We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Fall trip to Cove Point Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cove Point Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cove Point Lodge
4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Coon Rapids
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Annual Fall trip to Cove Point Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I just love this lodge....staff are the best! Fun and very accomdating! I return every year and would not think of staying anywhere else. (We have and it does not compare to the other lodges in the area for what we enjoy...)

I recommend this lodge to everyone! Great place to relax and hang out! Feels like home, not a hotel...

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the lake....we have also stayed in the cottages and they are staggered so e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    75
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
54
155
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mt Prospect
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Cons – they advertise and take reservations for units that they do not have available. We made a web reservation for a unit in their Windsong section that sounded to-die-for; 2 Bedroom, 3 bath, woodburning fireplace downstairs, with a gas fireplace and jaccuzi with a view in the upstairs master. Sounds great, right? Sounded so great that we followed up by phone, to make sure that the description was correct, and we were assured that the listing was accurate. The problem is - the unit doesn’t exist.
After we brought back the key to the unit that didn’t match what we had reserved, they offered a larger unit as a replacement, but didn’t tell us that the substitute was not lake-front (the point of our trip to Lake Superior in the first place!) Finally, they put us in one of their “Cove homes”, which was lovely – just not the Lake Superior experience we were looking for.

The Pros – the cove home was lovely. It has easy access to the point, and a pretty view out onto the cove. The house was stocked with everything we needed. Clean and bright. It just wasn’t what we wanted – and the staff were gracious enough to let us check out early without penalty.

The very excellent Lemon Wolf Cafe is close to the resort – don’t miss it! We also enjoyed the Northwoods Café in nearby Silver Bay.

In the end, we did find exactly what we wanted at Temperance Landing up the road in Schroeder. This made everything ok – and we are able to look back at the two nights we spent at Cove Point Lodge in a positive light.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the Cove Point Lodge the nights of October 5th and 6th. We chose the hotel due to its location and availability late in the season. We spent a total of $624 for the two nights for a king room on the second floor with a small whirlpool in it. The room just isn't worth that kind of money.

The bathroom was cheaply decorated (it looked like mid-range stuff you could get at Home Depot, not what you'd expect to see in a luxury or even a nice hotel room), the walls were a bit thin, and the water pressure was a joke. Every time another guest stopped or started their shower, flushed their toilet, etc., the pipes would shudder and the water pressure and temperature would change. There was also no hot breakfast offered. I'm sorry, but for over $200 a night (let alone $300 during peak season), one expects a high-quality hot breakfast, not a quaint traditional Norwegian continental-style breakfast.

I stay at numerous hotels around the world (I'm gold status with one chain and silver with two others this year) so I feel like I know what I am talking about. Comparing this hotel to the $200 per night hotels I spent time in on Grand Cayman and Barbados recently, this one looks like the Motel 6. It is a nice place really, it's just not worth the peak season rate. If you can pay $150 or less for the king room, book it. Otherwise, go elsewhere.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a view of Lake Superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Barring a missed visit last year, my husband and I have stayed here for 14 years. We came back this year with the family we always stay with and I was pleasantly surprised. There have been some very nice changes. Front desk was terrific; in the past they were not very friendly or welcoming. If you wanted to book your same room for the next year and it was taken, tough luck. This year that scenario occurred again, the difference was that the Front Desk people were ready with an alternative and made sure that we knew they wanted us back. A great change. The food was great in the dining room and they really tried hard to make sure we were happy. In the past it was slow and while the servers were friendly, it always felt like they were not enjoying their jobs. The pizza from the restaurant up the hill was great. All in all I felt like the property has really stepped up to the plate. There is soooo much competition on the shore now and it feels like Cove Point gets that. We were pretty turned off a couple if years ago after staying at some other places. I'm glad we gave it another shot. I also want to note that we stayed in a cottage and not the lodge. It's been a few years since we stayed in the lidge, but I can say our cottage experiences have been great.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We vowed to return to Cove Point Lodge after a one-night stay last fall. We just returned from a wonderful return weekend visit, and will definitely go again. It's a great location for weekend travelers from the Twin Cities - only an hour or so past Duluth. The setting is gorgeous, with spectacular views of Lake Superior and great hiking opportunities right on site. We hiked a 6-mile loop trail that is part of the Superior Hiking Trail and then enjoyed a nice lunch at the restaurant up the hill from the Lodge. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna and relaxing in the lobby lounge area. The complimentary breakfast is authentic Scandinavian, but not all that appealing for the rest of us. The lodge rooms are small but comfortable. There is a great variety of activities available, but it's also the kind of place that tempts you to just sit and read by the fireplace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed one night of our honeymoon at Cove Point Lodge. All we can say is, WOW! They know how to treat guests! Shelly at the front desk was amazing!! Once she found out we were on our honeymoon, she treated us like a queen and king! Connie was our waitress in the restaurant and she also treated us like royalty! We loved our room...it was so cool to have the window open to hear the waves crashing and the fireplace on to keep us warm. It was so relaxing and wonderful. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Oaks, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent the weekend at Cove Point Lodge for some hiking. The Lodge was great - very clean and comfortable with great views of Lake Superior. We stayed in one of the State Rooms on the second floor and liked the accomodations. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.
The location is was ideal for us. We visited the Split Rock Lighthouse and hiked along the shoreline. Gooseberry Falls is also nearby with lots of hiking trails as well. On our last day we hiked the Cove Point Loop Trail, which we thought was 5.9 miles from the Lodge roundtrip. The Cove Point Loop Trail is actually 5.9 miles and to get there it is another 1.3 miles (2.6 miles roundtrip) for a total of 8.5 miles. It was a bit longer than we expected, but was well worth it. Absolutely beautiful scenery!
The restaurant in the main lodge was very good. Service was a bit slow, but food was excellent.
We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.