We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful North Shore Experience at Cove Point Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cove Point Lodge to your Saves list
Cove Point Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful North Shore Experience at Cove Point Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at Cove Point Lodge for 4 nights in August and had a fun and relaxing time. We come up to the North Shore every year and this has been the best place we have stayed at so far.

We rented a cottage called Fjord Village Southwoods, it had two bedrooms, 2 baths. The views from the big picture windows were outstanding. We loved sitting on the deck in the mornings and evenings drinking coffee and cocoa. The kitchen was adequate and the furnishings were nice.

We have two girls (ages 4 & 7) and they loved hiking out to the point and the bonfires every night. The lodge provides s'more kits which I thought was a nice touch. They also enjoyed climbing the rocks along the lake shore and the indoor pool.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. My only complaint is that we had to request more toilet paper, towels and paper towels even though we were only there for 4 nights. I thought those items could have been stocked better. Pretty nit picky I know.

The location of the lodge is also a plus, it is close to several of the more popular State Parks on the North Shore and there is a good bakery and cafe (Lemon Wolf) in Beaver Bay.

One other drawback is it is a little on the expensive side but provides compared to some of the other lodges/resorts I think it is worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    97
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
70
198
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lino Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We had to check out this morning, but we decided that rather than leaving, we would just spend this wintery day sitting in the comfy lobby of Cove Point Lodge in front of the roaring fire watching the icey waves of Lake Superior. We certainly enjoyed everything about our stay here...our room with large windows overlooking Lake Superior, soft beds, down comforter and great showers. If you want a flat screen TV to watch news or cable, look elsewhere cause all the rooms are outfitted with older tube type TV's. But, where else can you find games in the lobby, resturant, in Mikes' fish house, which is a separate building closer to the lake near the fire pit. Excellent place to come and just veg. OH..and did I mention the traditional Scandanavian breakfast in the morning complete with pickled herring, sharp cheddar cheese, tomatoes and pickles? Come to Cove Point for a true, relaxing North Shore, Lake Superior experience.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake...who needs anything more?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My Boyfriend and I went to CPL midweek this past February. We now wish we could have stayed over the weekend because they have their additional restaurant open on weekends, as well as a few entertainment options. Midweek was a bit cheaper though, so we went with that. Overall, it was a lovely experience. We stayed in the Lake Affect room in the main lodge and loved it. It had a king bed, a gas fireplace, and a jacuzzi. The TV was small and old school, but we managed to watch a couple of DVD's in bed with room service anyway :). The food from the downstairs restaurant was decent. We had burgers with fries, as well as a spinach artichoke dip - pretty basic. The breakfast in the morning is a traditional Swedish breakfast and is decent as well. The service and staff were impeccable!!!! Super friendly and helpful!!! The property of CPL is beautiful and Lake Superior is literally right outside your window. Although it was cold, we walked around a bit and took a trip to the lighthouse and into Silver Bay for some Pizza at Jimmy's Pizza shop - pretty good pizza. We also stopped for pie and chocolate along the way, but I cannot remember the name of the place - was wonderful though!
Was a great trip and we would like to visit again sometime in the warmer months so enjoy the lake and outdoor scenery more! Because it was so cold and snowy, we did get to spend a lot of time just the two of us in the main lodge playing board games and talking, so it was great for us as a couple!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in the Split Rock cabin the last weekend in February 2013. The cabin is gorgeous and the view of Superior was unbelievable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Cabin was very clean! We had a great stay and will come back again. The only slightly negative thing is the access to the snowmobile trails. We had to run down the highway to find the trails and 61 is too busy for that to be ideal. Staff also couldn't tell us how to get to the trails. We found them after some trial and error. Fabulous stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Cove Point Lodge several times and have never been disappointed. This time I traveled with my dad to go cross country skiing. We stayed for two nights in the main lodge. The breakfast was great, front desk service was wonderful, and the room was clean and had everything we needed. I love that there are so many things to do at the lodge itself - we hiked out to the cove for photography and watched the huge waves coming in at sunrise, played cribbage in the fish house, and had great food at the restaurants. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms with two queens in the main lodge were a little noisy - even with ear plugs in. Perhaps it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Cove Point. The staff was very courteous and go out of their way. The restaurant food is beyond good! Try the salmon and tenderloin steak. The lodge is always so warm and inviting with the huge stone fireplace. We ate the second night at the Crossings at the top of the hilll. Great staff and food there as well. This was our 3rd stay at Cove Point and will definitely be back AGAIN and AGAIN.

Room Tip: To us it doesn't matter which room you choose - they all face the lake and are simply beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I spent our 3rd wedding anniversary at the Cove Point Lodge, last May, and we had the best time! The lodge, itself, is very open and the staff is extremely helpful. This was our first time there, and what we found most were so many repeat guests. The view is gorgeous and if you love nature and spending time outdoors, this is the place! Lots of trails to hike or just amble about. My favorite is the bonfire that is set up every evening for guests to sit around and enjoy the night sky, not to mention the little bag you're given with all the fixings for S'mores! The restaurant's food is extremely delicious, and the staff is terrific. And don't miss out on relaxing around the giant stone fireplace with your favorite board game, (which they provide), and a lovely drink from the bar. We loved our experience so much, we decided to spend every anniversary there. We're already booked for this coming May and I can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cove Point Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.