We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56425   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Baxter
Duluth, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great right from the start. We went there with girls basketball team, coaches, etc. so 30+ people. Rooms reserved and ready for us. Our check in was great. Took a while but very organized. I dont know she was able to keep all that info straight and get everyone in room. Nice job! Very clean and comfortable rooms. Everything we needed. Hotel in general was up to date, nice decore and comfortable. Water park was great for our 24 girls to unwind in. Breakfast was great and stocked th e whole time. I would certainly recommend this hotel. We had a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Tent to have alot of little feet wandering around, since they have a water park. Ask for a room hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your patronage to our facility. We strive to bring the same check in experience whither there is one person or 30 people checking in. I'm very happy to see that we brought you that experience. I will pass on your great comments about our facility to the staff. Again thank you for choosing us for your team stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    48
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
65
7
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family visited Brainerd/Baxter recently and were able to visit the waterpark at the Holiday Inn Express. We were really impressed! It is all indoor and is very well designed to accomodate both small children and adults. My 2 year old and I both had a blast! Will definitely be returning on future visits and will recommend this hotel to stay for anyone I know needing accomodations when visiting the Brainerd Lakes area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I'm very happy to hear of the wonderful time you had at the Three Bear Waterpark. We strive for excellence everytime and look forward to your future stays with us in the Brainerd Lakes Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We spent a night at this property in one of the double bunk family suites. Overall, the hotel is new, clean, and appears to be well-run. Staff was friendly and helpful, and came through with toothbrushes when we forgot ours. We loved the water park, which had plenty of activities for both younger and teenage kids. The included breakfast was very nice and included smoked sausage, cheese omelets, hard boiled eggs,cinnamon rolls, and much more.
The only maintenance/housekeeping issues we noticed were minor, and included: excess dust buildup on the bathroom mirror, a bent-down shower curtain rod, extremely slow tub drain, non-working remote in the kids bunk room, and pillows labeled "firm"and "soft" that were all firm.
Our kids loved the bunk room and had a great time at the water park. We had a great stay at this Holiday Inn Express.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and I'm excited that overall you had a wonderful stay. I'm happy that we could please a frequent traveler like you. I will take the matters with housekeeping and maintenance very serious and to heart. We've been addressing those matters this season with deep cleaning and room cares to our rooms. Once again thank you for staying with us and for your observations to better improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Prairie, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our families first time to this hotel / water park. The parking was convieniant to the rooms.We were greeted and given great directions to all the things we needed to know. The room was large and lovely ~ The ever sceptical 12 year old liked the room, the gameroom, and the waterpark ! As a Mom I didn't like the beer advertizing over the watertube shoots ~ tacky ! Food in the 3 Bears Water Park was good, glad there was something close as you get really hungry running up and down all those stairs ! Breakfast buffet was wonderful ~ even my fussy eater could find something he would eat and he got to pick it himself ! We will be going back .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I'm glad to see that overall you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and waterpark and I appreciate your opinion on the advertising above the waterslides. It is always great to get a different perspective; I will definitely look into making a change on the advertising. I hope to see you soon when you up in the Brainerd Lakes Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

My only complaint was that the bathtub stopper didn't work. But in the hotel's defense, I didn't contact them about it. Although I was only able to stay 1 night because of work, it was great! I always love staying at this place. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and continued patronage to our hotel. We strive for excellence every time and I'll definitely make sure that maintenance runs through and checks our bathroom stoppers; otherwise a shower can turn into a bath very quickly. Enjoy your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was in town on business and stayed at this lovely property. The hotel is in a great location - close to many restauarants and shops. It was very clean, comfortable and inviting.My room was very large. I was travelling by myself and I felt very safe staying in this hotel. The staff was courteous, friendly and professional. My only note is that they seem to need more help at the front desk as every time I came or went from the hotel the front desk clerk was on the phone. As I could overhear their end of the conversation I could hear that they were booking birthday parties. I could understand why as the hotel has a fabulous indoor waterpark. So, in addition to taking care of the guests at the hotel, the front desk staff had to handle future reservations as well. I still give this hotel a 5 star rating as it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your review about your recent visit to our hotel. I'm happy to see that you found your stay enjoyable and convenient to area restaurants. I will take your suggestions to heart and speak to our Front Desk Manager to see how we can better improve our Front Desk by maybe allocating some additional duties elsewhere, because we definitely want to insure that our staff has the time to provide great service to our in house guests. I'm happy to hear that the staff on duty was still able to provide that and we will definitely work on improving that aspect. Have a great day and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Hotel room was nice, spacious bathroom, room was nice....breakfast was busy, not enough help to wipe tables...gameroom was nice....One of the pools that come from the waterslide is shallow, and elbows were scraped up, but friendly staff supplied bandaids and sauve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your room and waterpark experience. And thank you for your observation with your breakfast experience, I will certainly look at that as we strive for cleanliness in all aspects of our property. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter

Address: 15739 Audubon Way, Highway 371 North, Baxter, MN 56425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Minnesota > Baxter
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 hotels in Baxter
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter is home to the fun and exciting Three Bear Waterpark. Reserve a Waterpark Package & enjoy over 30,000 sq. ft. of water fun, including 3 water slides, lazy river, activity pool with water walk, zero depth Spray Deck with 1000 gallon dumping bucket, family hot tub, and adults only hot tub! A visit to the waterpark can really work up an appetite! Stay the day and grab a bite to eat at Three Bear Grill then onto more fun at Grizzly Arcade Room with a ticket/redemption & prize counter. Business travelers will enjoy our great business amenities such as free high-speed Internet with wireless and hardwire access, fitness room, 24 hour business center, complimentary business services such as FAX and print at the front desk, complimentary beverages for all Priority Club members, corporate quiet floor and discounted access to the FitQuest Athletic Club located 2 blocks behind the Holiday Inn Express Brainerd Baxter.We are conveniently located to all attractions the Brainerd Lakes Area as to offer; closest hotel to Brainerd International Raceway, minutes away from Legacy Golf Courses, Paul Bunyan Trail, and Paul Bunyan Land.We are dedicated to satisfying every guest's needs and desires for an extraordinary Brainerd Lakes experience. Business or Pleasure we ll be right for you!We ll see you soon at the Holiday Inn Express in the Brainerd Lakes Area! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Brainerd-Baxter
Holiday Inn Baxter
Baxter Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Baxter

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Brainerd-Baxter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.