We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area to your Saves list
Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2300 East American Blvd, I-494 & 24th Avenue, Bloomington, MN 55425 (Formerly Ramada Mall of America - Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Eagan, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wasn't sure what to expect but was pleasantly surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We bought a Crowd Cut to get a pool side room for $69 a night from mid-Dec. through mid-Feb. Very few blackout dates so that was a plus. Have not been in the hotel since it was the Thunderbird or the dead animal hotel as we used to call it. The hotel is under renovation and is looking great. Our room was nice - seemed to be updated minus a few area. The towel racks were rusted and lose as were some of the electrical outlets. The shower needs new fixtures. The room was cold because the window wall is not INSULATED - people this is Minnesota - in January! The room was quite large and it was quite. The restaurant is open but we did not use it. Also looks like their is an outdoor pool for summer as well. Convenient for thise wanting the airport or MOA. The pool was perfect! It is shaped like a whale with the tail for kids 3ft. of water. It was a nice clean area and very enjoyable. We likfe about 2 miles from the hotel but it was a fun staycation for us and our daughter.

Room Tip: Large hotel check in first before youbring in your bags as you can drive to the door closest to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APaletta, Owner at Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We at the Ramada Bloomington Hotel Minneapolis Airport Mall would like to thank all of our guests for their candid feedback on our Hotel. We want you to know that we take each guests opinion to heart and will continue to use your reviews to help us to serve you all better. We have completed phase one of our multi million dollar renovation. We would love to have you return to see our new Front Desk, Lobby, Cafe and open concept Lounge. We hope you like what we have done and will continue to follow our progress throughout the year to see what new things lie ahead for this historical Hotel in the heart of beautiful Bloomington Minnesota.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    197
    223
    155
    89
See reviews for
266
126
59
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I can't believe how awesome this place looks! I used to stay at this hotel when it was the Thunderbird back in the day, and when it switched to the Ramada, it still looked like the Thunderbird. Check this out now! If you've ever been there before you gotta see it now! I'll definitely be bringing my clients in for a drink or two. Thank you so much Ramada for stepping it up!

Room Tip: Indoor poolside rooms are nice too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a difference a few months can make! The lobby is bright and airy and the bar reminds me of a few downtown hotels. They were still working on some area, but the overall impression is new and modern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

What a change! We stay at the Ramada every year to go on vacation but to my surprise when I entered it was an entirely new look. Everything has been updated including customer service. The resturaunt looks GREAT but you might want to bring a jacket to dinner. Unfotunatly, when guests enter the hotel they have automatic doors that let cold air into the resturaunt that makes it hard to enjoy a meal. Except fot that, everything was way batter then a year ago. I was welcomed wonderfully by two men who looks like they were overwhelmed when we 1st got here but when I got to the front I was greeted by Michael who not only took the time to give us info on times for their shuttles but went out of his way to give us a room closer to the pool, changed our room due to a birthday party next door and even came don to help us relocate. That is more then I could ever ask from a hotel. I hope they take as much care of remodeling the rooms as they did from the main areas....GREAT JOB RAMADA!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area

Address: 2300 East American Blvd, I-494 & 24th Avenue, Bloomington, MN 55425 (Formerly Ramada Mall of America - Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 38 Hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area 3*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated, from its location in the heart of Bloomington, Minnesota, the Ramada is only two miles from the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport and across the street from Mall of America. For the convenience of our guests, we offer free shuttle service to and from the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport and Mall of America. The hotel also offers easy access to all major freeways, and a plethora of restaurants and shopping centers. Free High Speed Wireless Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Otel, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Mall Of America - Airport Hotel Bloomington
Ramada Hotel Bloomington
Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area MN, North America
Bloomington Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Bloomington Minneapolis Airport/Mall Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.