We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Setting Along the North Shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cove Point Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cove Point Lodge
4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Setting Along the North Shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for one night before I ran the Grandma's half marathon. It was a great location because it was only about 30 minutes from Two Harbors, one of the bus locations to the race. The room was overall comfortable with lodge decor and a lakefront view. The hotel has a nice setting mixed with lake, woods, and a nice walk around the cove.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
155
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had an excellent stay at Cove Point Lodge in on of the Windsong Cottages. Everything was well appointed and very clean. The kitchen was well stocked with equipment so we could easily cook a meal. The view of Lake Superior was terrific and the staff was very accommodating. A very relaxing 4 days on the shore.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake. It would depend on your budget, the cottages are a lot more expensive than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Michael, Minnesota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were so impressed with our stay at Cove Point. Beautiful view from our windows. Comfortable room, with fireplace and deck. a very quiet spot! We loved the heated "fish house" which had a potbelly stove going and chairs and tables to play cards or read right along the shoreline it was so cozy. And the nightly campfire near the lake with S'more kits was a great treat! We will be back!

Room Tip: we had a corner room and veiws were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Cove Point is our favorite place to stay on the North Shore. Perfect location to so many attractions and places to visit. Less than an hour from Duluth and only an hour from Grand Marais. Location is convenient yet secluded. Great lake view. We like the fact that it's more adult oriented, but we've never stayed there in peak summer season. Usually late spring/early summer or in the fall when school is back in session. Certainly family friendly but never overrun with kids.

Dining options are adequate in the lodge if you don't feel like venturing out. Breakfast buffet free for lodge guests offers a wide selection of choices. The Crossings bar/grill at the top of the hill has great thin crust pizza! Prices are fair for both.
If you stay here you MUST go to the Lemon Wolf Cafe less than a mile up the road in Beaver Bay. The Coconut Cream Pie is a must have. No lie!

The lodge offers S'mores kits at the front desk. Usually someone has a bonfire started or you can start it yourself. If it's raining or too cold, go into the fish house on the cove. Wood burning stove in there is usually fired up and also works great for your s'mores. Also cribbage and checkers out there to pass your time. Or relax on the porch in the Adirondack chairs overlooking the cove. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air conditioning. Being on the lake it may not be necessary, but keep that in min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Cove Point Lodge has always been our favorite place to stay on the North Shore. It is far enough of Highway 61 that you don't hear any road noise. All rooms face the lake. The staff is incredible. Their restaurant is of highest quality. Cove Point Lodge is the only lodge/hotel/motel that we have ever stayed at in which I don't start getting antsy and feel the need to leave the property for a while. There is something very comforting about the property & surroundings. I could sit in front of the fireplace and read all day long. I guarantee you won't be disappointed by your stay at Cove Point Lodge!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I just love this lodge....staff are the best! Fun and very accomdating! I return every year and would not think of staying anywhere else. (We have and it does not compare to the other lodges in the area for what we enjoy...)

I recommend this lodge to everyone! Great place to relax and hang out! Feels like home, not a hotel...

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the lake....we have also stayed in the cottages and they are staggered so e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Prospect
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Cons – they advertise and take reservations for units that they do not have available. We made a web reservation for a unit in their Windsong section that sounded to-die-for; 2 Bedroom, 3 bath, woodburning fireplace downstairs, with a gas fireplace and jaccuzi with a view in the upstairs master. Sounds great, right? Sounded so great that we followed up by phone, to make sure that the description was correct, and we were assured that the listing was accurate. The problem is - the unit doesn’t exist.
After we brought back the key to the unit that didn’t match what we had reserved, they offered a larger unit as a replacement, but didn’t tell us that the substitute was not lake-front (the point of our trip to Lake Superior in the first place!) Finally, they put us in one of their “Cove homes”, which was lovely – just not the Lake Superior experience we were looking for.

The Pros – the cove home was lovely. It has easy access to the point, and a pretty view out onto the cove. The house was stocked with everything we needed. Clean and bright. It just wasn’t what we wanted – and the staff were gracious enough to let us check out early without penalty.

The very excellent Lemon Wolf Cafe is close to the resort – don’t miss it! We also enjoyed the Northwoods Café in nearby Silver Bay.

In the end, we did find exactly what we wanted at Temperance Landing up the road in Schroeder. This made everything ok – and we are able to look back at the two nights we spent at Cove Point Lodge in a positive light.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.