We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tandoor Restaurant

Tandoor Restaurant
8062 Morgan Cir S, Bloomington, MN 55431-1307
952-885-9060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 162 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I travel to Minneapolis regularly on business and I always find the time to eat at Tandoor. Great food, very attentive service. Their house curry is great! I have been for the lunch buffet as well, but come early or late because the place is packed. It's a small place hiding in a strip mall, but worth the hunt.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I try to eat at this place every time I am in Minneapolis. It is always good. Usually I am there for the lunch buffet. The food is fairly typical Indian food, but not too spicy and always quite tasty. If it is a late lunch, sometimes the food has been on the buffet a while and is starting to get a little dried out. But even then there are many choices that are very good.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Authentic but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Decor must be from the previous establishment. Trellis table overhangs with fake ivy is not in any Indian restaurant I have ever been in. That together with the utilitarian lighting did not make for a good ambiance. The actual flavors were good, and authentic judging by the presence of Indian diners during my visit.
The pricing was nonsensical. Papadums were $2.95, the only time I have ever been charged for these. Chicken Tikka Masala was $11.95 but came with rice at no charge, Bombay Aloo was $10.95, way too much. The portion of Chicken Tikka was very undersized..
Tandoor could be good but needs to change.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Indian Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

An Indian couple suggested this restaurant to my husband and we ate there last night with a friend. Both the meat and the vegetable Samosas were excellent as were the sauces that accompanied them. The Special Nan was also delicious. We shared three different entrees, Chicken Tikka Masala, a lamb curry and a vegetable curry, all were fabulous. We will definitely eat there again and wholeheartedly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good food, nice ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Awesome food, good ambiance, little heavy on pocket but worth paying for good food. Staff is very courteous and prompt. Service is very fast . I was done with my dinner in 25 mins.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tandoor Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tandoor Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tandoor Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.