We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subpar Rainforest Cafe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rainforest Cafe

Rainforest Cafe
102 S Avenue, Bloomington, MN 55425-5525
952-854-7500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 183 restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Subpar Rainforest Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My daughter loves Rainforest Cafe, so we made sure to stop here during a recent Mall of America visit. This is a tiny Rainforest Cafe by comparison to others around the country, but somehow the service was much slower. The food is pretty consistent to the others. One oddity, though, we noticed that our chips tasted stale and mentioned this to the waitress. She said that they hear this complaint, but that they make their chips fresh every day, and it's really just uneven cooking that makes them taste that way. Ok...so...why not make a change if customers are complaining? Our waitress was super friendly, if a bit slow. You can call ahead to make reservations here, and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

54% Recommend
    62
    70
    66
    27
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oshkosh, WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Big Rack of Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Smaller than some Rainforest Cafes we have been in. The hostess wasn't too interested in seating us by "the action" and dismissed my inquiries with an aloof manner. Hey, if we are going to purchase overpriced food, we'd like to sit by the gorillas, but whatever. We enjoyed our food and appreciated the fake rainstorms. My husband ordered the full rack and thought they were tender and tasty. The menu said to ask about the local beers on tap and there was only one and the server didn't seem very impressed with it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Been to a few Rainforest Cafes before but there is definately something special about MIdwstern hospitality. Food was good like we expected but the service stood out!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton, ia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very pleased. Reserve your table 1-2 hours ahead!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

At 5:15, we got in line for a reservation, which was for 7:33 pm. Upon returning, we had a 10-15 minute wait. We had an excellent seat by an aquarium, and appetizer came quickly. Dinner did not take too long, considering how busy it was. Food was very good. Hubby & i split the steak, ribs and shrimp dinner, and it filled us up. Atmosphere was great for our 8 year old. I think a must see if you've never been.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Rain Forest Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Food was very good. The wait was long but understandable since it was Spring Break time for alot of schools. Our daughter enjoyed the experience. Would visit again.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rainforest Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Rainforest Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainforest Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.