We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mall Of America Package!
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Baldwin, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The good - We received a warm welcome and fresh cookies and when told we were celebrating my birthday, they moved us to a club level room (pretty slow day I am guessing as the parking lot wasnt' very full). Our room was in the North tower away from the pool area. The room had a king bed, couch (guessing it was a fold out, but never checked), coffee maker, hair dryer, nice sized flat screen and a decent desk with ethernet. The rooms was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. They had a working sauna, which I don't know the last time I've seen a hotel with one (although thoughtless people feel the need to etch profanity in the walls). We ended up ordering room service (little expensive, but it's room service, what do you expect) and the food was excellent.

The bad (hotels control)- The club was closed on Saturdays and didn't reopen until Sunday night. The pool area was very cold and the day we went down to use it the hot tub was getting drained and change in chemicals (wish they would do this when the pool is closed anyways as it seemed to be a process that didn't make a ton of noise anyways). The room service was delivered on a carried tray instead of a push style (would have been nice to wheel the tray in when my wife was sleeping instead of having to make room on a table for the delivery lady, which don't get me wrong, the food was good).

The bad (not under hotels control). We tried to use a service to order food before room service called FNS (legally Food-N-Stuff...has a creative substitute name for me now) which 45 minutes after ordering I received a phone call that they would be another hour and might not get the food made before the restaurants cut off time (the service just delivers from multiple restaurants), which was cancelled and they we ordered from room service. We came from the East on 494....avoid this like the plague. Thankfully we had traffic on our cell phones and took side streets, but we looked out and could see literally 10 miles of stopped traffic because part of the road was closed. I kid you not, we saved an hour of driving time by taking side streets.

Overall. I wanted to go into detail and this is definitely a place worth staying. The small things that I put as negatives about this hotel are so small that I can easily forget about them and be more than happy to go back.

Room Tip: Request North Tower away from the pool. We bid on Priceline and our value was amazing...although I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Nick S,
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to complete such a thorough review. We use your comments to improve our product and our service and we value your opinion. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    290
    194
    102
    55
See reviews for
191
111
41
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is tired and needs a designers touch ... the grey walls and carpet are drab and depressing. The damaged hallway furnture and beat up elevators did not help. The staff seemed more busy with interpersonal converations rather than address a guest waiting for assistance.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison, wiscosnin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We used to stay at this property when it was the Sheraton, but because of proximity to our son's home, have been staying at the Doubletree Park Place.
We ended up staying here on a recent Saturday night when we drove up to see our son and his wife's new baby, and this seemed to be closer. Our stay was wonderful. A large, very clean room, comfortable king bed and amenities. The desk staff was fabulous, especially Ryan. We stopped for a glass of wine in the bar before leaving for dinner and enjoyed the recommendations of the bartender. We also enjoyed chatting with him. The property seems to be getting better, and as always, the staff makes the stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Congratulations on being new grandparents!
Thank you so much for your kind words! I will be sure to share them with Ryan and our bar staff.
I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you next time you are in town to visit your grandchild!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Super professional and friendly staff. Quick and efficient check in. Rooms were spacious and beds were very comfortable. The rooms are odd in that there is no natural sunlight because the windows face the indoor pool, thereby making it impossible to leave the curtains open. Room carpeting looks like it needs to be replaced too. Otherwise, and especially for business, a great hotel to spend a few nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear David
Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm glad you found our team friendly and professional - our mission is to provide you with an enjoyable stay in clean and comfortable surroundings. We hope to see you again should business or pleasure bring you back to the Twin cities.

All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I would not stay at this hotel again. The noise, cleanliness of room and bathroom was really bad. The bed was comfortable. This was a very bad experience, considering the price pain for this room. For $150, I could of stayed at 5 stat hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear aaronroxy,
I'm sorry to hear you you were disappointed in your experience and I'd sincerely like to know how we can improve. Please don't hesitate to contact our Guest Service Manager here at the hotel so we can discuss this further and make it right for you.

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The room and hotel was very clean. The beds were comfortable (we stayed in the renovated rooms). The customer service was great from the guy who checked us in. We were in an accident turning into the parking lot and had to wait forever for the cops, and he brought bottled water out for everyone. Overall, a great, clean hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Amanda,
I'm sorry to hear about your accident but I sure am glad Darren was able to take care of you!
Thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We got this hotel at a great rate through Hotwire, which selected the hotel for us. We visit Minneapolis once a year for shopping and sight-seeing and it was in a good location about a 10 mins drive from Mall of America. The chocolate chip cookies at check-in were a nice touch. The kids enjoyed swimming, and I enjoyed the exercise facility, which had a few treadmills, elliptical machines and a selection of weights. One thing I would have liked was breakfast, as this was the first hotel we stayed at in Minneapolis that didn't have breakfast. But the hotel is large and that would be hard to accommodate. The temperature of the rooms was also iffy - it was either muggy or really cold, depending on what you had the thermostat set at. Overall though, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa I, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear JadenJonas,
Thanks for the great review- we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please know we do have breakfast packages available in our Crescent Kitchen Restaurant which opened earlier this year.
We understand you visit annually and we hope to see you again next year!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South

Address: 7800 Normandale Blvd, Bloomington, MN 55439
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South 3.5*
Number of rooms: 564
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bloomington/Minneapolis South we put the human touch back into your travel experience. It all starts with the warm welcome of a chocolate chip cookie at check-in. Then the caring keeps coming with everything from luxurious comfort of our Sweet Dreams sleep experience, to our highly-trained staff members who are dedicated to anticipating your needs so your stay at our recently renovated Bloomington, MN hotel is the best it can be. Please join us in our new Crescent Kitchen restaurant and bar featuring over 16 microbrews on tap and over 84 whiskeys,scotch's bourbons. Come see us! We always have a cookie with your name on it ready and waiting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South Hotel Bloomington
Sheraton Bloomington
Sheraton Minneapolis
Bloomington Sheraton
Doubletree By Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Bloomington - Minneapolis South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.