We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowzas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Bloomington Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Bloomington Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5601 West 78th St., Bloomington, MN 55439 (Formerly Sofitel Minneapolis)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wowzas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I am a hotel snob, but not very wealthy, so it can be rather difficult for me to find good places to stay that are within my budget but still meet my high standards. This place knocked it out of the park for me. Clean, quiet, super swanky. Professional, attentive staff. I feel like I must've paid big big bucks to stay here last night, but really, I did not. Highly impressed!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at Sheraton Bloomington Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
runalong77 -

Wowzas is right - thank you for the great review. And as a hotel aficionado I appreciate the accolades you gave us - especially those regarding the associates. I'm glad we've met all your expectations.

Come back and see us again soon.

Warmly

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    28
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
15
29
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed here for a conference recently. The staff was friendly and helpful. Even though the first room we received had no curtains, the staff accommodated us quickly with a comparable room. The second room was comfortable.
I would have liked to have had a shuttle bus option from the hotel to the Mall of America. Free internet in the room would have been nice as well. If Microtel can offer it, so could the major chains.
Be forewarned: if you do not have a car, other than the hotel restaurant, there are very few dining options within walking distance. There is a TGIF and a Subway close. The Metro bus stops just outside the front door. It is an easy hop to the Mall of America and to Target Field.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at Sheraton Bloomington Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Manchester1889 -

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. I am sorry that we do not offer the additional complimentary amenities that you mention but as you noted we are conveniently located on the bus line that makes it easy to get around the area.

I hope we'll have opportunity to host you again in the future.

Warmly

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have been taking our weekend get-aways at this hotel for several years. We've been there so many times that we have taken to giving some of the staff nicknames! We love the beds and the restaurant. The Continental breakfast is our favorite. In the evening we always stop by the bar for a glass of good wine. There's nothing bad to say about this place. We highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at Sheraton Bloomington Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Gooberdud -

Thank you for the great review. I'm glad that through the recent sale and brand change the same associates are still in place proving the same excellent service and level of hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come with a soon to be brand new product.

Warmly

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Have stayed at this hotel a couple times in the last 6 weeks. The staff is very caring and does a good job of welcoming the guests, and providing for your needs. The in-house bar and restaurant provide good choices to dine on the property. Hotel is convenient to Mall of America and the Bloomington area. Rooms are super clean, large in size, and beds are so comfortable. They will be remodeling the rooms later this summer, I am eager to see the results. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at Sheraton Bloomington Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Robert H -

Thank you for the great review on your recent stay. It sounds like we have everything you needed for a great time away. We too are excited about the upcoming renovation and hope you'll be back to experience the new property as well.

Warmly

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

This is an attractive property with a very friendly staff. The beds are very comfortable. You can't hear anyone else and housekeeping doesn't knock if you put the sign out. I would definitely stay here, again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at Sheraton Bloomington Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
badgergirls -

Thank for taking the time to review the property after your stay. I was gratified to read that you liked the quiet, the beds and our associates.

I hope you'll visit us again soon.

Warmly

Marc Faubert
General Managre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

A business trip diaster was averted due to an amzing set of staff at this hotel. Not only did they recover my wallet from the gift shop where I had left it but they helped get it to the AIrport for me. They arranged for a car service to drive it to the Airport. I recovered everything. No money or credit cards or IDs taken.

I had enjoyed my stay here but this was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at Sheraton Bloomington Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
halsherm3 -

Thank you for the wonderful comments and I was pleased to learn that we were able to salvage what could have been a disaster for your business trip.

I hope to see you again soon.

Warmly

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

All aspects of this hotel meet and exceed the criteria for 5 stars. Staff are EXCEPTIONALLY service minded, the rooms are clean, well-appointed and quiet, and the food is outstanding. Breakfast is a la carte only, no buffet (at least not during my stay). The gym is of sufficient size and in good condition. Overall, it was very nice to stay at this hotel. Location is "practical" with easy freeway access, so it is OK that the room windows do not open. At 150 USD/night for a standard room it was a bargain, other US hotels would charge you a lot more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEG_Manager, General Manager at Sheraton Bloomington Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
sazaa -

Thank for the wonderful review - it's very much appreciated, especially the comment regarding our associates. I'm was happy to read that we have everything you needed for a successful business stay at the hotel.

I hope to see you again soon.

Warmly

Marc Faubert
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Bloomington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bloomington Hotel

Address: 5601 West 78th St., Bloomington, MN 55439 (Formerly Sofitel Minneapolis)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#11 Business Hotel in Bloomington
#15 Family Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Bloomington Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Bloomington Hotel is perfectly located for discovering the area’s upscale shopping, fine dining, museums, and recreation. Nearby are the Mall of America and other retail destinations, as well as the headquarters of several Fortune 500 companies. Minneapolis-Saint Paul International Airport (MSP) is just 10 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Bloomington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Minneapolis Hotel Bloomington
Sofitel Hotel Minneapolis
Sofitel Bloomington
Sofitel Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Sofitel
Sheraton Bloomington Hotel MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Bloomington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.