We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm not sure what hotel these other people visited” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56425   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Santa Rosa Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I'm not sure what hotel these other people visited”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I'm really not sure what to say about this experience. This isn't a hotel. It's a waterpark with rooms attached. And that's fine. But tell people before they visit. There were kids slamming doors until midnight. But it wouldn't have mattered.

The bed had actual ripples in it. No kidding. The pillows were all way past their wear out date. If you've stayed at a Holiday Inn recently, they have soft and firm pillows. Our 2 queen beds had a total of 8 pillows. I found one that was decent. The rest were in pieces. It's like they had been some type of foam, but had been shredded.

Breakfast is decent, but it is an adventure. Apparently the locals come here to let their kids have fun. I'm all for that. But you know, when they are knocking things off strangers tables, maybe it's time to do a bit of parenting.

Finally, when we checked out, the very nice young lady at the front desk told us with a big smile that they were going to be replacing all the mattresses this fall. Well, it's fall and we would have appreciated if someone had changed the mattresses before we got there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for being a great patron of our brand and I’m sorry to hear of your experience. I understand that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. You are correct on all items that you speak of and we apologize that we haven’t had those improvements for you during your stay. We are working towards getting our pillows switched out to the new soft and firm pillows provided by our franchise and we are currently looking at new mattresses for our facility for all our rooms. I welcome your feedback and invite you to contact me directly to better come to a resolution as I would love to invite you back once we have made those improvements to our facility.
Best Regards Thomas Vasecka 218-824-3232
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    56
    13
    7
    9
See reviews for
83
10
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for 4 day's. It was a great experience for us. The breakfast in the morning was great. Omelet, bacon,sausage. Made the bed every day. The only thing I was not pleased with was, they didn't clean the room every day. Vacuum refresh the coffee.But It was clean. There is a big water feature for the kid's but it didn't bother us with noise. Close to the airport. Would stay again..

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor. Was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay, I’m excited to hear that overall the experience was great. I’ll communicate with our housekeeping department in regards to our stay over service. We want to insure that you have everything you need each day of your stay. We can’t wait to see you again next time you are in the Brainerd Lakes Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chanhassen
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were attending an event at BIR and wanted to make it a fun weekend. We were able to get adjoining rooms (usually a big hassle) easily. We got a regular double queen for us and the log cabin bunkbed room for our 2 grandsons (ages 2 and 6) and their folks. The boys loved their room with TV, VCR, DVD and game console. The waterpark is aged a bit, but is very clean and a lot of fun. The front desk people were very good and well trained. Great location. All in all a very nice time and a good place to stay, especially with kids.

Room Tip: If you have young children go for the bunk bed room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your visit to BIR, I’m happy to read about your experience and appreciate your input on your stay. We strive to provide a fun and clean experience for all our guests. We hope to see you again for your next time in the Brainerd Lakes Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I took my grandkids here for 3 days in August, 2013. What a wonderful time!! The entire hotel was clean and inviting. The front counter staff was very friendly. The complimentary breakfast buffet had a huge selection that was constantly attended to by staff - hot foods were hot, cold foods were cold. My grandkids loved the waterpark (of course). There were lifeguards present at each "station" some more attentive than others - I'm sure it was college kids at a summer job and the enthusiasm was minimal. Most kids were in attendance with an adult, as it should be. Close to many "Up North" attractions that allowed us to use this hotel as our home base for a few days. I would go there again!

Room Tip: Just from observation, I wouldn't want to be on the 1st floor in the rooms around the staff and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I'm so happy to read about your experience and what an awesome time you had with your grandkids. We look forward to your future visits and exceeded your expectations every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean, good size rooms and a water park attached. The breakfast is good and hot could use a few more fresh fruit in the offering !!
Overall a nice hotel !!
The location is great and close to the stores and lakes !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your review and we will definitely look into options of adding more fresh fruit to our menu for breakfast. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in a couple times and enjoy it for the waterpark. We have stayed in the kids lodge rooms and enjoyed the bunk beds for the kids but the room was much smaller than it looked online. It is about the same size as a standard room with the second bed walled off. Not much else on the property other than the waterpark so you will need to drive to other area attractions. We use it as a kickoff point for the Paul Bunyan bike trail.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your review and I hope you had a great bike ride on the fantastic Paul Bunyan Trail. Our log cabin kid’s suite is definitely cozy, but next time you are in the area you may want to look into our treetop kid’s suite which is a bit larger or our Two Queen with Sofa which overs optimal space. I wish you safe travels and great bike rides in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, Usa
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I spent two nights here and experienced very good value for the money. The rooms are pretty typical with nice beds and amenities, good sized bathroom, too. while I did not use the water park, it looked wonderful. Kids were having a real ball, especially with the water slides that actually go outside of the building and back in, ending in the pool. The hot breakfast was also a nice surprise with bacon and cheese omelets in addition to the more standard cold cereals and toasted bagels. Everything was very clean in the room and throughout the hotel. The room was quiet and check in and check out were fast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I’m delighted to read that your experience brought you great value at our hotel. Our breakfast is definitely a great amenity among others we offer daily to our guest complimentary. I wish you safe travels in the future and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Address: 15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Baxter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter 2.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter is home to the fun and exciting Three Bear Waterpark. Reserve a Waterpark Package & enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of water fun, including 3 water slides, lazy river, activity pool with water walk, zero depth Spray Deck with 1000 gallon dumping bucket, family hot tub, and adults only hot tub! A visit to the waterpark can really work up an appetite! Stay the day and grab a bite to eat at Three Bear Grill then onto more fun at Grizzly Arcade Room with a ticket/redemption & prize counter. Business travelers will enjoy our great business amenities such as free high-speed Internet with wireless and hardwire access, fitness room, 24 hour business center, complimentary business services such as FAX and print at the front desk, complimentary beverages for all Priority Club members, corporate quiet floor and discounted access to the FitQuest Athletic Club located 2 blocks behind the Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter.We are conveniently located to all attractions the Brainerd Lakes Area as to offer; closest hotel to Brainerd International Raceway, minutes away from Legacy Golf Courses, Paul Bunyan Trail, and Paul Bunyan Land.We are dedicated to satisfying every guest's needs and desires for an extraordinary Brainerd Lakes experience. Business or Pleasure we ll be right for you!We ll see you soon at the Holiday Inn Express in the Brainerd Lakes Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Holiday Inn Baxter
Baxter Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Baxter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.