We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Northwoods Inn

Northwoods Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barnum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northwoods Inn
Save
You added Northwoods Inn to your Saves list
3716 Main Street, Barnum, MN 55707   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Barnum B&B and Inns
Omaha
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed one night at the Northwoods Inn. The room was old but comfortable, large and clean. It had been recently updated with a nice flat screen tv. The air conditioning was old and very loud and noisy. If you read the owners manual, they scare you with a lot of rules. We couldn't help notice that there is to be no smoking within 25 feet of the hotel (which we think is a good rule) or you will be fined, but we saw one owner standing right outside the front office (only 3-4 feet) door smoking the next morning. There is a coffee maker but no continental breakfast. In order to compete with the nicer motels in the area, they need to either lower their prices or add a breakfast room. The view is OK from the lower level compared to some motels. For better views ask for the top level.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011 via mobile

Loved our stay until we got a call a couple of hours after we checked out saying we had ruined all the towels in our room. The towels were fine when we left and we did not even use each towel. The owner was so upset I offered to pay for the towels. Super bummed because the room was cute clean and close to the bike trails. We had already planned our next stay. Unfortunately after the towel phone call we will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Falls, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Our family stayed in three different rooms in this wonderful inn. We were in town for Barnum's high school graduation and the high school is within walking distance.

Beautiful view of woods and Bear Lake. Rooms were spotless, beds and linens laundry fresh. (I do check mattresses and you needn't be wary of staying here!)

Shane and Penny are friendly, hard-working folks. Whether you come to town for business, or personal reasons, you can count on Northwoods Inn for reasonably priced, comfortable accomodations.

Although WiFi is not available, I travel with my own broadband, so was able to combine a family trip with computer work.

Connie Mace
http://raiseyoureyes.dreamhosters.com/

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have best view of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Our family does an annual motorcyle ride to the Barnum area yearly (sometimes 2x year)to visit family gravesites. We've stayed at the Northwoods Inn for 4 years; first year was before Shane and Penny took over - it was a little run down then. But they have updated the rooms with a 'homey' decor - not the same hotel decor in every room (and new mattresses !). They have the cleanest rooms I've seen (even some big name hotels are questionable), prices are very reasonable; close to good food, gas, and the highway; but still quiet enough for a goods night rest.
It's difficult to satisfy everyone in a group of 12+, but we all agree this is the ONLY place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

My wife and I found this beautiful little Inn while traveling through MN. The Inn keepers, Shane and Penny, are some of the best people you will ever meet. Down to earth and willing to do whatever they can to make your stay enjoyable. If you're planning a trip to this part of MN than you owe it to youself to stop in and stay for a night or two...perhaps longer.
Thanks for taking care of us......

Brian & Renee
Titusville FL

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northwoods Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwoods Inn

Address: 3716 Main Street, Barnum, MN 55707
Location: United States > Minnesota > Barnum
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barnum
Number of rooms: 15

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northwoods Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.