We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great staff, food, ambience, value for money and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn to your Saves list
Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   | PO Box 644 (Muscat), Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off CHI, The Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great staff, food, ambience, value for money and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at the Al Husn, I would absolutely recommend it and would definitely return.
The price you pay, with respect to the service / atmosphere / ambience / food, the hotel is great value for money.
We stayed in a sea view room, which was lovely and plenty big enough for us. The bathroom and amenities are lovely.
The mini bar is complimentary as is the cool box by the pool (contains soft drinks, water and Evian face spray), which is a lovely touch, as is the afternoon which was delicious every day (served approx 4pm). The food was good at all the restaurants we ate at, and the service was impeccable.
I would highly recommend and look forward to returning for another relaxing stay!
FYI - A cab from the airport to the hotel should cost no more that 20 OMR, a cab from hotel to the airport is 15 OMR.

Room Tip: Sea View is not much more cost wise, but the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    183
    56
    9
    10
See reviews for
115
686
29
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Shangri-La Al Husn hotel provided one of the best weekend getaway's I've experienced while living in the Gulf. The staff are fantastic, the hotels location couldn't be better and the views from our room were out of this world.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartley Wintney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at Al Husn 2 weeks ago (12th - 20th May) and had a super weeks holiday. Admittedly it was 47 degrees at 10.30am and 35 at 11pm so ridiculously hot - but that's normal for this time of year!!!! .
The service by the pool was faultless with iced boxes full of water, fruit juice and evian spray (!!!) being refilled constantly. The men are great and ever so helpdful. It was only 38% occupancy so there weren't many people by the pool which meant it was lovely and quiet and no shortage of beds.
All the restaurants that we tried were excellent. We especially loved the Morrocan and also had a super buffet on Seafood night when it was £34 per head and you could eat lobster like it was going out of fashion! Be careful at Bait Al Bahr as my husband ordered the hammour on the 'market price selection' and whilst it was delicious it cost over £56!!! Also do order their local water in the restaurants as that is £3.50 per bottle, if not they automatically serve you super bottled water (in BAB it was from New Zealand and cost £10 per bottle!!!) I however had the seafood mixed grill and it was delicious and reasonably priced.
The service was excellent and the drinks between 6 and 7 is a super idea and a great way to start the evening.
We visited the Grand Mosque and Souk whilst we there and they really are a must - what a wonderful experience. Also we had dinner at the Al Bustan Palace and this was also excellent and worth a visit. The Premiership final was being played at the Hyatt and with a huge Man City fan of a husband (they were playing the game in the Sports Bar) we had to go but we also had a fantastic Thai meal in their gardens that I would also recommend.
We would recommend this hotel if you would like to loaf around the pool, relax with good service and food.
Enjoy it

Room Tip: We requested a seaview room facxing the sea and the complex and it was perfect! We had a deluxe seav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed at. 6 nights in a delux room with sea views. The room is very well appointed (old style tv apart, but its hidden in a cabinet) with comfy beds, sitting area, desk, large terrace with table chairs, huge bathroom and walk in wardrobe area. Mini bar is free including three types of water, two types of beer, fruit juices, soft drinks, chocolates, biscuits, pringles, nuts. Loads. Spirtis in the adjacent cabinet are paid for if you want them.

Bathroom is stuffed full of Loccitaine products, wonderful shower and fresh orchids and roses in vases.

Hotel itself is very opulent, large areas of plush carpet, marble, fountains, and wonderful views aross the Gulf of Oman and the resort.

Breakfast is hugely opulent and delicious, includes A la carte menu if you would prefer. The service at breakfast is very good. Coffee/ tea is brought over along with juice, smoothie of the day and a fruit booster.

Al husn guests are entitled to free afternoon tea, includes the usual sandwhich, deserts, fruit, scones, chocolate fountain! the type of food on offer changes daily. later in the evening is free drinks on the lobby terrace, wine, spirits, beer, soft drinks, sprakling wine/ prosecco are all free.

Pool is an infinity type, very nice with projecting slab for sunbathing. Private beach is lovely, and protected for swimming by the surrounding bay. Very spectacular scenery. A cool box is provided with watger, evian face spray and fruit juices. Cold towels are brought around and even sunglasses are cleaned for you!

The whole hotel has an exclusive, private feeling with wonderful staff. The whole resort (including the other hotels) is lovely, but Al Husn is really a cut above.

I can find no fault with this hotel whatsoever. Perfect.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oman
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I loved this place so much that we decided to go back again which is unusual for us as we prefer to try new places.

We stayed at Al Bandar during the Christmas season about two years ago and there were children everywhere. It certainly wasn't romantic sharing a jacuzzi with a 5 year old who kept turning the heat down. So, this time we decided to splurge and stay at Al Husn. Everything really was fantastic and best of all no children.

We stayed there for my 30th birthday and they left a lovely birthday cake in my room with a card, we also got a free desert at the Italian restuarant. We especially enjoyed the afternoon tea and snacks. We were so full from breakfast that we skipped lunch, had the afternoon tea and then dinner later... You should budget at least OMR30 for a dinner for two people without alcohol... If you have the complimentary pre-dinner drinks which include red and white wine, sparkling wine and rum, vodka, gin and some mixers I doubt you would need to spend too much more on alcohol. If you really want to splurge you can get a Wagyu beef steak and similar items. There are also meals that you can order that cost OMR200 which include Caviar (Beluga or Sevruga) and champagne etc.

The Tapas cafe is also a shisha cafe and has good shisha but be warned that is OMR6 for one pipe. It is the most expensive shisha I have ever had but when it got very ashy they just brought me a brand new shisha with a new pipe. The service was not good in general as you had to call them over everytime the coal ran out...

I agree with the previous poster. I understand that this is a middle eastern hotel so most of the restaurant options reflect that but I felt that it would be good if the hotel had an Asian resturant. I think a Thai restaurant would be perfect.

The Shangri-La website offers dining credit packages at a lower price so I suggest you add on dining credit to your booking as it was really worthwhile for us.

As you have heard in previous posts the Al Husn guests have their own private beach and pool. I am glad we got to experience these areas this time but my husband and I prefer the pools at Al Bandar. We were suprised to see that there weren't that many children around and if we booked again during a quieter period we decided we would probably just book at Al Waha or Al Bandar. We don't really drink and don't need that much food so paying an extra $100 per night for an exclusive area when it is the quiet season doesn't seem necessary. If it is peak season I highly recommend that you avoid Al Waha and Al Bandar and stay at Al Husn.

Oh and as a side note there is some construction going on at the beach side but it is almost finished and wasn't noisy at all. Nothing to worry about in that regard!

Room Tip: Everyone suggests getting a room that faces Al Bandar and Al Waha but the pool facing rooms are just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here in May 2010 for a long weekend without kids, and chose Al Husn for its kids free atmosphere and exclusivity. We weren't disappointed and spend a weekend of relaxation, privacy and luxury. We walked around the large Shangri-La complex which includes Al Bandar and the very kid-friendly Al Waha, if only to reassure ourselves we had made the right choice!

Our room was spacious, very comfortable and overlooking the beach, with a smallish balcony. There were many restaurants to choose from and we loved the seafood restaurant in Al Bandar. There was also a nice open air sheesha lounge, where we spend a lovely evening. The private beach for Al Husn was very good, since the common one tended to get quite busy - although was a better beach overall, with complimentary non-motorised watersports.

A great weekend and highly recommended for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Greece
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The resort includes three hotels. they have good facilities and many options for activities. Just the weather was too hot and swimming at the sea was not a good idea since water was very warm and not very clean at that tinme. Swimming pool was a much better option. Breakfast was excellent and we had free wi-fi every where in the resort. Prices was rather high if you want to buy something extra or use restaurants and bars. They do serve alcohol. The bad thing is that distance from Muscat region is between 20 to 35 minutes driving (depenting on your destination), however there is suttle bus twice a day. A different place in the middle of no where for relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn

Address: | PO Box 644 (Muscat), Barr Al Jissah 113, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Barr Al Jissah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Barr Al Jissah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn Hotel Muscat Governorate
Shangri La`s Barr Al Jissah Resort And Spa-Al Husn
Shangri Las Muscat
Shangri Las Al Husn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri La's Barr Al Jissah Resort & Spa-Al Husn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.