We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Revised Opinion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

Save Saved
You added Cove Point Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cove Point Lodge
4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Revised Opinion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Barring a missed visit last year, my husband and I have stayed here for 14 years. We came back this year with the family we always stay with and I was pleasantly surprised. There have been some very nice changes. Front desk was terrific; in the past they were not very friendly or welcoming. If you wanted to book your same room for the next year and it was taken, tough luck. This year that scenario occurred again, the difference was that the Front Desk people were ready with an alternative and made sure that we knew they wanted us back. A great change. The food was great in the dining room and they really tried hard to make sure we were happy. In the past it was slow and while the servers were friendly, it always felt like they were not enjoying their jobs. The pizza from the restaurant up the hill was great. All in all I felt like the property has really stepped up to the plate. There is soooo much competition on the shore now and it feels like Cove Point gets that. We were pretty turned off a couple if years ago after staying at some other places. I'm glad we gave it another shot. I also want to note that we stayed in a cottage and not the lodge. It's been a few years since we stayed in the lidge, but I can say our cottage experiences have been great.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    79
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
61
163
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We vowed to return to Cove Point Lodge after a one-night stay last fall. We just returned from a wonderful return weekend visit, and will definitely go again. It's a great location for weekend travelers from the Twin Cities - only an hour or so past Duluth. The setting is gorgeous, with spectacular views of Lake Superior and great hiking opportunities right on site. We hiked a 6-mile loop trail that is part of the Superior Hiking Trail and then enjoyed a nice lunch at the restaurant up the hill from the Lodge. We enjoyed the hot tub and sauna and relaxing in the lobby lounge area. The complimentary breakfast is authentic Scandinavian, but not all that appealing for the rest of us. The lodge rooms are small but comfortable. There is a great variety of activities available, but it's also the kind of place that tempts you to just sit and read by the fireplace.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed one night of our honeymoon at Cove Point Lodge. All we can say is, WOW! They know how to treat guests! Shelly at the front desk was amazing!! Once she found out we were on our honeymoon, she treated us like a queen and king! Connie was our waitress in the restaurant and she also treated us like royalty! We loved our room...it was so cool to have the window open to hear the waves crashing and the fireplace on to keep us warm. It was so relaxing and wonderful. Can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Oaks, MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent the weekend at Cove Point Lodge for some hiking. The Lodge was great - very clean and comfortable with great views of Lake Superior. We stayed in one of the State Rooms on the second floor and liked the accomodations. The staff was also very friendly and helpful.
The location is was ideal for us. We visited the Split Rock Lighthouse and hiked along the shoreline. Gooseberry Falls is also nearby with lots of hiking trails as well. On our last day we hiked the Cove Point Loop Trail, which we thought was 5.9 miles from the Lodge roundtrip. The Cove Point Loop Trail is actually 5.9 miles and to get there it is another 1.3 miles (2.6 miles roundtrip) for a total of 8.5 miles. It was a bit longer than we expected, but was well worth it. Absolutely beautiful scenery!
The restaurant in the main lodge was very good. Service was a bit slow, but food was excellent.
We look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I own and operate a small Boutique Inn and I know what good customer service is and how much it's worth. These folks know it too!
I was a walk-in and received 'return guest' treatment. The front desk was accommodating and went out of their way to make my stay pleasant, I had prompt service on a minor technical (Internet) call in the evening and personal help finding a great smoked fish vendor.
The cabin was spotless and the view from the deck spectacular - too bad I couldn't stay longer to enjoy the room, the pool and the great service.

Room Tip: Book ahead to be assured of the choice you desire. Cabins are better but also bigger and more expen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate North Dakota
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our 2nd year of going to Cove Point Lodge for the Fall Colors. It was so relaxing and with the addition of the bike rentals and massage services it made it that much more fun!!! I would recommend Cove Point to anyone travelling to the North Shore.

Room Tip: They are all lake facing...just have to decide if you want a fireplace or an in room jacuzzi!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Room with a view, you can't go wrong. We stayed on the 3rd floor, in the smallest room, however I don't think it is that small at all. It had a queen bed and a love seat. The staff are friendly, helpful.
Room was so clean and bed comfy. I will stay again.
The dinner was very flavorful, I had the pasta and wish I had the receipe.

Room Tip: All rooms face the Lake, ask for one with AC if it is going to be hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Cove Point Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.