We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Service!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Lights Cafe

Northern Lights Cafe
1040 Main St, Beaver Bay, MN 55601
218-226-3012
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Beaver Bay
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Casa Grande, Arizona
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“No Service!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We walked out after 20 minutes of no service. Wait staff was bussing tables rather then taking our order, even though no one was waiting and the place was only half full. Will never go back.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    44
    15
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis MN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have eaten at Northern Lights many times, the food is usually pretty good, the service often mediocre. This past Saturday night, though, we went in and sat after seeing the "please be seated sign." We waited for 10 minutes and never saw a waitress.... not even someone who could say "we'll be right with you." Nobody. Got up and left, and never saw anyone. So I don't think they ever knew we were there, or that we left... but we will not be going back. There's a new place up the road a couple miles we tried, and were sat, with drinks, in three minutes. That's more like it. And the food was better. Sorry, Northern Lights, you gotta do better.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great Pub Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

They accommodated our group of 8 nicely. We had really good fish! What else?! A sweet waitress who helped us find our way around the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“worse ever in my life!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My family was up for the Tow Harbors Show ,your restraunt was the only bad experiences we had over priced, I did not think you could SCREW UP wild rice soup but you did and how in the hell do you screw up a salad bar you guys did!this was the worst service ,overpriced, gouged I have seen in my 60 years your establisment was the only bad part a of a great weekend I will be sure to tell everyone about how bad it was oh and was every body drunk or something no one seemed to be able to speak or walk your place sucked completely but ya did suck a tip out of me as I,m no a dink as you and your place was Board Of Director Minn Streetrod assn Gord Schwarz

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't judge a book by it's cover.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

From the outside you wouldn't think this place could be so good. But I just had the most amazing dinner. My husband had planked walleye surrounded by herbed mashed potatos (served right on the wood plank). I had a sampler dinner with Wild rice soup, wild rice quiche and grilled walleye, with mango strawberry salad. I swear I'm in a food coma.The salad bar herring was out of this world. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Northern Lights Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Northern Lights Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Lights Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.