We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably best hotel I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar

Save Saved
You added Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably best hotel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We were here for 3 nights & it wasn't long enough. Hotel is fairly expensive to stay here but you get what you pay for.
Rooms were luxurious pool area was fabulous with complimentary water served in a cool box. Staff were amazing so friendly and helpful.
Food & drink was expensive as expected: bottle of corona was 2.5 omr, cocktails 3.5 omr, wine 5 omr per glass.
We ate at Fairouz Lebanese restaurant which was very good 15 omr for starter and main course. Al Tanoor buffet also very good & fairly good value at 18.5 omr.
Location was out of town 15 omr from airport in taxi but hotel has a very good free shuttle to the souk which operates twice a day.
Very good hotel enjoyed our stay very much (and weather was amazing)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,348 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    857
    339
    89
    51
    12
See reviews for
382
579
27
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum, Sudan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is arguably one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at! The location of the hotel and scenery was just amazing and so beautiful. The hotel area was big enough to be able to walk around and even go for a job. The beach was really great, very nice gym, and the pool area amazing.The rooms were nice and spacious. We had a nice balcony with wonderful sea view. I also loved the bathroom, which was nice and spacious (but what's up with bathroom and sliding doors???)

We were also happy about the nice selection of restaurants, nothing overwhelming but everything was good and reasonably priced. The Piano Bar was really nice, with a really great and serious bartender making nice and innovative cocktails - highly appreciated. The breakfast was pretty amazing too. One thing that made the stay extra nice was the great service. Everyone was so nice, friendly and helpful. One thing that made the stay extra nice was the great service. Everyone was so nice, friendly and helpful. On the way to the airport we forgot a phone in the taxi and then called the hotel who helped us get it back right away! Amazing.

The hotel is divided in three different hotels. We stayed at the Al-Bandar which is located in the middle. I would recommend this to anyone who doesn't have children, al-Waha seemed more like the family hotel. We didn't see the al-Husn from inside but it looked pretty amazing too from the outside.

The only minus was the check-in experience was not very good, a bit impersonal and we didn't even find our room first. It was also a bit annoying that one of the days there was some kind of event on the lawn in front of our room with a group of 50 people playing loud games...

We also highly recommend the diving center - we went for a dolphin watching trip which was amazing! Staff were super friendly and it seemed like a very serious place!

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view and as high up as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I went here for a long weekend. The hotel grounds are beautiful and spread out all along the water; the location is spectacular. We ate at various restaurants and all were excellent especially their new Asian restaurant. The hotel staff were very kind and helpful. The lazy river is a perfect way to relax.

I do think that the rooms could be spruced up a little. It looked a bit worn and torn, but the bathroom was impressively clean and spacious.

When we were there the hotel was full but it never felt crowded there was always space around the pool, on the beach and in the restaurants. Overall a great place for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Al Manamah, Bahrain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Living in Bahrain, we wanted a short break away as a family (we have a 2 year old daughter). After hearing good things about this resort from friends and positive feedback from trip advisor.com along with other similar sites we decide to book up at the Al Waha hotel.

Staff all very friendly and helpful. We booked the deluxe room which was ok, the balcony gave us the option to sit out when our daughter was asleep.

We were not blown away by the restaurants at Al Waha but enjoyed the food at the al Bandar hotel. This is only 5 minutes walk and if we came again we would stay at this particular hotel.

The kids facilities are very good with kids pools, water activities and soft play - which keeps them entertained.

This resort is very good for a short break but personally could not say longer than a week as you are quite a way outside of Muscat. Although there is a free shuttle bus to the souq and grand mosque from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I came here for a sales conference, and it was amazing~! The location and scenery really made it. In terms of 5 star accommodation, I have probably been in better in Thailand or even Dubai, but it was still a faultless stay.
The service was good, the rooms nice and clean. Food was amazing. The only thing I would say is that this resort is really suited to people who don't want to leave the hotel and experience anything outside of it. Perfect for people who want to just lie on the beach and unwind.
The breakfast was the highlight of the whole trip for me, the variety and tropical fruits were amazing!

Room Tip: There is a shuttle bus to Muscat, but leaves only 3 times a day, catching a taxi for 8 Riyals is eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels I have ever visited! Truly a day in paradise- unfortunate it was only one day... But then again, we know where to stay whenever in Oman again. Excellent service, quite, clean and also nice food and drinks.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

3 weeks of sunshine in February? How can you beat that, UK in Feb is nothing less than foul & horrid weather wise, So a break in a luxurious hotel was just right. Every aspect of this hotel is exceptional. I must admit you have to like youngsters as this is not an all adult hotel, having said that, parents were very responsible and didn't let them behave noisily (if they could help it)! Must say that it is quite expensive. It is not an all inclusive. Very relaxing, good beach, classy rooms, good food etc etc.......

Room Tip: all rooms sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar

Address: Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Bandar
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri La Muscat
Shangri La Oman
Shangri La Hotel Oman
Shangri La Hotel Muscat
Shangri Las Al Bandar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Bandar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.