We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient access close to airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4201 American Blvd West ( W 80th), Bloomington, MN 55437 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minneapolis)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Commerce Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient access close to airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Like most Hampton Inns today, this one gives a business traveler all of the necessities. It's 5 minutes to the airport, and for those that are interested, convenient to the Mall of America. The only downside, is there aren't a lot of restaurants really nearby, so you'll need a car to go out for meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    54
    26
    12
    11
See reviews for
52
21
9
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been coming here for the last 7 seven years to shop at the nearby Mall of America. The staff are the most helpful and welcoming you could wish for. Nothing is too much trouble - they take us to the Mall everyday in their minibus even though its for airport runs and help us with our numerous shopping bags. Room only the brochure says - but breakfast is there anyway which has everything to set you up for the day. Use of the computer is handy to print off our money-off coupons. Rooms are large with the best beds ever! Wonderful all round.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel was under construction and I still have no complaints. The staff was very very helpful, fun and friendly - especially the 2 Tony's. We didn't have to wait for the shuttle coming back from the airport at all - which doesn't happen very often. The beds were comfortable, the breakfast are like all others and the hotel was clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a really nice Hampton Inn. We got a suite with a pullout couch. The bed and the couch were both comfortable. The rooms were also large and roomy. There is nothing extravagant about the place, but it's conveniently located, close to public transportation and the Mall of America and the airport. Perfect for crashing for a night before catching the plane early next morning.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I recently booked a room on Hotwire at what was supposed to be a 3 star rated property and was very disappointed. We came up to the area for a girls shopping weekend and got to the hotel late (about 10pm) to check in. The clerk at the hotel was in the back room and we waited quite a while for him to come out to get us checked in. The process was pretty quick once he came out but he did not make us feel welcome, like we were burdening him. The room itself was small and looked clean and had been updated to the normal Hampton Inn linens and extras. The bathroom needed attention but again, they had made an attempt at updating a very old bathroom. When we were getting ready in the morning I noticed a piece of old gum that was stuck on the headboard of one of the beds. I did bring this to the attention of the desk clerk when we were checking out and he apologized.
I have to say though that the biggest disappointment was the breakfast buffet. We did arrive late, about 5 minutes before the time they were to close. To our suprise we and a few other guests were unable to maneuver in the breakfast area because the cleaning crew showed up there to eat. They pushed us around the small area as we waited for our toast and proceeded to clean out what was left of the fruit, yogurt and hot items on the buffet. I think that it is great that the property doesn't allow their food to go to waste however when the "perks" of the staff goes above the "perks" of the paying customer that is not a good thing. They sat their large garbage bags of whatever in the buffet area, against the wall by the elevator and in the way of anyone trying to get their food. I did say something to the desk clerk and he was flippant about it, stating that they (the cleaning crew) always eats breakfast and they usually don't come down until 15 minutes after closing. I'm sure by his attitude that nothing was done or said to the cleaning crew so that this doesn't happen again.
I would not stay here again even though it was convenient and a great deal!

Room Tip: Get to breakfast early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard L, General Manager at AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel and suggestions for improvement. We do indeed reduce waste by having our employees "huddle" in our breakfast area after our scheduled closing time at 10:00am. Our guideline is 10:05am, and the expectation is that the employees defer to the paying guests. If this was not your experience I apologize. We typically have a brief meeting to discuss past, current, and future business and to go over reviews such as yours. Your review will be a teaching tool for the staff. Thanks again for taking time to write a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Stayed for two days at the Hampton Inn (Minneapolis/Bloomington West). Nice room and good breakfast. Close to everything and nice staff. Room was clean and housecleaning staff on the ball. Will stay again when in town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here in October and again in December. The room was clean and nicely appointed. The staff provided a small refrigerator. The bed was comfortable and the internet connection was strong. I experienced some housekeeping problems but the management addressed this issue well. The breakfast was appealing, with both tasty and healthy options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West

Address: 4201 American Blvd West ( W 80th), Bloomington, MN 55437 (Formerly Hampton Inn Minneapolis)
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bloomington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 hotels in Bloomington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AmericInn Bloomington West hotel is conveniently in the heart of Bloomington, near the Southdale Mall. We are located near several major Interstates including I-494, I-35W, and Highway 62/212. Our Bloomington hotel is just ten minutes from Minneapolis / St Paul International Airport and only five minutes from the Mall of America in a major business district close to many corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, AmericInn Hotels, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Minneapolis / Bloomington (Airport Area) Hotel Bloomington
Hampton Inn Bloomington
Bloomington Hampton Inn
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West MN, North America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites Bloomington West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.