nickelodeon Universe or the Water Park of America just minutes from this Bloomington, MN hotel. Unwind and refresh in our indoor pool, fitness center and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Embassy Suites Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.