We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixture of things” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonor Points
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mixture of things”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

It was a mixture of good things and bad things. 1. was informed I was to have a rollaway bed for my kid in my confirmation letter. Found out due to fire codes, rollaway could NOT be provided to that room. And we had three people in our group for the room. 1a. Bed was actually the most comfortable I have had in the hotel in years. 2. Housekeeping as usual, was great. The lady we had was very understanding. 3. Hotel need to put benches near the elevators in the south tower for folks to sit on to wait for the elevators. Being physically disabled. It is hard at times to stand to wait for the elevator. And I was not the only one having troubles. 4. Looking eastward out of the room's window. I could see a area outside the hotel on the roof that needed repair. As in painting the wood and derusting the pylons. 4a. Also noted who ever painted the room I had. Did not do that great of a job. As well as did not use a primer coat on a few spots. No matter what, my family & I will be returning to the hotel unless the folks running the event we were at, to a different building.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 196suzettek,

Thank you for your review of our property! I was intrigued by your comments about waiting for the elevators and asking for a bench to sit on while one waits. I think that is a phenomenal idea. I will passing your comments directly to my Director of Operations. In regards to the rollaway and the fire codes, I am sorry for the confusion. I have updated my front office staff members and the reservation agents at Hilton corporate to assisting in making sure this doesn't happen again. As always, we appreciate the fact you stay with us. Keep writing reviews and come see us at the desk for where we get these comfy beds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    241
    175
    93
    52
See reviews for
175
101
38
304
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Overall, the lobby, the bar/restaurant, general atmosphere is very nice (above average). The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. The bathrooms are well equipped. If it wasn't for the cracks in the ceiling with paint falling on the carpet and the dated peeling wallpaper, this would have received 4 or even 5 stars. Some simple maintenance and general management and this hotel would be excellent.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear ThadHare,

Thank you for submitting your comments to us! It sounds like you are quite the experienced traveler and I have passed along these comments to my maintenance team. We appreciate the genuine criticism and are happy you enjoyed the other facets of your stay! Come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Was at the Convention and stayed from Thursday through Sunday. Got to check in early but thought a Hilton Honors member got some sort of perk. Room was clean. Sadly the room needs to be painted. You could see paint gone from walls. It was more than 1 spot. Restaurant food was terrible. Told the server that we could push our finger through so much grease on a piece of bread. Got told "It always comes like that" I work in a kitchen and people who cooked that day didn't give a crap. Was out of toilet paper waited 15 mins. for a roll. Saw a housekeeper and asked for some. I have no clue what happened but seems like the staff didn't want to be working the big convention.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Nicole F,

I am very saddend to see you had such a negative experience at our property. Our staff were absolutely thrilled about having your CONvergence group in house and I am sorry to hear your stay was sub-par. Regarding your HHonors benefits, during CONvergence the entire hotel is blocked off by the group at a special reduced rate and therefore normal Hilton benefits are not applicable. Nevertheless, we are very happy you and your group attend our hotel each year for this event and look forward to seeing you and your fellow CON members again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The staff at this location is very friendly. They were incredibly helpful and did a nice job to ensure that I enjoyed my stays. The facility itself is fairly worn down - scuffs on the walls, spots on the carpets, etc. It definitely looks used. I went to the gym twice while I was there and will say that it was one of the best hotel gyms I've seen. 4 treadmills, 5 ellipticals and a variety of other equipment. I had the breakfast buffet which was a very nice spread as well, but $13. If you eat a lot for breakfast it's likely worth it. I would come back here because of the quality service.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Elizabeth G,

Thank you for the awesome review! You are absolutely correct, we do have an outstanding fitness center with equipment that was upgraded to brand-new just a few months ago. On the other hand, I am sorry to hear there were some minor issues with the building itself. Our breakfast is a big buffet for $12.95 and we are glad you enjoyed it!

Come see us again for that lovely DoubleTree warm chocolate chip and walnut cookie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family and I rented two poolside hotel rooms on the first floor for a weekend in Bloomington, MN. This isn't the best DoubleTree I've been to but it's definitely not the worst. Pros: - Pleasant housekeeping - Employees were very accommodating - Free parking - Has a door that connects my room with my family's room next door - Comfortable beds - Restaurant and bar located inside hotel Cons: - Couldn't order crib at check-in; had to go to designated room to order crib via phone - Rather noisy at poolside; don't get a ground-floor/poolside room if you're a light sleeper - Humid in the rooms; no exhaust/fan in the bathroom - Bath faucet wasn't attached to the wall - Area around ceiling vents were discolored; looked kind of like mold - Found a couple curly hairs on the bathroom ceiling (did not match the hair on any of our head) - Wifi wasn't free

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear K T,

We are so happy you and your family were able to stay with us in connecting rooms! I am sorry to hear your room was a bit of a disappointment and have forwarded your comments to my housekeeping team. We have both a free and paid version of our high-speed WiFi. We recommend the upgraded version to stream large bandwith video. As always, we are very happy to hear you had a pleasant experience conversing with our team members! Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Our flight got in around 11 45 pm and we were happy to see a shuttle still waiting. Even tho it was late the driver was very friendly and informative about how the shuttle rides go. After a short wait to check-in the man behind the desk helped us get our room and gave us warm chocolate chip cookies. Once in the room we noticed several spots that looked like they had never been cleaned. The toilet had stuff in it, the tub had hair and dirt in places, the window had smudges from what looked like a face, and there were spots on the floor and walls. Not to mention the annoying fact that we got to the room to find two double beds which are hard to share. The service was friendly but we were disappointed by the room. Will be looking for another hotel next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Rtoml042,

We are glad to hear you had a pleasant experience with our hotel shuttle driver and front desk staff member! Please accept my apology about your room, it certainly wasn't a four-star quality experience and definitely isn't the norm when it comes to our cleanliness. We would like to see you return to our property and give our rooms a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As before, I am pleased with my stay during CONvergence. The room was clean, mostly quiet (not the hotel's fault), and housekeeping did a good job of tidying up over the 3 night stay. (One small complaint is that a pillow I had brought with me from home and left on the bed during the day ended up on the other bed in the room after housekeeping came in to make them.) There is so much craziness during the convention, that I'm so glad the DoubleTree continues to partner with us to make CON such a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear 198elizabethc,

We are excited to hear you had a great stay during CONvergence! As always, you are part of a wonderful group of people and we love having your event stay with us every year. You are right, the housekeepers are very busy with the hotel being sold out all weekend, so we certainly apologize for the pillow being in a different spot when you returned. We are looking forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.