We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kohl's Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bemidji
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kohl's Resort
Save Saved
You added Kohl's Resort to your Saves list
15707 Big Turtle Drive NE, Bemidji, MN 56601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Bemidji
Omaha, NE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

It has been nine years since our family has been to Minnesota for a fishing trip. It was a great time coming back to Minnesota, with our grown sons, for a week of family time and tons of fishing. The cabin was spotless when we arrived. The view from the screened in porch and deck overlooking the lake was wonderful. Plus, to the guys on the trip, the fishing was excellent. They caught Northerns, walleye, bass and my personal favorite, the pan fish. We actually had to eat five meals of Northerns so we could go back out fishing again, plus brought enough fish home to have a fish fry with family. There were so many available activities for families that looked like a lot of fun. However, with three fishermen, it was out in the boat first thing in the morning and coming in after the sunset. The scenery was wonderful and the stay was great. It was decided to save the money we had left over to start the vacation fund for next year! We would definitely come back to Kohl's Resort!

Don and Shirley Knight

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    7
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
37
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Lots of fun beach type activities for families and kids (although one of my kids ended up getting attacked by leaches, twice in the week we were there) and the scenery of the lake itself is really lovely.

However, our cabin was really pretty dirty. All the floors were visibly dirty and the counters and cabinets in the kitchen were sticky upon our arrival. The bathrooms were also kind of gross and mildewy, but worst of all our cabin had a terrible ant infestation problem. It's apparent that the owners have attempted to recently fix the place up with new wrought iron railings and whirlpool tubs in some of the cabins, but the tubs themselves are ridiculously shoe-horned into the rooms so that they are inches away from the bed and leave no room for other necessities such as a dresser or hanging space of any kind.

The ownership would be well advised to stop with the costly and unnecessary whirlpool installations and get back to to the basics. Give the cabins a serious deep cleaning, replace the threadbare carpets, and get rid of those awful '80s era bedspreads. And stop charging $1.50 for the washers and dryers, it's ridiculously excessive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debbieeickhorst, Owner at Kohl's Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest, I don't quite know how to respond to this review as the complaints you seem to have would put someone to believe this is an older cabin. We recently purchased this cabin and hired a well known local construction company build the addition, while we pulled out all carpeting, linoleum, tons of new, including appliances - all new. All the furniture newly purchased at the time of your stay. Nothing in the cabin is old. Most guests want amenities such as a whirlpool tub. As with the great outdoors, we can get ants occasionally and a leach is not uncommon, but also it is more common for you not to encounter a leach as it is that you may have one find you. In eleven years, I have seen one. Our lake is one of the clearest, being among the start of the Mississippi. People are amazed by the clarity! We do hope that you did have an enjoyable stay and that you may think to try us for a future stay. We do reinvest in our cabins and you will see the updates happening yearly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great place for families. Tha beach had all the 'toys' kids needed to have a good time, plus the in-door pool when/if the weather turns bad. Plus the beach is shallow eneough for kids to enjoy themselves Our cabin was large and either new or newly remodled and was very spacious and clean.
And yes a canoe can tip over in three feet of water! Fishing was good for those of us that fished and Itasca State Park is about a 40 minute drive. Itasca being the headwaters of the Mississippi.
Didn't use the hot tub as the weather was too warm.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our family was looking for a nice place to stay while our two children, 9 and 11, went to day camp at Concordia Language Villages, about 20 min. away. Kohl's Resort turned out to be an excellent choice for us. Debbie and Jim are excellent hosts - very welcoming, friendly, and accommodating. The property is beautiful and well maintained. Our cabin was very clean and comfortable. Although there are many cabins on the property, the resort was quiet and not too crowded; we could enjoy some privacy and relaxation but also socialize with other guests when we wanted to. We appreciated the variety of available activities; we swam and kayaked, rented a pontoon boat, enjoyed the Wednesday night cookout and Friday stamping workshop, etc. We aren't a fishing family, but we spent a lot of time hiking and biking the area. Itasca State Park, trails around Lake Bemidji, and the Paul Bunyan Trail offer great riding. We enjoyed hiking the trails and the bog walk in the state park. The weather was great, so we didn't use the indoor pool at Kohl's much, but it was nice to have it available. A soak in the hot tub felt great after an active day. Because our kids were at camp during the day, we couldn't take full advantage of all that Kohl's offers, but there would certainly have been plenty of things to do to keep the whole family busy. We would go back to Kohl's again, and we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We Arrived with six people, two adults and four kids. Two twelve year olds and two fifteen year olds. This trip was absolutely wonderful. It's VERY calm and I can't imagine how someone could tip their canoe as 90% of the trip is in 3 feet of water or less. The kids loved it, they could paddle or simply float with the current. The two boys had a water fight IN their canoe. ( again, water is only 3 ft deep). My wife and I had a GREAT time simply floating down the Mississippi. This is a top notch family activity for anyone in or near the Bemidji area. In talking with the two owners, their only concern was that we had a good time, they even let the kids jump off the trampoline that is normally reserved for guests. (we came from a cabin 40 miles south of the resort)
Would highly recommend this trip for anyone......couples, families, anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

If you are looking for a beautiful resort with great family activities and great fishing, this might be the place.The cabins and grounds are beautiful and well maintained.The lake is clean and clear and they have a great sandy beach with plenty of toys and chairs.
There are plenty of activities for the kids ( beach, indoor pool, game room, minnow races, bingo , arts & crafts, etc.). Debbie (owner) was very helpful and patient with the kids and as busy as she was, she still found time to talk with us and provide any info we needed.All the good things you read in the reviews are true and the resort is even prettier than there web site shows.
Not a lot is said in the reviews about the lake and the fishing.The three lake chain (Big Turtle, Little Turtle, and Movil) is great. Nice clear water( visibility of about 7 feet), with plenty of structure. Sand and rock bars and islands with nice drop offs,and plenty of weedbeds.
We mostly walleye fished (jigs w/leechs and trolled shad type plugs), and we caught plenty of walleye,
and Norther pike, some large crappie and bluegill and a couple of real nice bass. I think we could of caught a lot more bass and panfish if we had tried. Maybe next year.
Our only complaint was the long ride up from Chicago, 650 miles. But the beautiful,clean lake and quality fishing more than made up for that.
Thanks Debbie and Jim for a great vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

By the front is a welcome sign with customer names. Ours was missing. If the resort is going to offer a feature, do it well. The owner informed us at check in she forgot to plug in the fridge. The jacuzzi was not clean. As soon as we finished check in the owner said they were headed to town for a night out. They left the pool covered so no swimming. The rooms were sized well and of good construction. We were impressed with the property and setting. Bring your own service.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kohl's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kohl's Resort

Address: 15707 Big Turtle Drive NE, Bemidji, MN 56601
Location: United States > Minnesota > Bemidji
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bemidji
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a family/fishing resort in northern Minnesota. We have an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna, and game room. We are just north of the Mississippi river headwaters. We are located on a chain of three lakes with good fishing, and we do daily summer activities. We rent boats, and provide guests with canoe trips. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kohls Hotel Bemidji

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kohl's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.