We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem on Minnesota's North Shore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lemon Wolf Cafe

Lemon Wolf Cafe
Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN 55601
+1 218-226-7225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Beaver Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $4 - $19
Cuisines: American, Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lemon Wolf Cafe is a small Bistro, serving only the finest chef prepared meals. We have fresh handcrafted breads, soups and award winning desserts! We specialize in Fresh Lake Superior Fish. Stop in, enjoy a relaxing meal prepared by a Chef who cares! We have a large selection of beer and wine. We are located right on Highway 61 in Beaver Bay.We now serve Cocktails
Two Harbors, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A gem on Minnesota's North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you're driving up the North Shore, skip the Blackwoods, the Culver's, and do yourself a big favor and drive past the astoundingly over-rated Betty's Pies. Stop instead at the Lemon Wolf in Beaver Bay.

Operated by a very nice couple, this place is an provides an authentic taste of Minnesota culture, exemplified by the walleye sandwich and the wild rice soup. Sophisticates from other areas may sense more than a little bit of "Lake Wobegon" in the decor and the menu, but honest, sustaining food, attentive service, reasonable prices, in a pleasant environment is what we are all about in this part of the world.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    64
    15
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Second Visit was even better! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was my second time to the Lemon Wolf Cafe & it was even better than I remembered! The Pecan Chicken was so delicious. My boyfriend also enjoyed the herring special & wild rice soup. Great service & romantic atmosphere! Highly recommend on your next stop to the North Shore!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Gem in the Woods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by the staff at our hotel in Silver Bay. We visited Lemon Wolf the first weekend in November and it was not very busy. The dining room area was very cozy and had great music in the background that was not played too loud. It was a very pleasant and relaxing experience! We loved the atmosphere and the decor! The food was amazing and we enjoyed every bite. We went back the following night for dinner.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quaint Up North Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Don't let the exterior fool you! The inside is tastefully decorated, cozy and charming. My husband and I chose this restaurant after searching for a place with great food on the North Shore. The trout and steak we had was done well. Very nice wait staff also. Would definitely eat here again! Would also recommend arriving early for prompt seating.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

They have great food! Highly recommend. The dining room is small and cramped. Went on a Saturday night and they were so busy couldn't even get on a wait list. Went back Sunday and service was good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemon Wolf Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lemon Wolf Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lemon Wolf Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.