We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowfall at Spruce Cabin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Bemidji State Park

Lake Bemidji State Park
Bemidji, MN
218-755-3843
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Attractions in Bemidji
Type: State Parks, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Swimming, Motor-boating, Fishing, Hiking, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An outdoor paradise offering swimming, boating, fishing, biking, hiking and more.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
“Snowfall at Spruce Cabin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We rented one of the small cabins available at the park. It was a perfect place to stay warm when it started snowing. The park ranger was very nice. The cabin sleeps 4 to 6, but there is no privacy. There are two benches to sit on inside the cabin but if you want to relax and read I suggest bringing a camp chair. The cabins are located right next to the trail and make for a great access point to ski and ski out for cross country skiing during the winter. The "walk" from the parking lot is probably shorter than the distance you walk to go grocery shopping.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    27
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great trail hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Visited 3 days in a row to hike. Leaves were changing color, was a nice time to go. Very scenic. Trails range from easy/flat to medium with some hills.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zimmerman, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Northwoods Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were here just a very short amount of time...moving our daughter into her dorm at BSU. Our spot was nice and secluded. Staff at the office were kind and helpful. Restrooms and showers were clean.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stay in the cabins instead of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wow. These are really nice. Heated and with electricity, so can be used year-round. Two full-sized beds with twins up top in bunks. Four beds in total. Granted, they are just mattresses, so you have to bring sleeping bags or sheets/blankets, but very comfortable. Wooden picnic table inside and another one outside, plus a fire ring, screened-in porch, and space to feel some privacy.

And they are clean and feel new. Beautiful light wood means it doesn’t feel dark, even with the curtains closed. There are enough outlets scattered around to plus in various electronic (if that’s what you need to do.) Plus, there are plugs on the porch and outdoors, if you want to plus in a light or something else. There are small lights over the head of each bed, so each person can read without disturbing everyone else or getting out of bed to turn off the light. There is even a ceiling fan for those rare hot nights in northern Minnesota.

You are allowed to use a slow cooker or coffee pot indoors. All other cooking must be done outside, but there is a grill over the fire pit, and you can use a propane stove too. No indoor plumping, but there is a water supply a few steps away and pit toilets next to the parking area, which is probably no more than 100 feet away. If you don’t want to carry everything in piece by piece from the car, there is a cart you can use. Showers and regular toilets are close by in the main camping area.

This is one of the nicest “camping” experiences I have ever had, and way beats a motel for price and atmosphere.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Northwoods Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

My family and I spent five nights in the Balsam cabin this past summer while our daughter attended a language daycamp at the Concordia Language Villages. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabin was comfortable and well-situated, not too far from a shower house. A pit toilet was located right near the cabin. The park rangers offered some enjoyable programs, including a pontoon boat tour of the lake and a fishing trip for kids. To top things off, the late spring meant that the showy lady's slippers bloomed later than usual, so we were lucky enough to see them on the bog walk (a walk worth taking, regardless of what's blooming). We will come back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Bemidji State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Bemidji State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Bemidji State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.