We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient access to MoA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1901 Killebrew Dr., Bloomington, MN 55425   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Peculiar, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient access to MoA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Location- right off of 77N, stay right, take the first right and you are in the parking lot. The Hotel is literally a 5-minute walk from Mall of America. If you prefer, this Best Western runs a shuttle to MoA regularly, but the weather was nice and we hoofed it no problem. The parking lot is large, well-lit, and encircles the building, so larger vehicles and vehicles with trailers should have no problem. The property felt secure and I was not concerned about my vehicle during my stay.

Property- this is a large, sprawling property. It could literally take you a couple minutes to walk from one end to the other, so if you have difficulty with mobility you might inquire about a room closer to the north end of the hotel where all of the amenities are.

Service- check in was seamless, staff friendly, polite, and accommodating. Lobby is clean, spacious, and updated.

Room- travelling with a business partner this time, so booked a double queen room. The room was large enough for our needs, and featured a large flat screen TV, fridge, microwave, and all of the other accessories you typically find. Best Western is still using drip coffee makers in the rooms <shudder>. The bathroom was right on the edge of being small; the combination tub/shower was similar to something you might have at home. Interestingly, and I comment on this because I have never seen this in a Best Western before, the toilet seemed to be a commercial fixture, similar to something you might see at, oh...a truck stop or restaurant? It was sparkling clean, but it seemed strange. WiFi is unsecured. No problems connecting and through-put was very good. Far as I could tell there is no provision for a cable-connect.

Sleep quality was just great. The black-out curtains worked exactly as designed, and even tho our room was on the highway side, traffic noise was minimal and not a problem. There were no noises from adjacent rooms, plumbing or otherwise, but you could hear people in the hallway if they were less than subdued (children). There were more children at this Best Western than I have ever seen at a Best Western (MoA is a "destination"), but it wasn't a problem at all.

Although we did not use it, the pool area looked fantastic! It's huge, and very oriented toward children, but wow, what a set-up. I cannot say what the water temperature was, but the air temperature in the pool are was very warm. Another reviewer observed that there were not enough towels in the pool area, but on the day of my stay there was an abundance of towels.

Breakfast was good: the hot items were warm and the cold items cold. This hotel gets a lot of play, so to speak, given it's proximity to the Mall, so the breakfast area was very busy @ 8:00 AM (I ate @ 6:00 AM when very few people were there). Powdered eggs (typical), undefinable pseudo-link sausage (typical), pretty good potatoes, less than room-temperature biscuits but pretty darn good white sausage gravy. Typical gamut of cold juices & milk (2% and skim), large tureen of warm oatmeal, typical rack of cold bagels and other breads, waffle makers, green apples, bananas etc. Overall pretty satisfying. Coffee so-so. Morning news on two flat screen TVs.

Overall this is a very nice Best Western Plus. It also happened to be the most expensive hotel I have ever stayed in (and I have stayed in a lot of them), so value is difficult to ascertain. I had a two-room King suite at a Best Western Premier (in Albuquerque, NM) that cost half as much, but given the location I sort of expected it to be expensive. Honestly, I might not stay there again as a business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    250
    60
    17
    2
See reviews for
508
115
20
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel lived up to the hype. We stayed in the area for 4 days and I spent a lot of time checking reviews of all surrounding hotels and kept coming back to this one, and Im glad we did. Everything from the pool (we have a 2 year old) to the pool view room, the service, cleanliness, breakfast, staff, beds, the list goes on. We were very impressed!!! We didn't get a chance to eat at the Redrosa restaurant which is attached but we will be back. Very happy!!1 Topped off a great trip.

Room Tip: If you have young kids get a pool side or pool view room, it keeps them busy just looking out when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkirk, New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel, located across the street from the Mall of America.The room was spacious and clean and the beds very comfortable. The room included a microwave and small fridge as well as work desk. The hot breakfast was well stocked and very popular, especially on a Sunday game day for the Vikings. They provide shuttle service to the Mall, Airport, Light Rail Station and other places 24/7. You can also walk to the Mall if you wish. Check-in and check-out was very smooth and front desk clerk Matt was extremely friendly and quick to talk sports with the guests. The pool area is very large and includes a big hot tub plus mini-water park for kids. IHOP and TGIFridays are walking distance from the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the pool area if you are traveling without kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here for one night in August 2012. Great location. We liked that we could walk over to the Mall of America. Pool area had lots of stuff suitable for little kids, but we found the water to be absolutely freezing. Also, there were not enough towels poolside. Our room was suitable and located just off the pool area. Probably would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My family and i were excited to stay at this hotel after reading all of the positive and family focused reviews. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. The hotel is quite large and we were located quite a distance (hotel staff referred to it as the scenic tour) away from the front desk, breakfast area, which most parents will understand isn't and easy trip with luggage and 22 month old twins. Additionally, they didn't explain that there was parking right outside our room, and instead advised us to carry all of our luggage and twins through a series of hallways. Finally, at our room!! We expected more, the rooms were significantly smaller (especially the bathroom) than almost every other hotel I've had the pleasure of reviewing. However, they were very significantly  cleaner than most, which was a delight. Sadly, the drawers on the dresser would not close which is understandably NOT child friendly. Maintenance couldn't fix the drawers, so his solution was to insert something under the legs to make the dressers stand upright as he thought the reason the drawers wouldn't close is because the dresser wasn't level, again NOT kid friendly. Parenting 101 mistake!  While attempting to fix this issue, he tapped on the dresser and the tv shook! This temporary fix didn't work, and sadly in the night my son hit his forehead HARD on the corner of the dresser drawer :-(, and given that he was already getting sick we checked out - made to pay for that night, and headed home. The pool was nice, although my kids were shivering (and us adults were cool in it) due to cooler temps. I expect a zero depth pool to be warmer. Lots of adults with alcohol by the pool (inside of the gated area) despite signs that indicate no drinks be brought into the pool area. Sadly, it appears the pool area isn't monitored too closely. Hotel staff seem to have so many guests and expect to be at capacity, that they fail to provide good individualized customer service. For example when I called about switching rooms because of the dressers, they told me if I want I could come down the next day, but they were full - goodbye!  Room 2247 (by the stairs #5) NOT kid friendly, bring ice packs and bandaids! 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We drove from Virginia - a very long drive and were so pleased with the friendliness, cleanliness and top notch accommodations at this hotel. The free breakfast had hot foods with eggs. The squirrels in the parking area were even friendly. Was within a comfortable walking distance to the Mall of America, but if you wanted a ride, the shuttle bus service was happy to take or pick you up from the mall or other nearby places. The restaurant in the hotel was terrific also and stayed open pretty late. The inside pool, hot tub and kiddie play pool were well kept and fun. Nice place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I must admit, my expectations for this hotel were very high, after having read so many wonderful reviews. It did not disappoint. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and professional. The rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfortable. They even provided us a complimentary rollaway when my husband and daughter couldn't share a bed, due to one of them being a kicker. :-) Despite having a room facing the highway, we hardly ever heard a thing. The breakfast was extensive, albeit a bit crowded. Waffles, oatmeal, cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, danish, fresh fruit, fruit cups, eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, juices. We decided on the first day, that it was much faster to simply walk to the MOA, across the street, than to drive and look for parking. This hotel truly has a prime location! We did not take advantage of the shuttle while there, as we had our own car. We did eat at their on-site restaurant, Redrossa. It was fairly good and reasonably priced. Coupons are available at the front desk. The highlight, at least for our girls, was the pool area. Very clean and well maintained. They had a slide, bucket drops, spray guns, and fountains. It's probably best for the under 10 set, which was perfect for us. They also had a large pool and hot tub for the adults. Great stay! We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel

Address: 1901 Killebrew Dr., Bloomington, MN 55425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#4 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Bloomington Hotel is the place to stay when visiting the Twin Cities! Enjoy free deluxe continental breakfast, wonderful guestroom amenities including upgraded bedding packages, large flat-screen televisions, in-room microwave, refrigerator and coffee, and free internet to name a few. Free access to our fitness center, free parking, and free area and airport shuttle. Over 4,500 square feet of on-site meeting facilities. RedRossa Italian Grille and Bar (opening early Summer of 2011). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bloomington
Days Inn Mall America
Bloomington Days Inn
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Bloomington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.