We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful. Friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cove Point Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beaver Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cove Point Lodge
Save
You added Cove Point Lodge to your Saves list
4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Eagan MN
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful. Friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Every room in the Lodge has a lake view! We had a queen room w/ jacuzzi and it was a bit cozy, but we managed. Next time, we'll get one with a fireplace which looked more spacious...and a better kind of cozy :)
Yep, the breakfast has Scandinavian items (pickled herring, pickled cucumbers, summer sausage & cheese) but also has 2 kinds of cereal, blueberry muffins, toast, fruit, yogurt, oj, tea, hot chocolate and good coffee (hot drinks available for free around the clock!). We thought it was great!
They have lots of board games and jigsaw puzzles available for free use, and a pool and jacuzzi, which is open to all until 9pm and only to adults from 9 - 11pm. Outdoors they have frisbee golf and lawn for bocce ball.
Plus a fire pit which the maintenance guys prep every night juuust about sunset. S'mores packets are free for the asking at the front desk. Bring insect repellant that has DEET as its main ingredient. Yeah, its a nasty chemical you'll want to wash off when you go indoors, but it works the best.
Another reviewer complained about sparse dining options after 9pm...welcome to Northern Minnesota. It's not just at Cove Point, but every place up there closes at 9 or 10. The desk staff will inform you of the closing times when you check in, so you can plan ahead.
We had amazing filet mignon, a very nice bottle of red and good service at the restaurant in the lodge. Cove Point Crossings sports bar is just up the driveway - close enough to walk. Try the Bear Tracks pizza. Delish.
I've read some negative reviews of Cove Point...it seems they were staying at a different place. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: For the best view ask for a room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    89
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
65
179
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MPLS, MN USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We planned a quick two night outing for our anniversary and we wanted something quiet and nice. Cove Point had rooms available and despite the slightly high price, I booked it. I was expecting something a little pre-fab and run of hte mill. I was surprised to find a very nice lodge with a WONDERFUL view and an extremely helpful and friendly staff. Our room was simple, but the balcony looking over Lake Superior was spectacular. The whole place was quiet, despite the fact that the parking lot was full and there were obviously people around. There was a mix of couples and families, but there weren't any screaming and obnoxious kids around. The Swedish continental breakfast was delicious and filling. The best part about the place is the fact that it is literally on Lake Superior. You cannot see the lodge from the road because it is down the hill and on the water. The sound and sight of the lake was terribly relaxing. Needless to say, we wanted to extend our trip and stay longer. The price tag was a bit high ($200 a night) but the accommodations were worth it.

Room Tip: The balcony was worth the extra couple of dollars a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed in cove side cottage for 2 nights. Master suite upstairs was really nice with large bathroom with double shower. Very quiet, traveled with two teenagers. I was worried about no air conditioning as we visited during record heat, when the sun dropped the cool air off the lake allowed for us to sleep comfortably. Only draw back was the couch in living room was a love seat, my 14 year old chose to sleep on it rather than share a bed with his brother. He didn't complain, but after a day of hiking, I don't know if he rreally got good sleep with out streching out. Didn't eat at the resort. front desk staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Blacklock Cottage which is rented thru Cove Point Lodge. Absolutely stunning views, comfortable, perfect. The restaurant-- The Crossings--which is part of Cove Point Lodge was horrible. Our last night was spent vomiting. When I told the front desk employee at the Lodge, he said, "Sorry to hear that. Would you like me to put the rest of your stay on the same credit card?"

Room Tip: Last minute reservations
See more room tips
Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011 via mobile

For over $250/nitr, this could have been better. Room wasn't clean, staff was friendly, but had no authority to fix issues - no apologies either. On the other hand, the lake is beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

This is unique lodging right on the shore of Lake Superior. Comfy rooms, unique continental breakfast, and neat great room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Spent 2 nights in a Queen room in the main lodge. Friendly staff - everyone was quiet spoken and polite, even the guests. First night the room was hot - no AC in room, although there was a small electric fan. Second night the temperature dropped so it was not a problem. No mention of AC on website - not thought of as essential in northern Minnesota except for a couple of days a year.
Ate dinner in lodge first night - Walleye covered in mustard and crushed Pretzels - so so.
Complimentary breakfast was a variation of Scandinavian - boiled eggs, bread, pickled cucumber and herring, cheese - without fish eggs in toothpaste tubes.

Room Tip: In summer go for King room in main lodge - they have a fireplace and AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cove Point Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Point Lodge

Address: 4614 Highway 61, Beaver Bay, MN
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Beaver Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beaver Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 74
Also Known As:
Cove Point Hotel Beaver Bay
Cove Point Beaver Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cove Point Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.