We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unimpressive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar to your Saves list
Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unimpressive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Very disappointing experience. Summary in order of observations:

1) scan luggage through X-ray machine - certainly not required in any UAE hotels! Is Oman more dangerous??

2) wait for staff to stop checking on the phone.

3) no welcome drink or cool towels

4) directions to room poor, get lost. Signage atrocious

5) once out of the lobby area, looks like a 3 star hotel - narrow corridors, low ceilings, smudged commercial elevators, corner guards etc

6) finally find room - long walk! Very disappointing - dated decor. Most importantly, room smells musty and moldy. AC is not on, so it's warm. Yuck!

7) bathroom - again, cheap and dated. Smelly. Sad tiny shower head. Made-in-china toiletries

8) call for service - takes for ever. Have to call again

9) walk around outside - grounds smell strongly of sewage - very unpleasant!

10) check out the dinner buffet - looks really poor quality. Very much 3 star hotel level.

All-in-all, for the price, highly disappointing hotel. Does not come close to stacking up against Middle East nor Asian competition!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear BigDiveNut, Thank you for sharing your feedback in regards to your recent visit and please accept my sincere apologies for the disappointing points you have highlighted in your review. During your stay we were the host hotel for the World Health Organization event in Oman which resulted in the added security as the event was attended my both ministers and members of royal families. This was held from October 27th to October 30th. If we had been advised in advance of the added security we would have certainly advised all guests staying over this period. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly on the additional points raised in your review at mark.kirk@shangri-la.com Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    990
    368
    99
    55
    13
See reviews for
463
655
30
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mnachester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Shangri La. As a family we opted for the al Waha hotel because of the inter connecting family rooms which ws a real bonus. the kids - 11 and 16 were very impressed with their room and now as a family it is much better than being all in the same room and having to get an extrs rollaway bed becasuse righty the kids - one boy one girl do not want to share a bed!!

the hotel was ideal and being able to use facilities across two of the three hotels in the resort was ideal. The pool ares are well kept - we prefered the al bastan as it seemed slightly quieter as most of the families with younger children seemed to use the other pool. The lazy river was huge fun, it never appeared over busy and there was always plently of floats.

We had the half board option and used both buffet restauraunts - Samba and Al Tanoor. We thought the food was very good quality and the service excellent. we also tried the tapas which was a change. would have tried a few of the otherrs but didn§t realise that men had to wear long trousers and neithr my husband or 16 year old son packed any, think the hotel should reconsdier if this rule is really necessary especailly since the tempreture even in October hits 35 c.

Beach area is very nice and there is fantastic snorkelling right on the beach. we saw many different kinds of fish in literally 3 foot of water. Fantastic if you are a novice snorkler.

We also enjoyed the beach sports and the watersports guys were great fun and really friendly.

all the satff we came across were super. our bags didn,t arrive with us and the hotel provided us all with a lost luggage emergency bag which ws a really nice touch - it had toiletries, pyjamas, t shirts etc and was a god send. luckily luggage turned up by day 3!!

I would recommend the hotel. The prices for lunch and drinks are not cheap so be prepared to have a fair bill at the end but all in all for a relaxing holiday in dramatic surroundings ( sea and mountains) i would recommend it.

The kids really enjoyed it and there is lots to do. Muscat is only 10 mins away by taxi so it is also easy to explore the old souks etc.We didn§t make it to the grand mosque or the museums so think we may have to return next year!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear PaulineMancheste…, Thank you for your complimentary review posted on TripAdvisor in regards to your visit to Al Waha hotel. I am delighted to read that the family room suited your family perfectly. I would also like to thank you for your suggestion of reviewing the dress code for the a la carte restaurants which we will certainly consider in the future. I am happy to read that you are planning to return next year. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Al Bandar hotel in one of their Premier Rooms. The resort as a whole is very good and the beach, the restaurants, the pools as well as the facilities are top notch. It was worth asking for a Premier room as they are considerable bigger - we had our 13 years old daughter with us and we didn't want to be on top of each other in a small room. We used the hotel concierge for booking a hire car and a dolphins trip and they were very helpful.

For someone like me who likes to explore and gets bored after 5 minutes in the same place I would recommend to hire a car there and use it for daily trips, there is A LOT to see beyond the resort, or if worried about driving in a foreign country to get daily trips organised by concierge. The resort is big and there are lots of things to do but it feels a little isolated from the real Oman. I would suggest to take advantage of the shuttle bus in the late afternoon and have dinner in Muscat sometimes - the taxi back is only OMN 5 and it is refreshing to eat some local food at local prices.

The service was overall 5 stars as advertisedat least in the Al Bandar, with a couple of hiccups (when we arrived there weren't enough towels for the three of us in the room and even though we asked the previous night for our luggage to be collected on departure at 4:45 am from our room at 5:15 we were still waiting)

The staff was polite and helpful. I would go back and I found it good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view. Disable the bell outside the room in the evenings as there are kids wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear EDMT75, Thank you for taking your time to review Al Bandar on TripAdvisor and sharing your recommendations to the other readers. While the resort has a large variety of excursions we can recommend it is a great suggestion to hire a car as there is so much to see and it’s a great way to get around. Car hire is relatively easy from either the airport or the resort. Like other readers thank you for recommending the dolphin watching which I believe is a must see for all visitors. Warm regards, Mark Kirk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just couldn't be happier with our stay - we had a rather exhausting flight from Europe with a 15 month year old baby and myself being 7,5 months pregnant. Upon arrival to the resort, seeing the great view out to the pool and the beautiful bay, we realized that the efforts we had made were going to be rewarded. Luggage was taken immediately from our car to the room. Cool drink served when checking in, and from here an onwards it was just smiles and excellent service from the staff all during our stay. In our situation with a small child and myself a bit less useful than normal, this was the perfect place to be. Everything is taken care of by wonderful staff who I suspect like their jobs a lot. It felt like the staff had a hearty and sweet atmosphere also amongst themselves, something that shines through in their service to the guests. It seems obvious to me that the Shangri-La chain has good procedures and good training of the people working for the chain. There was none of the staff who missed out to say hello, good morning, good evening every time you passed by. Or with some, like the pool-guy with the towels and the complimentary cool water bottles, who we saw all through the day - always a warm smile. It was very hot the days we were at the resort, and the Cool Zone for kids, was just a perfect place to be for our little daughter during the hottest hours. Since I had to stay with her, she being too young to stay alone, I also got to see older kids through different activities with a very sweet staff taking the best care of all. And I wasn't too surprised when overhearing some 7-8 year olds discussing that they hoped their parents would forget to pick them up as they had such a great time in there. Even though expensive, I strongly recommend the treatments at the Chi Spa. If going with kids, I would also recommend some hours of babysitting service to be able to enjoy the couple's treatments as the facilities for these were just great. We didn't do that, but on one of my single treatments, I was in one of these villas, and with better planning, no doubt we should have done that. The best dinner we had (note that we didn't try any of the Al Husn which are supposed to be great), was at Bait Al Bahr. The heat made it impossible for us to sit on the balcony, a shame since the view is spectacular from there, but even inside gave us the feeling of being just on the beach. All in all this was a great first time experience going to Oman.

Room Tip: We stayed at 3429 with excellent view over the bay and the area. Unfortunately it was too hot for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Maggie_lux, It was great reading your review on TripAdvisor especially for your description of the staff and the warmth of services they provided to you and your family. All TripAdvisor posts are displayed on various staff notice boards throughout resort and I can assure you comments like yours are truly appreciated and go a long way to motivate the team. You other recommendations will certainly assist other guests in getting the most out of the resort. On your comment in regards to the weather it has been a hotter October than usual. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have stayed twice at the Shangri La and it's one of the most beautiful places I have stayed - the rooms are beautiful and the scenery is breathtaking. Great for families with a lazy river and large pool. Splashpad is wonderful also for little kids. Food prices are expensive, but to be expected at a top-notch hotel. Breakfast is wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Nikkpit, Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor, I am happy to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for highlighting the lazy amongst the facilities that you enjoyed. Warm regards, Mark Kirk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed in the hotel during February 13 for a business meet. The rooms are excellent with all facilities. The views from outside the hotel are breathtaking and the private beach is beautiful. The staff is generally helpful. Breakfast provided had a very good spread.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are better as they have direct access to pool areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear TravelBugSharjah, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the fans of TripAdvisor in regards to your stay with us back in February this year. It is great to hear that still have great memories of the views, breakfast and most importantly the staff who made your stay special. Hopefully you will be visiting us again soon. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wonderful place but bad ratio quality vs price for service and food/beverage compared to similar sevices in Oman. Children from 12 considered as adults, 2 rooms to book in that case. Good equipments for little children

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear MLLFM, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us in regards to your recent visit. I do empathize with you being a father as well that when children reach the age of 12 they start to be considered as adults and become expensive. Our children’s policy is that all children under 12 (11 or younger) eat and stay free when sharing the parents room and dining together at the buffets. I hope that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar

Address: Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar 5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Bandar
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri La Muscat
Shangri La Oman
Shangri La Hotel Oman
Shangri La Hotel Muscat
Shangri Las Al Bandar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.