We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Place for Decent Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonor Points
Ranked #28 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Bloomington, United States
1 review
“Decent Place for Decent Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My family and I rented two poolside hotel rooms on the first floor for a weekend in Bloomington, MN. This isn't the best DoubleTree I've been to but it's definitely not the worst. Pros: - Pleasant housekeeping - Employees were very accommodating - Free parking - Has a door that connects my room with my family's room next door - Comfortable beds - Restaurant and bar located inside hotel Cons: - Couldn't order crib at check-in; had to go to designated room to order crib via phone - Rather noisy at poolside; don't get a ground-floor/poolside room if you're a light sleeper - Humid in the rooms; no exhaust/fan in the bathroom - Bath faucet wasn't attached to the wall - Area around ceiling vents were discolored; looked kind of like mold - Found a couple curly hairs on the bathroom ceiling (did not match the hair on any of our head) - Wifi wasn't free

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear K T,

We are so happy you and your family were able to stay with us in connecting rooms! I am sorry to hear your room was a bit of a disappointment and have forwarded your comments to my housekeeping team. We have both a free and paid version of our high-speed WiFi. We recommend the upgraded version to stream large bandwith video. As always, we are very happy to hear you had a pleasant experience conversing with our team members! Come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    233
    168
    90
    51
See reviews for
164
97
36
298
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Our flight got in around 11 45 pm and we were happy to see a shuttle still waiting. Even tho it was late the driver was very friendly and informative about how the shuttle rides go. After a short wait to check-in the man behind the desk helped us get our room and gave us warm chocolate chip cookies. Once in the room we noticed several spots that looked like they had never been cleaned. The toilet had stuff in it, the tub had hair and dirt in places, the window had smudges from what looked like a face, and there were spots on the floor and walls. Not to mention the annoying fact that we got to the room to find two double beds which are hard to share. The service was friendly but we were disappointed by the room. Will be looking for another hotel next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Rtoml042,

We are glad to hear you had a pleasant experience with our hotel shuttle driver and front desk staff member! Please accept my apology about your room, it certainly wasn't a four-star quality experience and definitely isn't the norm when it comes to our cleanliness. We would like to see you return to our property and give our rooms a second chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

As before, I am pleased with my stay during CONvergence. The room was clean, mostly quiet (not the hotel's fault), and housekeeping did a good job of tidying up over the 3 night stay. (One small complaint is that a pillow I had brought with me from home and left on the bed during the day ended up on the other bed in the room after housekeeping came in to make them.) There is so much craziness during the convention, that I'm so glad the DoubleTree continues to partner with us to make CON such a great experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear 198elizabethc,

We are excited to hear you had a great stay during CONvergence! As always, you are part of a wonderful group of people and we love having your event stay with us every year. You are right, the housekeepers are very busy with the hotel being sold out all weekend, so we certainly apologize for the pillow being in a different spot when you returned. We are looking forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We attend an event at this facility every year. The staff is almost always pretty great; we had one run-in once, but even then, the people we dealt with remained professional. The hotel itself is nice, but nothing above the ordinary. It's nice, clean, and they do have some free Wi-Fi for the guest rooms now, which is an improvement over the past. If you can stay here at a reasonable nightly rate, you won't be disappointed. Extra bonus: it's pretty easy to get to the Mall of America from here, if that's one of the reasons you're in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Jeannette R,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our staff! We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and the event you attended at our hotel. Our new complimentary WiFi has been a hit with both our regular guests and the less-frequent "staycation" folks. The location close to the Mall of America isn't bad either!

We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Booked on hotwire, so wasn't sure what we would get... stopped in while travelling, hoping to get a few hours in at the mall of America. a male at the front desk said the mall was only open till 7 pm. It was just after 6, so we were quite disappointed. Up in our room, we checked online and the mall was open till 9:30!!! We took the hotel shuttle and enjoyed the mall....we would have missed it if we listened to the front desk....the hotel looks modern with newish carpet and décor. This was really nice, but if you look close, the walls look like they are painted without any of the old holes etc. filled. Also the beige bathtub and tiles were not changed and there was mildew in the caulking (also two black hairs on the dirty tile floor). Maybe they will do these at a later date???? looked really odd...whoever did the reno's in our room did a poor job...not what we expected from a hotel, but a good deal at $73.00 from hotwire.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We appreciate you taking the time to fill out a review through Trip Advisor. Your feedback is very valuable, and our team uses comments like yours when considering upcoming renovations. We have reviewed the mall information so that we have the correct information for guests. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again.

Best Wishes,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The fact that they let thousands of nerds descend on them for four days ever year, donned in costumes and radiating geek-love makes this hotel awesome. Nothing but love for them. They always give us fantastic service and are nothing but friendly and excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you very much for such a wonderful review! Such a busy weekend may be a lot of work, but we have a lot of fun at the same time. We will look forward to seeing you again next year.

Many Thanks,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewaskum, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Hotel was very nice, check in was a breeze, very quick and friendly. Room was excellent, very spacious, clean and comfortable. Food from room service was ok- not great. Pool area was dirty, lacked clean towels and someone to supervise- only because there were a number of teens using the pool with no supervision and they were too rowdy around the smaller kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Services S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are happy to hear that our team was able to swiftly get you checked in so you could start your enjoyable stay. We are looking at how often we patrol by the pool and will be doing so more often when there is heavy pool usage. This way we can enforce the pool policies and watch out for issues like that. We appreciate you staying with us, as well as taking the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to seeing you again.

With Gratitude,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.