We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5140 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 25%
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Gladwyne, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
365 reviews 365 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
“Nice property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I had stayed here earlier this week while visiting Bloomington. I didn't notice any bad scents anywhere in the hotel and had a lovely stay. They have a nice pool, and a nice microwave and fridge in the rooms. The one bad part is that while the breakfast was free for me, I only self-served myself one scrambled egg and a glass of oj and when I sat down, I received a bill for almost $11 and looking for a tip too. If breakfast was free, why go through these motions. It's very inefficient. Over all the room was nice, clean, and modern and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TPImanager, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us! We are pleased that you found your guest room to be clean and comfortable for you to relax in after conducting business during the day. I am a little confused about the breakfast experience you explained. My best guess is that it may have been an accident on the server’s part and they were not aware that you were not supposed to receive a bill. Please accept our apologies for the confusion. We appreciate you choosing us to book with and we would love to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    87
    24
    6
    4
See reviews for
93
61
13
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Euclid, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My sister and I checked into the Hilton Garden Inn, a hotel we've stayed at numerous times. As soon as we walked in, we were hit with the overwhelming smell of some sort of air freshener. I have allergies am sensitive to perfumes, so this was really not a good thing. We told management, so they were aware, but we were advised this was something new that was being implemented into their hotels as part of the changes being made. I must note that management on every shift was very kind and understanding. With the restaurant in the lobby (with a real fireplace and free Internet), and using my computer there, it got the point where I couldn't stand it anymore and removed three - count 'em three - Scented Oil Dispensers from the outlets to get some relief.

The room was nice with some amenities you don't always receive. There was a microwave and mini fridge for restaurant leftovers. They also have a nice business center and a workout room. However, I've noticed in my travels of late that most hotels have cut down on their in-room lighting. This room was no exception. It makes getting ready for the day a little more difficult.

Another amenity was a Sleep Number Bed which was nice for me. My sister had a malfunctioning bed which was flat on one side and high on the other, so she was on a slant all night. Since she has a bad back, she had difficulty sleeping both nights. Management put in a service call after the 1st night and a maintenance call was done, but the problem wasn't solved. To the management's credit, they compted one of the nights and thanked her for letting them know that it still needed attention.

We had breakfast in the lobby restaurant. This was a real plus for the hotel. Their full breakfast buffet is only $9.99 and includes made to order items like omelets and Belgian waffles. Regular buffet items include scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, potatoes, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit and more. The servers are friendly and VERY attentive. The only down side to the restaurant was that it was in the smelly lobby.

Overall, I still give the hotel a 4 rating.

Room Tip: Get a room on a high floor in the front of the hotel because the morning sun that comes in is beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your open and honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn of Bloomington, MN. It is with great pleasure that I read your comments about our management associates and their eager willingness to help with the smells in the lobby. Please accept our apologies if the comfort of your stay was interrupted due to the bed accommodations and we appreciate you informing us of the issues you experienced. We will use your feedback to improve our property for future stays and guests. We appreciate the 4 star review and hope to host you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warroad, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I've been a business traveler staying at this hotel for the past five year. This hotel and it's staff make you feel like family and like you are at home. Love to new lobby redo. Our group can now eat meal together at the large table in the lobby. Kendra, John and Sue do everything they can to make your stay the best.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the back side, as the lights on the front are very bright at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! We love hearing such positive feedback regarding our team of associates… they work hard to provide “Outrageous Guest Service” and we could not be more proud of them! Your kind comments will be shared with them all. We appreciate your loyalty when choosing where to stay and are so happy you like our newly remodeled lobby. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was clean and comfortable, very quiet. The hotel staff was great, very friendly and helpful. We stayed for a business trip but are considering staying again in the future as a leisure trip. This hotel was a very pleasant experience. The breakfast rate is worth it, breakfast was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you! It is a pleasure reading your kind comments regarding your stay with us here at the Hilton Garden Inn. Our team of associates take great pride in providing the best customer service possible and we are thrilled you found them to be friendly and helpful. We truly hope you do decide to return and stay with us again for a leisure trip. Thanks again for the 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azle
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The facility was very clean, from the moment you stepped into the lobby to the rooms. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had a problem with our TV not working properly and they immediately addressed the problem. This location is close to the airport, several restaurants, major highways to various parts of the city and the Mall of America. Good value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so happy you received such warm attention from our front desk associates and we appreciate your positive comments on our newly renovated property. At this Bloomington property, we are fortunate to be located in an ideal location for guests’ traveling for either leisure or business. We appreciate you taking time to post a review and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Great location, close to mall, hotel was very clean. Staff was great very helpfull as to where to go what to do. Not much for kids, pool small. Great for couples and business not so much for families. Stayed at a few different hotels this trip, this was one of the cleanliest.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our property! We are very proud of the excellent quality we provide our guests in particular as it relates to the cleanliness of our property and we are happy you agree. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and would love to host you again if ever again in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This HIlton also provided complimentary shuttle service to the Mall Of America too. The restuarant is small and has a limited menu but was very good. The evening waitress in the restuarant was excellent!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSPBL, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
What a wonderful comment – we are delighted that our team of associates made you feel special during your stay with us! We think all of our valued guests are special and deserve the best customer service possible. It is great that you were able to take advantage of our free shuttle service to the Mall of America as well as eat at our new “Garden Grill” restaurant located in our recently renovated lobby. We appreciate you staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington

Address: 5140 American Blvd W, Bloomington, MN 55437 (Formerly Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Family Hotel in Bloomington
#3 Business Hotel in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis/Bloomington hotel in Minnesota is centrally located at I-494 and Normandale Boulevard, just eight miles from the Minneapolis-Saint Paul International Airport (MSP) and five miles from the world-famous Mall of America, featuring the Nickelodeon Universe theme park and American Girl. Stay in a spacious guest room or suite at this Bloomington, MN hotel and enjoy complimentary WiFi and all the comforts of home, including a large television and separate work desk. Swim in the hotel’s indoor pool or relax in the whirlpool. Maintain your exercise regimen in the fitness center with cardio machines and weights, or check out a Stay Fit Kit® from reception and work out in your room. Enjoy a delicious cooked-to-order breakfast every morning in The Garden Grille & Bar, or simply grab snacks, drinks and light meals from the 24-hour Pavilion Pantry®. Work away from the office in the business center, and hold meetings in the hotel’s 1,220 sq. ft. of flexible function space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Bloomington Hotel Bloomington
Bloomington Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Bloomington
Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.