We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camp 61 Restaurant

Camp 61 Restaurant
1017 Main Street, Beaver Bay, MN
218-226-4351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Beaver Bay
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We come to the North Shore alot and stay at Cove Point Lodge. We visited Camp 61 Oct 2013 for the first time and we will definitely come back the next time we visit the North Shore. Fantastic food and great service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Silver Bay, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice remodel, ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm local to the area and wanted to try the restaurant on the north shore. First time I had the steamed mussels, had enough garlic to terrify Dracula, Second trip was for the burger, good not great. Nice chips. Third time was for the fish taco, portion seemed small for the price, and service was really slow and there was only two other tables in dining room. The place is under new ownership and I take my hat off to them for the for the turn around in an old property, just needs a little tweaking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul, mn
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - good service and quality food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The wait staff were very attentive. There was a small wait to be seated and they updated us every few minutes to that status of our wait. That was very important and personable! The service continued to be very good once seated. The waitresses were extremely kind and helpful. Everyone in our party greatly enjoyed the food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff, Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We arrived early and there were only two other couples in the restaurant. After we received our drinks, four other couples were seated. ALL received their food ahead of us and the table next to us were actually getting ready to leave when we finally got our food! Not sure what happened there, but one of the couple ahead of us got their food late too. My husband had a pork chop and I had fish, so really do not know why it took so long. I ordered herring but was told the fishermen were struggling to catch them today so they were substituting Tilapia. Okay by me! It was $13.95, so reasonable. When it arrived, it looked nothing like the Tilapia I am used to, but there was a large portion and it was very good. My husband had a pork chop, $17.95. It was a large chop and at least an inch and a half thick, moist and a hint of smoke flavor. We both had wild rice that had sauteed carrots, celery and onion in it, so it was very good. We are on vacation, so opted for dessert. My husband had a mixed berry pie which was good. They said it was made there, but the crust edging looked like a frozen pie. I had chocolate cake. It was made in a bundt pan and a VERY small piece. With ice cream it was $4.95, which was too much for the size of this piece, but was very good. I just mentioned to the waitress that they may want to increase their cake servings a bit, and we ended up not getting charged for it. The waitresses were very friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, Minnesota
1 review
“Local 1st timers. Will return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Heard lots of great things about this new addition to the neighborhood and my wife and I concur. Great service. Great food. More local beer would be a plus for me :) BBQ sandwich was tasty with the home made potato salad. Fish cake appetizer was a treat. Check 'me out!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp 61 Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Camp 61 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp 61 Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.