We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dining with class without the price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prairie Bay Restaurant

Prairie Bay Restaurant
15115 Edgewood Drive, Baxter, MN 56425
218-824-6444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Baxter
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Baxter, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dining with class without the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Classy place with a good menu selection. Fresh local grown foods that make you proud to bring guests.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    28
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food, not a chain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

wonderful food. Not a chain restaurant. Actual Chef style foods. Unique offerings or fun twists on traditional items. Cost is reasonable for this quality. Find I eat there 4-6 times a month. for business, with spouse, and with friends. My first choice in Brainerd Lakes area

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“New app.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Tried the new Thai meatballs on the appetizers .....yummy! Slightly sweet and mildly spicy. I like all the different and changing tap beers too. My favourite pizza is the blue cheese, grape and fig.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good quality food prepared from scratch, excellent bread and pizza. Diverse and unique menu and pizza selection (definatelynot a cookie cutter operation). Dining room atmosphere is unremarkable which is unfortunate because it doesn't live up to the quality of the food. I would recommend you request to be seated in the bar area. A little more character and much more intimate. The cost is a little higher then other restraunts in Brainerd/Baxter area. I guess higher quality food comes with a little higher price. I particularly enjoy their rare seared ahi tuna sandwich for lunch (do not fear the rare tuna). It is the only available in the lakes area. The last time I was there they let me sub a salad for the steak fries which was nice. If you don't mind spending a couple extra bucks and you desire a high quality unique menu choises it is well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainerd
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The pumpkin seed crusted calamari strips were perfect - not chewy at all. The sugar-seared angus beef medallions were incredible. We loved the toasted almond cauliflower gratin. The chef is just wonderful. We've never been disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Bay Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Prairie Bay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prairie Bay Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.