We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pounawea Grove Motels - The Catlins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Southland Region
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pounawea Grove Motels - The Catlins
Save
You added Pounawea Grove Motels - The Catlins to your Saves list
5 Ocean Grove | Pounawea, North Catlins, 9535, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is a beautiful spot to recharge the batteries. The hosts, Shelly and Bailey were wonderful and friendly and even let me use the computer as we don't have a laptop, cheers Bailey. Room was clean and new, all we needed. Our only :( was the bathroom didn't really have sufficient ventilation, the vent wasn't installed fully into the roof and everything was soaked from the shower. We also think a safety plug in there would be wise as opposed to a normal one, for hair dryers,shavers etc.
Thanks guys will definitely book again, if we are down that way.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawera, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

For anyone travelling the Southern Scenic route through the Catlins, Pounawea Grove Motel is the place to stay! It is definately worth the few km drive from Owaka. Fanastic views with great rooms which are very luxurious and clean. Free internet also was a bonus & we had no trouble reserving a room in advance.

Could have easily stayed here another night, especailly since you get free kayak and bike use at this motel, however we were short on time. Will definately be back to give this a go!

Tip - There are no food places in Pounawea so be sure to buy food at the four square in Owaka on your way through or stop at the local pub or Catlins Cafe for a bite to eat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We initially booked in for one night but decided to stay two when we got there. What a beautiful, well equip, clean and modern place to stay. Not only are the rooms lovely, the setting is so peaceful and beautiful. The hosts were amazing and went above and beyond our expectations to make us feel welcome and comfortable. In terms of value for money, Pounawea Grove Motels cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methven, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Idyllic, peaceful, lovely early morning birdsong to wake up to. Locals all very welcoming. Lovely spot to wander around before exploring all the Catlins has to offer. The rooms are ideal, very clean and comfortable, wonderful bathroom. We loved the verandah, wine glass in hand, friendly cat, enjoying the views. The shared lounge is also a good idea and very welcoming for travellers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a great stay at Pounawea Grove Motel. Shelley and Bailey are really friendly and they went the extra mile to make sure our stay was a fantastic experience. Bailey really has a passion for the area. The accommodation was new and everything we needed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011 via mobile

Pounawea grove motel is located in a beautiful spot. The motel seems fairly new. The rooms are very comfortable, well decorated and well set out (the rooms are small but we didn't need any more room). The kitchen had everything we needed. The staff were lovely. Definitely recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pounawea Grove Motels - The Catlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pounawea Grove Motels - The Catlins

Address: 5 Ocean Grove | Pounawea, North Catlins, 9535, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Southland Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pounawea Grove Motels: Luxury Accommodation in The heart of The Catlins Enjoy our new stylish decor,stunning views of the Pounawea waterfront with a tranquil setting set amongst magnificent bird life and scenery.Make the most of our great waterfront location, magnificent views and close proximity to many great leisure activities.Only Minutes from wildlife and iconic scenic attractions including Purakaunui Falls, Nugget Point, Cathedral caves, and Jacks Blowhole to name a few. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pounawea Grove Motels - The Catlins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.