We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn to your Saves list
Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   | PO Box 644 (Muscat), Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off CHI, The Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Geneve
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We came back to the Al-Husn after 4 years.
We had such a wonderful and relaxing 8 days! The hotel was full the first days because of the Eid vacation but the hotel emptied just after.
We had a sea view room (1235). I think this is very important to book a sea view as it really makes the difference, especially if the moon is full. 
Breakfast is very nice with a wide choice and a beautiful see view (until 11am).
At dinner we used to have a light meal at “Tapas” with mezze and shisha, or, if we were very hungry we used to go to “Al Tanoor” with an amazing indoor and outdoor buffet, with Middle Eastern and Indian food, but also sushis and a wide choice of deserts. We haven’t tried the other restaurants this time.
The Al Husn private beach is still fantastic and the water very warm, about 28-29 I guess (no kids allowed, therefore it’s very calm). If the weather is windy, you might find some jelly fish but they are not dangerous (the purple/blue colour). The beach beds are very comfortable and you also receive you own little fridge with free sodas and water. In the middle of the afternoon the sorbet is being served and each day is a different flavour. You also get fresh humid towels. You can use the canoe kayaks that are available on the beach for free.
Every evening we used to swim in the swimming pool as it was completely empty from 6PM (the night falls early at this period of the year) and then we used to have a hot Jacuzzi, which is part of the swimming pool.
Again, Reception was behind the rest of the other departments in term of service… We mentioned it to the Head of Reception’s deputy and she was sorry to hear our bad experiences (issue regarding an excursion organisation, our Gold Circle membership, a bill mistake regarding the breakfast being charged, late check-out was not granted despite the hotel was empty, etc…). She kindly tried to rectify it but it was too late as we were checking out… However we appreciated it (she offered us a nice book on Oman).
Apparently the employees get a bonus of OMR 12 once they receive a third good comments, so don’t hesitate to fill in the form that are available in any spots.
A special thanks to the Al Husn beach boys that are working hard under the heat and are always smiling and helpful as well as Saeed at the swimming pool !
This hotel is probably the best in Muscat, so don’t hesitate to book it now, you won’t be disappointed.
It was my third trip to Oman and I can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: higher floors, sea view - room 1235
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear ValGeneva, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor in regards to your visit to Al Husn. I am delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay and that you will return and recommend the resort. I am sorry to hear about the problems you experienced with the reception team but happy to hear that they did try to resolve this. Thank you for your description of the services and facilities which I am sure will be useful to future guests. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    791
    183
    56
    9
    10
See reviews for
115
688
29
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at the Al Husn Hotel of the resort for business. The quality of the property was fantastic, as you would expect from any Shangri-la hotel. I had a room with the sea-view and the view was indeed amazing. The buffet spread for breakfast was not large but the quality and service was good. My only complaint is the WIFI connectivity in the room. My laptop could connect OK, but my phone could not. According to the IT department, this is because the range of the WIFI signal for mobile devices was "limited." So, for my phone to use WIFI in the room, I had to be literally by the door. Although you are allowed to connect more than one device in your room, clearly this is of no use if you have to sit by door to do so. In addition, you cannot Facetime or have Skype video calls using WIFI. For OMR250 per night, the WIFI should be of better quality.

Room Tip: Take the sea view room. Its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear SgSojourner, Thank you for taking the time to review the resort on TripAdvisor. While I am delighted you enjoyed your stay please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced with the WIFI. I would like to point out to all readers of TripAdvisor that Facetime and Skype is blocked in Oman so you will not be able to use these services during your stay. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a lovely holiday staying at the Al Husn hotel within the resort. Well decorated and comfortable large room with a great view overlooking the ocean and the rest of the complex. The facilities are great and the restaurants varied and of a very high standard. The service really stood out as being genuinely friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear SallyD73, Thank you for your complimentary review posted on TripAdvisor in regards to your recent visit to Al Husn. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the standard of the restaurants to be high. Most importantly thank you for highlighting the service and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The service is too good. The staffs are very helpful, warm & taking care of everything is just a phone call away.
The sea view deluxe rooms are quite large with a magnificent sea facing balcony. The view is excellent from 4th floor. The bathroom has 3 sections - open tub+sink, shower room & loo. There is a mid-sized storage-cum-wardrobe section as well.
The same location has 3 hotels - Al Waha, Al Bandar & Al Husn - all are Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah. Al Husn, being the best, is totally separate from the other two, very quite, peaceful & free from all public disturbances. The site is completely separate from Muscat city, guarded by hills. So for travelling, someone needs to drive or hire a car/taxi from hotel.
The hotel is itself wonderful place to stay & relax. Guests may take tours from the hotel if they want to. The hotel conducts various tours to the guest's needs.

Room Tip: Sea View Deluxe Rooms with magnificent sea facing balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Anindya_C000, Thank you for your TripAdvisor post in regards to your recent stay. As you mention the resort is a good 15 minutes away from old Muscat town where the port and the famous souk is located. Being nestled amongst the mountains with the private beach really does provide us a unique location. Like other guest thank you for highlighting the staff and I assure you that your feedback means a lot to them. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been travelling around India / the Middle East / Far East for the past 8 weeks changing hotels and destinations approximately every 3 days. The hotels stayed in are generally regarded to be amongst the finest (Burj Al Arab, Al Maha, The Lake Palace, Raffles etc) We decided to travel to Oman at the last minute as we had a gap of a few days with no defined plan.
My wife had done some research and insisted that we travel to Oman; a decision was made to drive there and then to fly back via Oman Air to Dubai.
Our choice of the Al Husn was based solely on internet research. During our stay we discussed our trip and concluded that the generosity of the Omani people coupled with the setting and professionalism of the staff at the Al Husn placed our Oman experience at the top of our list.
In Oman, we booked 3 tours; coastal by boat, Nizwa and the city tour. enjoyed each one immensely as the country is serene and incredibly beautiful. The land based tours here hosted by Rashid our guide and driver. He was genuine, friendly, caring and was a true reflection of the hospitality and generosity of the wonderful people of Oman. Thank you Rashid for making our our stay in your country a memorable one.
Jonathan and Marnie Palmer
St. Vincent and the Grenadines

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jonathan P, Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. I am certainly envious to hear that you have been traveling for the past 8 weeks and delighted that you rank the resort so highly amongst the other great hotels and resorts you have been staying at. As you have mentioned the Omani people so generously share their culture with both tourists and expatriate residents that it truly makes a perfect Arabian experience which is certainly unique among the other Middle East countries. Hopefully you will return to the resort in the future. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 9 days last week. We can only say it was truly fantastic. We have been in so many luxury hotels worldwide, and the Al Husn is right up there with the best. We measure everything against The Oriental Bangkok ( in our opinion still the world's best).
Won't go into details about facilities and rooms, what the difference makes is service ! The staff were really on the ball, all the little things were not forgotten. They remember your breakfast wishes, know exactly how you want your tea and which juices you prefer. This results in a relaxing start to the day. We hate running up and down to buffets, although the choice was great.
Beach boys were great, small ice box at your sunbed constantly replaced with cool drinks, the private beach is small but there was always plenty of shady space.
Our room attendant knew exactly which soft drinks we wanted after a day, and our ice bucket was replaced before our evening drinks time. All soft drinks and beer are included in the minibar. Dinner was mostly on the Al Husn terrace, we just found it so relaxing and, since all 3 hotels were full we really appreciated the quietness of the Al Husn. It's sort of like staying in a residence rather than a hotel.I cant remember the names of the restaurant manger and assistant but both were very helpful.
We actually thought the hotel was kids free, this is not strictly true, there were a few children but they are not permitted to use the facilities or pools. We hope the management doesn't let this slip ! We have so many friends who were asking us if it was true. I think there is quite a market for this, but it must be maintained, otherwise a lot of guests can be upset quickly
In the evening there is a complimentary cocktail hour, very nice, but a bit strangely lit, and most people sit around the edge of the courtyard like they are at school !
We mentioned this to the management and I am sure they will come up with some great ideas
Would have longed to stay longer, and look forward to another visit.
Must also mention that it was extremely quiet in the rooms, seems to be well built. Corridors also quiet, since the staff worked quietly and didn't have cleaning carts standing around

Room Tip: Perhaps higher floor have more view, 3rd or 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear garnik, Thank you for your detailed feedback on your recent visit and highlighting the little service touches that made your stay enjoyable and memorable. Your feedback will certainly be used as an example of great service by our training department to inspire the staff to continue to delight other guests. Thank you for the feedback on the cocktail hour seating and lighting arrangement which we will certainly look at to improve. I am delighted you enjoyed your overall stay. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We booked a room at Al Husn for a weekend. The hotel was just as described, a place for couples. There were all sorts of guests, like groups and so on but it makes more sense for couples.
The facilities are lovely. They have an amazing soft sand private beach. We also visited the pools of both Al Bandar and Al Waha. They are also nice but in a different way as they are more of a family with kids place.

The private beach was also marked with places where turtle laid their eggs. They labled them with the expected dates of hatching. It it only 100m or so long and in between mountains. The view was breathtaking. I must say it gets a bit too hot during the day in summer.

We had dinner at the Italian, Capri Court which had a nice setup and evironment but the food was avarage. On the other hand, in better

The breakfast selection was one of the biggest to be found at hotels. The only thing is we happened to not really like its taste.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking for an escape in luxury.

Room Tip: I don't you can go wrong with their layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markskirk, General Manager at Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear Ahmed A, Thank you for sharing your feedback with the readers of TripAdvisor in regards to your recent visit, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your description of the private beach of Al Husn and turtle nests that were still waiting to hatch. All the turtles have successfully hatch now and the temperature dropped to around 30 Celsius so if you found it hot in July you would really enjoy the current weather. Warm regards, Mark Kirk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn

Address: | PO Box 644 (Muscat), Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotel.de and Despegar.com so you can book your Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Husn
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri Las Al Husn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.