We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure house” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen's Residence B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ypsilanti
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Queen's Residence B&B
Save
You added The Queen's Residence B&B to your Saves list
220 S. Huron St., Ypsilanti, MI 48197   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Ypsilanti B&B and Inns
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A treasure house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

An exquisitely decorated B&B and a beautiful old home. In Ypsilanti on business, so unable to enjoy the full meal, but Marla went out of her way to leave us breakfast items that were fresh and delicious. Joe and she made local restaurant recommendations and really made a routine business trip delightful. I would definitely return if in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We are trying to attract more business travelers so I am hoping your glowing review will give other folks away from home on business an incentive to stay somewhere other than the usual cookie cutter hotels. When you come back you will hopefully be able to have one of our full three course breakfasts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    1
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
16
30
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Louis MO
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our stay was wonderful. The home is immaculate, the furniture and all appointments period, the breakfast delicious. We only regretted that we didn't have time to tour the 18th century tavern located in the basement - next time!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much! We try very hard to keep standards high so that our guests have the best possible experience. We appreciate the recognition for our efforts!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitetop, Virginia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Sometimes you hate to write a glowing review because you know that you'll have a hard time booking your next trip! However, The Queen's Residence deserves nothing but exceptional praise. The Inn is a late 1800's, impeccably restored jewel. Marla spared no expense and gave up lots of time up-fitting for modern creature comforts and yet not disturbing the elegance that this Grand Dame possesses. The home is beautifully decorated and the elegant rooms are well appointed with beautiful baths, and many, many amenities. We LOVED Marla and Joe - wonderful Innkeepers who understand that inn-keeping is an art. Another amazing thing about this property is the circa 1783 tavern that is in place in the basement. Way too much history to discuss here, so be sure to ask Marla and Joe all about it. We had wonderful local restaurant recommendations from the Innkeepers. We also savored a delicious breakfast of strawberry stuffed French toast, sausage, and eggs! We liked the Inn SO much that we stayed on a Saturday night and returned on the upcoming Friday evening. Thank you, Marla and Joe, for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Wow! I feel so blessed to have such wonderful guests. Thanks for this glowing review. It is so great to be appreciated. What other job can you think of where you get such positive feedback?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Thank you Joe and Marla for the wonderful welcome, warm hospitality, quiet and restful, environment, and all the touches needed to make our stay memorable. We were only able to stay one night but hope to come back frequently when we need a break from our work. My husband and I would highly recommend The Queen's Residence. Joe and Marla go above and beyond to accommodate their guests. Any B&B traveler would understand their need to offer a quiet and relaxing experience. Thanks Joe and Marla!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are so glad that you had a positive experience and want to come back. We pride ourselves on our hospitality, so it is good to know that it is working!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I loved everything about my stay! The home is absolutely gorgeous! And what's even better, it feels like a real home! The food was delicious, the sheets were high quality, the rooms were exceptional! I soaked in the hot tub in complete privacy and watched little flakes of snow fall on the garden. The hosts are very warm and open. No pretentions whatsoever. I travel extensively for business, so I will be a regular at the Queen's Residence! I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else near Ann Arbor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you so much for this review. We would like to attract more business travelers so I am sure this review will help. I always get a thrill when the quality of our sheets are mentioned since we take the time to iron them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is our sixth stay.
I am writing a new review because this time we stayed in the new "Gibson suite".

It has a comfortable living room which has multiple windows and a skylight. Small but nicely done bathroom. Great large shower. Overall a nice place to relax during the day or evening.

As with every stay, great breakfasts and warm hospitality in a beautiful home nicely decorated for
Christmas. We have already booked the suite for a week end in May.

I would disregard the "poor" reviews. As repeat guests, one of the reasons we continue to return is that Marla and Joe make an effort to ensure that all their guests have a peaceful night and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your loyalty. We love it when guests become friends, which happens after six visits! We also appreciate your support with regard to the unfortunate reviews that were posted. Hospitality is number one with us, but there are times, such as the one which resulted in the 3 negative reviews we received, where guests who abuse our few and lenient rules are asked to leave. We do that for the protection of our paying guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, Brazil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you think of a cozy, beautiful place, you got it. If you think, well, breakfast must be good in a B&B, you are going to experience being in heaven every morning! Marla and Joe are just one of best people I met in my whole life! Their generosity is beyond any expectations. When they say: "Prepare to be pampered!" They really mean it! I am very happy I have trusted all the good reviews in this website! Marla and Joe, you have a friend forever in Brazil! I miss you loads and love you more!!!

Just do not pay attention to the bad reviews. They just didn't deserve to be there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
queensresidence, Owner at The Queen's Residence B&B, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We love hosting guests from around the world and making new friends. It is one of the things that makes having an inn such a great business! We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Queen's Residence B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queen's Residence B&B

Address: 220 S. Huron St., Ypsilanti, MI 48197
Location: United States > Michigan > Ypsilanti
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ypsilanti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...Located in downtown historic Ypsilanti, just minutes from Ann Arbor, Livonia, Belleville and Canton, The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast, is a unique relaxing experience that can not be duplicated anywhere for any price! The inn is ideally situated in the Ann Arbor area for University of Michigan and Eastern Michigan University visitors and parents as well as convenient to the Detroit Metro Airport. The exclusive amenities make The Queen's Residence Bed and Breakfast popular for getaway weekends as well as for business travelers to the Ann Arbor area. Here you can enjoy the one of a kind experience of a fireside chat in our original 1700s tavern. Each guest room is unique in its décor and does not have a common wall with any other guest room increasing your privacy during your stay. The Queen’s Residence Bed and Breakfast is famous for its level of guest service and attention to detail. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen's Residence B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.