We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid room near pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Killebrew Dr., Bloomington, MN 55425   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Avoid room near pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel was clean, modern, had a huge room, comfortable beds. Breakfast room was large & had a nice food assortment. We had a second floor room facing the pool. The chlorine smell was quite strong when you entered the room - I would never sit on the balcony! Also, there was a group of men that would drink beer & smoke every night near one of the side entrances - it looked tacky & you had to keep going around them to enter the building. One night we went out to eat, then went to a local casino & they were still there when we got back!

Room Tip: avoid room near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    250
    60
    17
    2
See reviews for
508
115
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed just one night and used the Park & Fly package. Great, quiet sleep. Nice rooms. Efficient & pleasant shuttle drop off & pick up. Only complaint is that it was a little more than I'd expect to pay for one night, but it seems all the hotels in that area are tacking on extra money for the Park & Fly packages now. Even so, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I booked this hotel for three nights during a visit to the Twin Cities to visit my daughter's college for family weekend. I am not a Mall of America fan (just not a mall fan in general) but the location of this hotel would be a MOA shopper's dream! Free pick-up and drop-off at both the airport and Mall so no car needed unless you are interested in travelling around the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. The hotel is a good value for the money. I requested and received a quiet room. There is a pool that seems very popular with families of younger children. I requested a room away from the pool activity and was quite pleased. The room was clean. The beds comparable to a Westin Heavenly Bed. The room was wonderfully dark (room darkening curtains). Flat screen television with a remote in a sleeve that indicates it was just cleaned. Nice touch! Ample towels. Toiletries are a bit sparse with just the basic shampoo, conditioner, lotion and a bar of hand soap. Hot water readily available and the toilet flushes. (I only mention this because sometimes toilet water pressure can be an issue at hotels.) Free WiFi. The business center is three computers near the front lobby. You turn your room key into the front desk and receive in exchange the keyboard and mouse. Free boarding pass printing. I did not eat at the restaurant at this hotel but did visit the "open 24 hours" International House of Pancakes (IHOP) located within walking distance on the same side of the road at another hotel. I noticed many patrons walking to the Mall of America but this Best Western Plus does offer a free shuttle. The hotel is a short drive to downtown Minneapolis and St. Paul as well as close to a local Walmart, Target and grocery stores. The hotel also offers a complimentary breakfast but I can't comment on that because I didn't partake. The breakfast seemed extremely popular with other visiters and their children. There's ample free parking at this hotel. Every employee I encountered was friendly. An aside: We ate at a fantastic restaurant in the Uptown neighborhood of Minneapolis: Lucia's. I highly recommend. They take reservations. I am in the Twin Cities several times a year and used to stay at the Westin Galleria (in Edina) but have had a difficult time justifying their room rate. I'm pleased to have "discovered" the Best Western Plus and will definitely return. My only complaint: I saw no evidence of recycling at this hotel. A recycling bin was not provided in the room. I, therefore, took all of my recyclables to my daughter's college and used their bins which wasn't a big hassle but it's a shame that more hotels don't offer their guests an in-room recycling option.

Room Tip: There seem to be poolside as well as quiet rooms available. Just indicate your preference and the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great motel convenient to Mall of America and MSP Airport. Great restaurants nearby. We stayed at
about 6 Best Westerns last summer and earned a free night. What a superb deal we had being able to pick this location. We dined at Chevy's nearby and walked around the Mall of America.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peculiar, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Location- right off of 77N, stay right, take the first right and you are in the parking lot. The Hotel is literally a 5-minute walk from Mall of America. If you prefer, this Best Western runs a shuttle to MoA regularly, but the weather was nice and we hoofed it no problem. The parking lot is large, well-lit, and encircles the building, so larger vehicles and vehicles with trailers should have no problem. The property felt secure and I was not concerned about my vehicle during my stay.

Property- this is a large, sprawling property. It could literally take you a couple minutes to walk from one end to the other, so if you have difficulty with mobility you might inquire about a room closer to the north end of the hotel where all of the amenities are.

Service- check in was seamless, staff friendly, polite, and accommodating. Lobby is clean, spacious, and updated.

Room- travelling with a business partner this time, so booked a double queen room. The room was large enough for our needs, and featured a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, and all of the other accessories you typically find. Best Western is still using drip coffee makers in the rooms <shudder>. The bathroom was right on the edge of being small; the combination tub/shower was similar to something you might have at home. Interestingly, and I comment on this because I have never seen this in a Best Western before, the toilet seemed to be a commercial fixture, similar to something you might see at, oh...a truck stop or restaurant? It was sparkling clean, but it seemed strange. WiFi is unsecured. No problems connecting and through-put was very good. Far as I could tell there is no provision for a cable-connect.

Sleep quality was just great. The black-out curtains worked exactly as designed, and even tho our room was on the highway side, traffic noise was minimal and not a problem. There were no noises from adjacent rooms, plumbing or otherwise, but you could hear people in the hallway if they were less than subdued (children). There were more children at this Best Western than I have ever seen at a Best Western (MoA is a "destination"), but it wasn't a problem at all.

Although we did not use it, the pool area looked fantastic! It's huge, and very oriented toward children, but wow, what a set-up. I cannot say what the water temperature was, but the air temperature in the pool are was very warm. Another reviewer observed that there were not enough towels in the pool area, but on the day of my stay there was an abundance of towels.

Breakfast was good: the hot items were warm and the cold items cold. This hotel gets a lot of play, so to speak, given it's proximity to the Mall, so the breakfast area was very busy @ 8:00 AM (I ate @ 6:00 AM when very few people were there). Powdered eggs (typical), undefinable pseudo-link sausage (typical), pretty good potatoes, less than room-temperature biscuits but pretty darn good white sausage gravy. Typical gamut of cold juices & milk (2% and skim), large tureen of warm oatmeal, typical rack of cold bagels and other breads, waffle makers, green apples, bananas etc. Overall pretty satisfying. Coffee so-so. Morning news on two flat screen TVs.

Overall this is a very nice Best Western Plus. It also happened to be the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in a lot of them), so value is difficult to ascertain. I had a two-room King suite at a Best Western Premier (in Albuquerque, NM) that cost half as much, but given the location I sort of expected it to be expensive. Honestly, I might not stay there again as a business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel lived up to the hype. We stayed in the area for 4 days and I spent a lot of time checking reviews of all surrounding hotels and kept coming back to this one, and Im glad we did. Everything from the pool (we have a 2 year old) to the pool view room, the service, cleanliness, breakfast, staff, beds, the list goes on. We were very impressed!!! We didn't get a chance to eat at the Redrosa restaurant which is attached but we will be back. Very happy!!1 Topped off a great trip.

Room Tip: If you have young kids get a pool side or pool view room, it keeps them busy just looking out when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel, located across the street from the Mall of America.The room was spacious and clean and the beds very comfortable. The room included a microwave and small fridge as well as work desk. The hot breakfast was well stocked and very popular, especially on a Sunday game day for the Vikings. They provide shuttle service to the Mall, Airport, Light Rail Station and other places 24/7. You can also walk to the Mall if you wish. Check-in and check-out was very smooth and front desk clerk Matt was extremely friendly and quick to talk sports with the guests. The pool area is very large and includes a big hot tub plus mini-water park for kids. IHOP and TGIFridays are walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool area if you are traveling without kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel

Address: 1901 Killebrew Dr., Bloomington, MN 55425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel is the place to stay when visiting the Twin Cities! Enjoy free deluxe continental breakfast, wonderful guestroom amenities including upgraded bedding packages, large flat-screen televisions, in-room microwave, refrigerator and coffee, and free internet to name a few. Free access to our fitness center, free parking, and free area and airport shuttle. Over 4,500 square feet of on-site meeting facilities. RedRossa Italian Grille and Bar (opening early Summer of 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bloomington
Days Inn Mall America
Bloomington Days Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.