We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4201 American Blvd West ( W 80th), Bloomington, MN 55437 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minneapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Be careful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

I accidentally booked this hotel. There are two Hampton Inns in Bloomington. The one on Metro Drive is sooooooooo much better! Don't stay here.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    53
    24
    12
    11
See reviews for
51
21
9
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Browns Valley, MN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

Second stay at this location - they are NOT anywhere close to the airport, but do have a long shuttle ride to and from. Frinedly shuttle drivers and desk staff. Rooms are clean, but not overly large. Don't plan on sleeping in - the housekeeping staff starts beating on the door at 7:30 and keeps at it every hour until you give up. You would think they could wait until guests actually have checked out. Breakfast could only be termed as being pathetic - was supposed to have meat & eggs, but none were available at 9 a.m. Overall - pricey considering offering.

  • Liked — Shuttle driver/desk staff friendliness
  • Disliked — Price v. value
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2008

I've stayed at this hotel many times for business. It's very reasonably priced and convenient to the airport and the offices I visit in Minneapolis, but what really sets it apart is the staff. In my experience they consistently go out of their way to provide great service. They've rescheduled and rerouted their free shuttle service to accommodate myself and colleagues in off-hours, and they are friendly, helpful, and efficient even in the busiest times (I happened to be visiting during the republican convention, when the hotel was packed with convention-goers).

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort wayne, in
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2008

This hotel sits right on 494 and there is some road noise that can be heard in the rooms. Another reviewer hit the nail on the head, this hotel is out of the 70's. It's dark outside and inside. Overall it is clean, but dated. Internet connection is very strong and conducive for business. The workout room has some very nice Precor equipment. This was a surpise given the appearance of the hotel.

It's relatively close to the airport and the Mall of America. It is certainly one of the lower priced hotels in this area. There is a Denny's next door and Joe Sensors (sports bar with pretty decent food).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

This is not a 5 star hotel in the sense of, say, the Moscow Sheraton Palace or SAS Radisson in St. Petersburg. But I definitely rate the Bloomington Hampton Inn 5 stars on the value/comfort scale.

The hotel's outside is vintage 1970s, and the interior furnishings are a little bit dated too. But the rooms themselves are quiet and the beds are comfortable. I'm a very light sleeper, but I conked out every night and snoozed like a rock. The breakfast is pretty good for its kind, but if you want something more substantial, there is a Denny's on the north side of the motel. Again, this place is QUIET! As I walked out into the hallway to check out, I could hear the kids in the room next to me going nuts. But I hadn't heard a thing while in my room with the door closed.

The staff was unfailingly friendly, from the desk clerk who greeted me at check in, to the guy who held the door for me while I was leaving. Dee at the front desk not only gave me a bandage for my torn fingernail, but managed to put it on in such a way that it stayed on for days! Her restaurant suggestions were also excellent.

The location is also excellent. 5 minutes from the Mall of America, 10 minutes from the airport, and 15 minutes from downtown Minneapolis. I will definitely stay at the Bloomington Hampton Inn again the next time I am in the Twin Cities.

  • Liked — The quiet and the nice people
  • Disliked — Twin Cities traffic
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, Ca
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

The 4 of us stayed overnite and had to leave by 5 am for 6:45 flight from Minneapolis/St. Paul airport to LAX. Had to go package that consists of water, apple, and granola bars for the each of us. That afternoon my family and I went to Mall of America and was dropped off and picked-up without a hitch and any problems. Sleep well, but wokeup at 4:15 am for early morning flight. Lobby made fresh cookies for guests prior to checking in. Outside could use a little updating, but inside look comparible to other newer Hampton Inn hotels. It's kinda far but with the shuttle service to and from airport/mall of america it didn't make a difference to me. Staff was cordial during our brief stay. Room was kinda small for the 4 of us though, but was very clean!

  • Liked — Ammenities, shuttle service, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Outside outdated look
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

We stayed a Saturday night before flying out a relative. Room was large and the beds very comfortable. Nice flat screen TV and nice to have the shower curtain with rod that extended outside the tub. Very spacious and no noise from 494 nor from the airplanes even though this is under the approach the new runway. Shuttle was nice (though driver was quite crabby) but great to able to not pay for parking and get front door drop off and pick up when taking someone to the airport. The approach the hotel is a little strange since you seem to be driving through another place's driveway to get there but it works. Breakfast was OK. The scrambled eggs were not scrambled eggs as mentioned with previous report but rather that egg patty thing you get to put with the biscuit and sausage (though gravy might be nice to add). Nice selection of breakfast items.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Obivously unhappy shuttle driver
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West

Address: 4201 American Blvd West ( W 80th), Bloomington, MN 55437 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minneapolis)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Bloomington West hotel is conveniently in the heart of Bloomington, near the Southdale Mall. We are located near several major Interstates including I-494, I-35W, and Highway 62/212. Our Bloomington hotel is just ten minutes from Minneapolis / St Paul International Airport and only five minutes from the Mall of America in a major business district close to many corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington (Airport Area) Hotel Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Hampton Inn
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.