We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Very Nice Time"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Cove Point Lodge to your Saves list
Cove Point Lodge
4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Brooklyn Park, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"Very Nice Time"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I visited Cove Point in April, 2013 after a winning bid for a 2 night stay on the St. Paul Pioneer Press travel auction. We had been by but never stopped so this was an opportunity to stay at a very good price that we paid at auction ($149 for 2 nights). Service was very good from check in to the welcoming wine and cheese party to the fresh baked cookies that were always at the front desk area. One evening we were even serenaded by an all womens singing group that was staying at the lodge. We stayed in the lodge and had a room with queen bed with an in room jacuzzi and gas fireplace. It was an end unit and very quiet. We enjoyed walking around the grounds and had a good hike out to the point. Very picturesque. We did not eat in the restaurant but had the free breakfast which was very good ranging from scrambled eggs and sausage to cheese and herring. Very good coffee also as I recall, available 24 hours. There is also a really nice area around the fireplace that is perfect for having a glass of wine and relaxing after a day of hiking or biking.
We visited many of the local waterfalls as the spring thaw was in full force if a little late this year. Cove point is very convenient to most of the North Shore attractions. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    84
    20
    6
    4
See reviews for
63
171
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at this quiet well maintained lodge. The views are outstanding and the staff does everything possible to insure a nice visit. If you are looking for a quiet get away, this is it. I would receommend this to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Cove Point Lodge was the perfect weekend hideaway for my fiancé and I. As we were traveling up the beautiful North Shore, we were commenting on how relaxed and stress free we were! That was only the tip of the iceberg---the staff, each and every one of them---were phenomenal! Very friendly and wanted to ensure we had the best stay ever. Goal: ACCOMPLISHED!!!!

Room Tip: Gorgeous views of the lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have stayed here before and always look forward to another visit back ! The staff is very friendly and the place is very clean. It is decorated in a woodsy like theme. We love staying here.I can seriously say we have never had any complaints. My husband and I could sit by the water in the chairs outside and just listen to the waves splashing off the rocks. Its nice to just slow down a bit and relax as life can get so hectic. The beds are comfortable and had a good nights sleep. Beautiful view of Lake Superior.If asked if there was anything else that I would want added to this stay... my reply would have to be another nights stay. Hands down! We never want to leave !

Room Tip: On those cool nights nothing beats the fireplace and jacuzzi in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went to Cove Point Lodge for a long weekend and will be sure to return. Every room has a great view of Lake Superior and if you want a closer view there are plenty of comfortable chairs outside. The rooms were clean and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was exactly what we needed to start the day and the dinner at the restaurant was delicious. We also tried the thin crust pizza from the bar and grill and were not disappointed. Don't miss the drive to Grand Marais, just an hour away and full of awe inspiring views. Thanks for a wonderful relaxing weekend, during which we didn't have a care in the world.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall, which is nice as it reduces traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband and I love the north shore but never had the opportunity to stay right on it and were so excited to stay at this lovely lodge where all the rooms have a grand view of Lake Superior.
Our room had a fireplace and Jacuzzi and was decorated in a tasteful North woods theme. The staff was very helpful and made you feel right at home. Being on the north shore, there is a lot to do...or not to do as is your choice. We walked (actually climbed) along the shore, went hiking by Gooseberry Falls, visited Split Rock Lighthouse and finished the day with a glass of wine listening the the sound of waved hitting the shore! Oh let's not forget the superb meal at the Cove Point dining room and the quick dip in the pool. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Me and my friends just returned from an awesome weekend at the North Shore. We were a big group (14), so we rented 2 cottages next to eachother. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the area quiet and gorgeous, the view spectacular and the cottages cozy and comfortable. We loved it so much that we hardly left the domaine; it has everything you need for a great stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.