We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cove Point Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Cove Point Lodge
4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Spring Break Savings
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Saint Michael, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were so impressed with our stay at Cove Point. Beautiful view from our windows. Comfortable room, with fireplace and deck. a very quiet spot! We loved the heated "fish house" which had a potbelly stove going and chairs and tables to play cards or read right along the shoreline it was so cozy. And the nightly campfire near the lake with S'more kits was a great treat! We will be back!

Room Tip: we had a corner room and veiws were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    74
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
147
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Cove Point is our favorite place to stay on the North Shore. Perfect location to so many attractions and places to visit. Less than an hour from Duluth and only an hour from Grand Marais. Location is convenient yet secluded. Great lake view. We like the fact that it's more adult oriented, but we've never stayed there in peak summer season. Usually late spring/early summer or in the fall when school is back in session. Certainly family friendly but never overrun with kids.

Dining options are adequate in the lodge if you don't feel like venturing out. Breakfast buffet free for lodge guests offers a wide selection of choices. The Crossings bar/grill at the top of the hill has great thin crust pizza! Prices are fair for both.
If you stay here you MUST go to the Lemon Wolf Cafe less than a mile up the road in Beaver Bay. The Coconut Cream Pie is a must have. No lie!

The lodge offers S'mores kits at the front desk. Usually someone has a bonfire started or you can start it yourself. If it's raining or too cold, go into the fish house on the cove. Wood burning stove in there is usually fired up and also works great for your s'mores. Also cribbage and checkers out there to pass your time. Or relax on the porch in the Adirondack chairs overlooking the cove. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air conditioning. Being on the lake it may not be necessary, but keep that in min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Cove Point Lodge has always been our favorite place to stay on the North Shore. It is far enough of Highway 61 that you don't hear any road noise. All rooms face the lake. The staff is incredible. Their restaurant is of highest quality. Cove Point Lodge is the only lodge/hotel/motel that we have ever stayed at in which I don't start getting antsy and feel the need to leave the property for a while. There is something very comforting about the property & surroundings. I could sit in front of the fireplace and read all day long. I guarantee you won't be disappointed by your stay at Cove Point Lodge!

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I just love this lodge....staff are the best! Fun and very accomdating! I return every year and would not think of staying anywhere else. (We have and it does not compare to the other lodges in the area for what we enjoy...)

I recommend this lodge to everyone! Great place to relax and hang out! Feels like home, not a hotel...

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the lake....we have also stayed in the cottages and they are staggered so e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Prospect
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Cons – they advertise and take reservations for units that they do not have available. We made a web reservation for a unit in their Windsong section that sounded to-die-for; 2 Bedroom, 3 bath, woodburning fireplace downstairs, with a gas fireplace and jaccuzi with a view in the upstairs master. Sounds great, right? Sounded so great that we followed up by phone, to make sure that the description was correct, and we were assured that the listing was accurate. The problem is - the unit doesn’t exist.
After we brought back the key to the unit that didn’t match what we had reserved, they offered a larger unit as a replacement, but didn’t tell us that the substitute was not lake-front (the point of our trip to Lake Superior in the first place!) Finally, they put us in one of their “Cove homes”, which was lovely – just not the Lake Superior experience we were looking for.

The Pros – the cove home was lovely. It has easy access to the point, and a pretty view out onto the cove. The house was stocked with everything we needed. Clean and bright. It just wasn’t what we wanted – and the staff were gracious enough to let us check out early without penalty.

The very excellent Lemon Wolf Cafe is close to the resort – don’t miss it! We also enjoyed the Northwoods Café in nearby Silver Bay.

In the end, we did find exactly what we wanted at Temperance Landing up the road in Schroeder. This made everything ok – and we are able to look back at the two nights we spent at Cove Point Lodge in a positive light.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Cove Point Lodge the nights of October 5th and 6th. We chose the hotel due to its location and availability late in the season. We spent a total of $624 for the two nights for a king room on the second floor with a small whirlpool in it. The room just isn't worth that kind of money.

The bathroom was cheaply decorated (it looked like mid-range stuff you could get at Home Depot, not what you'd expect to see in a luxury or even a nice hotel room), the walls were a bit thin, and the water pressure was a joke. Every time another guest stopped or started their shower, flushed their toilet, etc., the pipes would shudder and the water pressure and temperature would change. There was also no hot breakfast offered. I'm sorry, but for over $200 a night (let alone $300 during peak season), one expects a high-quality hot breakfast, not a quaint traditional Norwegian continental-style breakfast.

I stay at numerous hotels around the world (I'm gold status with one chain and silver with two others this year) so I feel like I know what I am talking about. Comparing this hotel to the $200 per night hotels I spent time in on Grand Cayman and Barbados recently, this one looks like the Motel 6. It is a nice place really, it's just not worth the peak season rate. If you can pay $150 or less for the king room, book it. Otherwise, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Barring a missed visit last year, my husband and I have stayed here for 14 years. We came back this year with the family we always stay with and I was pleasantly surprised. There have been some very nice changes. Front desk was terrific; in the past they were not very friendly or welcoming. If you wanted to book your same room for the next year and it was taken, tough luck. This year that scenario occurred again, the difference was that the Front Desk people were ready with an alternative and made sure that we knew they wanted us back. A great change. The food was great in the dining room and they really tried hard to make sure we were happy. In the past it was slow and while the servers were friendly, it always felt like they were not enjoying their jobs. The pizza from the restaurant up the hill was great. All in all I felt like the property has really stepped up to the plate. There is soooo much competition on the shore now and it feels like Cove Point gets that. We were pretty turned off a couple if years ago after staying at some other places. I'm glad we gave it another shot. I also want to note that we stayed in a cottage and not the lodge. It's been a few years since we stayed in the lidge, but I can say our cottage experiences have been great.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Hotel
Cove Point Beaver Bay
Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.