We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for alone time with your honey!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cove Point Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cove Point Lodge
4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Saint Paul
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Perfect for alone time with your honey!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My Boyfriend and I went to CPL midweek this past February. We now wish we could have stayed over the weekend because they have their additional restaurant open on weekends, as well as a few entertainment options. Midweek was a bit cheaper though, so we went with that. Overall, it was a lovely experience. We stayed in the Lake Affect room in the main lodge and loved it. It had a king bed, a gas fireplace, and a jacuzzi. The TV was small and old school, but we managed to watch a couple of DVD's in bed with room service anyway :). The food from the downstairs restaurant was decent. We had burgers with fries, as well as a spinach artichoke dip - pretty basic. The breakfast in the morning is a traditional Swedish breakfast and is decent as well. The service and staff were impeccable!!!! Super friendly and helpful!!! The property of CPL is beautiful and Lake Superior is literally right outside your window. Although it was cold, we walked around a bit and took a trip to the lighthouse and into Silver Bay for some Pizza at Jimmy's Pizza shop - pretty good pizza. We also stopped for pie and chocolate along the way, but I cannot remember the name of the place - was wonderful though!
Was a great trip and we would like to visit again sometime in the warmer months so enjoy the lake and outdoor scenery more! Because it was so cold and snowy, we did get to spend a lot of time just the two of us in the main lodge playing board games and talking, so it was great for us as a couple!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
155
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed in the Split Rock cabin the last weekend in February 2013. The cabin is gorgeous and the view of Superior was unbelievable. Staff was friendly and helpful. Cabin was very clean! We had a great stay and will come back again. The only slightly negative thing is the access to the snowmobile trails. We had to run down the highway to find the trails and 61 is too busy for that to be ideal. Staff also couldn't tell us how to get to the trails. We found them after some trial and error. Fabulous stay!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have stayed at the Cove Point Lodge several times and have never been disappointed. This time I traveled with my dad to go cross country skiing. We stayed for two nights in the main lodge. The breakfast was great, front desk service was wonderful, and the room was clean and had everything we needed. I love that there are so many things to do at the lodge itself - we hiked out to the cove for photography and watched the huge waves coming in at sunrise, played cribbage in the fish house, and had great food at the restaurants. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms with two queens in the main lodge were a little noisy - even with ear plugs in. Perhaps it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Cove Point. The staff was very courteous and go out of their way. The restaurant food is beyond good! Try the salmon and tenderloin steak. The lodge is always so warm and inviting with the huge stone fireplace. We ate the second night at the Crossings at the top of the hilll. Great staff and food there as well. This was our 3rd stay at Cove Point and will definitely be back AGAIN and AGAIN.

Room Tip: To us it doesn't matter which room you choose - they all face the lake and are simply beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I spent our 3rd wedding anniversary at the Cove Point Lodge, last May, and we had the best time! The lodge, itself, is very open and the staff is extremely helpful. This was our first time there, and what we found most were so many repeat guests. The view is gorgeous and if you love nature and spending time outdoors, this is the place! Lots of trails to hike or just amble about. My favorite is the bonfire that is set up every evening for guests to sit around and enjoy the night sky, not to mention the little bag you're given with all the fixings for S'mores! The restaurant's food is extremely delicious, and the staff is terrific. And don't miss out on relaxing around the giant stone fireplace with your favorite board game, (which they provide), and a lovely drink from the bar. We loved our experience so much, we decided to spend every anniversary there. We're already booked for this coming May and I can't wait!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I loved this couples retreat lodge. The property is beautiful with plenty to do if you like outdoor activities. There were trails for hiking, a firepit that was stocked and ready to burn whenever you wanted and a bar close by at the top of the hill. They have a bin of free snowshoes, but they seemed to be out everytime we checked so you might want to be down to the desk early to get your snowshoes. That said, the trails were already well packed and we did not have a problem walking them without the snowshoes. Gooseberry Falls is close by and we went down there for some hiking as well. If you go at night they have a candle lit path which is neat. One thing we wish we could change is that the Cove Point bar closes at 9:00pm even on the weekends. Wish it would have been later. All in all, we had a wonderful time and cant wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This house in in a beautiful setting on a ridge, with a great view of Lake Superior. Only five miles to Splitrock lighthouse. Even in winter it was great to have a hugh deck to go out and be closer to the lake and take pictures. We saw deer each day and the trees and lake were soothing. It is a very nice home, well furnished in a northwoods style. We cooked all our meals there easily. There were a couple of maintenance/housekeeping issues that can easily be fixed, and honestly, staying in a home as opposed to a hotel room, some maintenance issues seem to be common wherever we travel. The staff was friendly and accessible. The early spring deal was a good value even with only two people sharing the cost.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.