We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56425   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Recently stayed here with my family and was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. First off you must realize that there is a water park and there will definitely be lots of children, but overall the noise was not to bad. The room was clean and the waterpark was a lot of fun. They even have an adults only hot tub, which was a nice touch. The staff at the front desk were very nice even though they were extremely busy. Even the free morning breakfast was pretty good. I have stayed across the street at the Arrowwood and preferred this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you! We appreciate your review and I'm happy to read that your experience matched what we promise when staying at our facility. We look forward to your future visits to the Brainerd Lakes Area and wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    56
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
83
10
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I live Mpls. The wife I needed A weekend away, We love going up north so we thought this would be descent place to stay. (It Wasn't) I expected ALOT kids (being it has a waterpark) But I didn't expect them to running up and down the hallways for hours. Granted not hotels fault by they should not allowed it. As far as the waterpark not that great. You aren't even allowed to bring a cup of coffee from their breakfast. They want you to buy EVERYTHING inside the park. After paying over 250 a night you should be able to bring in at least your own water. The waterpark wasn't even clean garbage everywhere. The Adult Hot tub wasn't bad ( But still messy) The rest of the water was so cold you couldn't hardly stay in it. The gym 2 treadmills and a bike does not make gym. No weights, dirty and sweaty smelling. In Feb. there is a lot of snow in Baxter. The sidewalks we barely shoveled along with parking lot. For a up north hotel that should be a huge deal. It hadn't snowed in a few days?? The hotel is to close to Hwy 371 so if your on the highway side you hear cars and trucks all night. I would not pick this place as my 1st choice or 2nd. I like staying in Holiday inns, I don't even mind spending over 350 for 2 nights. But I expect more then this place offers. But would never stay here again. It was overpriced and not worth it. CLEAN THIS PLACE UP!!!! From the rooms all the way to your Waterpark!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay in the back of this place no car noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you Tracy B for your review on our facility, I’m saddened of your experience at our property. We definitely strive for excellence for all guests, but we do sometime miss the mark as I can read from your review. It was definitely a busy weekend for families enjoying the holidays and we find ourselves perplexed on managing children and managing demand. We will strive to better our approach on crowd control and cleanliness. I’m sorry about the miscommunication as well from staff or assumption on what can be brought in to the park. It is true we do not allow outside food in our park as it is conveniently located inside the park, we certainly welcome coffee from our breakfast area as it is part our establishment and not considered outside food. You are definitely correct in the need for upgrade in our fitness room, but until than we have set up an exclusive deal with FitQuest Athletic club located one block behind for our guests to utilize at their leisure during open hours.
Feel free to contact myself and we can speak further at any time, Thomas Vasecka 218-824-3232
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delano, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

My adult daughter and I were in town for a quick visit and this was close to everything and had decent curb appeal. The waterpark made me a little nervous because we needed to get some sleep and I knew there would be lots of kids and possibly be noisy. It turned out to be very quiet. The front desk was friendly and the room was very clean. It would be fun to go back and use the waterpark. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
I'm so happy to read about your experience at our facility. We do our best to keep noise levels to a minimum, but it is easy to do when you have great guests. We look forward to your next visit to the Brainerd Lakes Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel for a business trip. Was pleasantly acknowledged upon my arrival by a very diligent staff. I arrived earlier than regular check-in time just to see if could i could get into my room a little earlier. As I had made my reservation in advance, the staff was very considerate and provided me with a room right away. As I checked-out the hotel I found that they have an exceptional indoor water park, a breakfast bar that would give any restaurant a run for their money and a small snack shop on the premesis which had all the essential snacks and drinks one might need. As this trip was for business, I plan to return on a family vacation at some point. The hotel is easy to access from the main highway, the rooms are quiet and the beds are very comfortable. For a traveling family or just a business trip, this hotel does not disappoint. I highly recommend this hotel for a comfortable nights stay and I will return again. If you stay here, prepare to be met by an upbeat staff who are always wearing a smile.

Room Tip: I have found that booking ahead usually gets you into a better room. I had a second floor room whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, I’m happy to read that your experience is definitely what we shoot for every time. We truly appreciate our staff and I’m happy that the appreciation shows to our guests. Our breakfast is great and it is a great complimentary amenity that brings great value to your stay. We look forward to meeting you again alone or with your family with an upbeat smile. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Minnesota in Feb wasn't my first choice, but I had to stay for work and this property was all that I needed.

I did not have a chance to swim in the pool (and it was crawling with kids as one can expect) but the workout room is adaquate. I did not have a problem of the room being noisy, thankfully I was far away from the pool up a level. The breakfast was great every morning and the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for being a great patron to our facility, I’m happy that your business travel needs were met and you found your room quiet along with relaxing. Our breakfast is a great start for the day and I’m happy that you enjoyed. Next time you in the area make sure to enjoy the free access to the athletic club a block behind the hotel. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great stay, staff was very helpful and friend. Breakfast was very good and the room (324) the "grizzly retreat" was outstanding. The Tap House across the street had great food and friendly staff also. Overall great time for my wife and I.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
I’m very happy to read of your experience. The Grizzly Retreat is truly a treat for our guests. We strive for excellence in all areas of your stay and I’m happy that we met your expectations and thanks for the local tip for eating out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

First of all let me say what is good about this hotel. The staff is nice, the water in the pool is warm, and the breakfast is great. We stayed in the kids cabin suite. There is no way they can call this room a suite. It was the same size if not smaller than a standard room. It was awkward and claustrophobic. The kids room has a curtain in the doorway. It was so narrow that you couldn't walk through without rubbing it. There are poles to shut them. They were just the right length that when the kids went in and out of the room, they would get smacked in the face. I bent down to pick something up in the doorway and I was jabbed in the back when I stood up. Those things do not give at all! The carpet was stained, the drapes had holes in them, kids tv was fuzzy, fridge was not cold enough, and the freezer was iced over. Kids beds didn't have a top sheet, and our bed was uncomfortable. It smelled musty and I didn't want to touch anything. There is not one good thing that I can say about this room. I guess the bathroom was decent, but there wasn't a fan. It was nice that the kids could get movies and games, but like I said the tv didn't work well.

We had our reservation for two nights. We were here because our kids had a long weekend and we wanted to get away to a place with a water park. I started calling around the first night to try and find a different place to go because it was so bad. Unfortunately our only option was Duluth and we didn't want to drive for another 2+ hours. We stayed and made the best of it, but I don't recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your review on your most recent stay, I’m happy to read that you found our services, waterpark, and breakfast good during your stay. We will definitely work on improving on the items that you spoke of in regards to the room, because cleanliness and comfort are definite needs for a great stay. I’m sorry that you did not find that during you stay. Please feel free to contact me directly to come to a resolution as we work on improving our services I believe you can find us to be a great experience overall. Best Regards, Thomas Vasecka 218-824-3232
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Address: 15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter is home to the fun and exciting Three Bear Waterpark. Reserve a Waterpark Package & enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of water fun, including 3 water slides, lazy river, activity pool with water walk, zero depth Spray Deck with 1000 gallon dumping bucket, family hot tub, and adults only hot tub! A visit to the waterpark can really work up an appetite! Stay the day and grab a bite to eat at Three Bear Grill then onto more fun at Grizzly Arcade Room with a ticket/redemption & prize counter. Business travelers will enjoy our great business amenities such as free high-speed Internet with wireless and hardwire access, fitness room, 24 hour business center, complimentary business services such as FAX and print at the front desk, complimentary beverages for all Priority Club members, corporate quiet floor and discounted access to the FitQuest Athletic Club located 2 blocks behind the Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter.We are conveniently located to all attractions the Brainerd Lakes Area as to offer; closest hotel to Brainerd International Raceway, minutes away from Legacy Golf Courses, Paul Bunyan Trail, and Paul Bunyan Land.We are dedicated to satisfying every guest's needs and desires for an extraordinary Brainerd Lakes experience. Business or Pleasure we ll be right for you!We ll see you soon at the Holiday Inn Express in the Brainerd Lakes Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Holiday Inn Baxter
Baxter Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Baxter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.