We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian food diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of First Wok Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
First Wok Chinese Restaurant
415 E 78TH St, Bloomington, MN 55420-1251
(952) 881-2413
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 186 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Restaurant details
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Asian food diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This little Asian restaurant is one of my all time favorites, and I eat Asian several times a week. Try the Hot & Sour soup, and Hunan Shrimp (or Chicken). I get it extra spicy. It's a stir fry, with sauce to die for, broccoli, mushrooms, etc. Love the service and wait staff, too - they've all been there since the 4th century, I think.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I am a vegetarian. This establishment not only caters to veggies like me, but will alter any entrée to satisfy my dining preferences. The staff is alwsys friendly and calls me by name whenever ordering pickup. My favorite dish is #13 tofu delight. Also be sure to try the cream cheese wontons with sweet and sour sauce. The portion sizes are great. Plan to take leftovers. Love this restaurant.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest City, Iowa
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great take out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The food was delicious and filling. Ordered take out for our hotel room and it was ready in ten minutes. The cashier (maybe owner?) was a lot of fun and very friendly. Egg rolls and crab rangoons were fresh and tasty, as was the lemon chicken and Ta-Chin chicken!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stephens NSW. Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“They serve good beer too.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a long car trip from Canada, we felt like a good feed of Chinese food & 1st Wok was recommended to us . Put simply it was great. We did the Buffet thing & food was hot , clean & most enjoyable. Friendly staff who enjoyed a joke with 6 old fishermen from different countries & they served great beer too. We went to bed happy that night & in great form to tackle the airport next morning. Reasonably priced & staffed by good people.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
2 reviews
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food was wonderful, plentiful, and reasonably priced. Close to the hotel. We were able to walk there.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed First Wok Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Bloomington, MN
 

Been to First Wok Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Wok Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.