We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn to your Saves list
Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   | PO Box 644 (Muscat), Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off CHI, The Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“SPECTACULAR!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

A sponteneous trip to Muscat, Sultanate of Oman. After and early flight from Dubai, the hotel driver met me in a shiny Audi A8 with bottled water at the ready. We sped off, only to stop for an occasional photo. Pulling into the hotel grounds, I was informed that I had been upgraded to the 6-star Al Husn 'Castle.' Here, you must be 18+ so quiet was a real treat, compared to the beach and pools at the more family friendly Al Wasl and Al Bandar (though both are also beautiful!).

The room was easily the most perfectly detailed and appointed Deluxe room I have stayed in to date...fresh roses, a free stocked mini-bar, sandals, bathrobes, safe, plenty of bottled water, plug adapters, wonderful french soaps and amenities at sink and also in the marbled rain shower. The bedroom wall panel slides so no problem watching a rugby match in a soaking tub with a frosty beer! The breakfast was included and was with buffet or a la carte. The inifinity edge pool had great views to the Indian Ocean, and no screaming, heaven!

The beach area is totally integrated with the many, many, many pools, kids pools and a pleasant lazy river.

The food everywhere was excellent and frankly served by THE friendliest, most helpful, most smiling and pleasant staff I have EVER run across! Al Tanoon buffet was amazing, Bait al Barr on the beach had a nice exterior deck overlooking the crashing waves.

Travelling alone can be tough, seeing people toghether with friends so the friendly drivers, Piano Bar-man (Ravi), the entire Al Husn staff, BJ who showed me to my room, the lobby gent that offered a tour on a golf cart to the marina, dive center and to the other hotels, helped me feel connected. The Omani and diverse foreign staff never strained to be the most pleasant hotel staff I have ever run across.

I felt pampered in everyway, and despite only spending two days and one night, I felt by the end of the first day, like I had been there 2-3, totally relaxed and at ease. Al Wasl=family groups, Al Bandar= couples, older kids, Al Husn=18+ 6-star, quiet, refined luxury!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    183
    56
    9
    10
See reviews for
115
686
29
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Had a 4 night stay here - was upgraded to a sea view deluxe room on arrival (excellent start). The hotel was immaculate, service exceptional and there was nothing we could have possibly been left wanting for!

Breakfast was fantastic, with a choice from a hot menu. It ran until 11am so most days we had brunch after relaxing by the pool for a couple of hours in the morning. The best medium rare beef medallion I have ever tasted!

Sharazad Moroccan restaurant is worth a visit - we ate there twice and the lamb was cooked to perfection on both occasions.

Complimentary afternoon tea and pre dinner drinks were a pure bonus!

Would love to be back, a very memorable stay - without a doubt worth every one of it's 6 stars.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I strongly recommend this hotel in all aspects for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday. The hotel is one of the best I have stayed at and probably the best value relative to standard of service and hotel!

The nice thing with staying at the Al Husn compared to the other two Shangri La Hotels is the privacy and calm environment.

We stayed a week and really enjoyed it. There was also some nice touches which was not announced such as complimentary pre dinner drink and afternoon tea. I would also like to add that the breakfast was magnificent.

Finally the staff was great all week!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

We will be back for longer next year. Everything about the hotel just perfect. Shahrazad was excellent too - thanks Mohamed Ettaib and wife!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

This will be my 5th visit to this hotel, each and every visit I honestly cannot fault them in anyway. The small touches really make this hotel so incredible - fresh fruit in your room everyday, sorbets on the beach, cooler boxes with drinks and Evian spray.

Combined with attentive staff and spectacular surroundings, a stay at this hotel is guaranteed to be an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Stayed there for a week, the hotel is far from everything but benefits from stunning landscape and views. Design of Al-Husn is very delicate and gives the impression of a quiet secluded hotel, private infinity pool is gorgeous, private beach is fine as well. Service is very friendly but a bit too "dubai-style"..a good service is not when a waiter comes 20 times at your tabel during breakfast to replenish all the glasses everytime you drink a bit...
Meeting rooms are great and their event organisers are very professional and reliable. Food was a disappointemnt for an hotel of this category. It is plain not great.
Staff was awesome and very welcoming!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
My house
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Had a business lunch in what must be one of the most expensive restaurants in Muscat - with a 47 Rial (~120US ) entree it has to be close. Restaurant was empty except for about 10 diners however the service while attentive was slow. Surf and turf consisted of what seemed to be a skinless, finely macerated 'industrial' chicken sausage and a large shrimp. the 'Omani delight' desert did have nice dates but the rosewater sorbet was way too sweet for me and the almond mouse was rather resilient. Probably won't go back as the quality I'd expect simply isn't evident.

Incidental observation - After lunch went to the tea lounge upstairs and was surprised to see a mature couple having tea wearing a pool robe (the woman) & a singlet, shorts and slippers (the bloke). While I'm not a believer in the fervent application of dress code, the 'slob' look was definitely out of place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn

Address: | PO Box 644 (Muscat), Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Husn
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri Las Al Husn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.