We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive Dinners” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bloomington ChopHouse

Bloomington ChopHouse
3900 American Blvd. W., Bloomington, MN
952-830-5200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bloomington ChopHouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 186 Restaurants in Bloomington
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 494 and France Ave. South
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Expensive Dinners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

It is a very nice place but to me the meal costs are way to high for what one gets. To me they are over the top on what they are charging

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    16
    10
    1
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savage
1 review
“Burnt Steak”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I ordered a medium rare steak and I received a burnt piece of leather. This place sucks. They did no even ask me how it was. Garbage. McDonald's is better that this trash.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bring Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

The best part of the evening out was the bottle of wine selected. Moderately priced unlike the ensuing dinner. Soup and a salad was my wife's selection for dinner. My selection was the scallops. We had an appetizer that was well done and enjoyable. The food we had was good, no complaints. The soup was clam chowder but lacked clams but had lots of potato, carrots and taste. The salad was tomato and mozzerella with balsamic vinegar. Again very good and big enough to share. My entree of scallops was good but through my own ignorance, all was ala carte. It was served with no sides, veggies, or potatoes. Just five naked scallops, nicely sauced on a dinner plate for $32.

The restaurant clearly caters to the business travel expense account. Nothing exceptional about the decor and not a memorable occasion that would draw us back.

Again, I emphasis the food was good but costly.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Blah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had the breakfast buffet. Mediocre at best. Bland, uninteresting and un-remarkable.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 155 cities Reviews in 155 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Good food, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I recently was staying at the Bloomington, MN Hampton Inn on business, and since they don't have a restaurant, and the adjacent restaurants are a Denny's and a sports bar, I decided to walk across the street to the Hilton hotel, to check out their restaurant. The Chophouse, which has a separate entrance from the hotel lobby, has a great ambience, the service was very good, and although a bit expensive, the food was great. I'd recommend it for a special occasion, but not for every day business travel.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bloomington ChopHouse also viewed

 

Been to Bloomington ChopHouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloomington ChopHouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.