We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's definitely a Coney Island” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Luca's Coney Island

Luca's Coney Island
309 E Michigan Ave, Ypsilanti, MI 48198
734 483 5771
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 148 Restaurants in Ypsilanti
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“It's definitely a Coney Island”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Decent food, decent prices, always consistently a good spot for lunch. The burgers are good, the omelettes are good and they have a wide variety of sandwiches and salads. Not bad when you need a quick spot for lunch!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Dinner Style Food and Atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

After a morning of furniture shopping it was highly recommended by the salesman to go to a Coney Island for lunch. We found the nearest location and were seated in a booth. This is a dinner style restaurant and serves a very large selection of breakfast items. . We had the Coney Dog, good dogs and the chili was real chili, not running or watery as we have found at other establishments. The fries were cook to a slight crispy exterior and soft interior, good fries for plan old fries. The chicken Pita was very good, and was made with specific taste requested, exactly as ordered! The Caesar salad with chicken was well prepared, the chicken cooked to perfection and not rubbery or dry. The server was pleasant and attentive enough to keep our beverages full and made sure our orders were acceptable for us. I would eat at this or other Coney Island locations if I am in the mood for dinner style food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
“Best breakfast...anywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Been going to Luca's (on Washtenaw) for several years. The breakfast specials are excellent, and the waitstaff is primarily family, so it makes you feel good when you dine regularly, because they remember your order, and most times they just tell me "Your order will be right up!" Love that. Frank (the owner) will get to know you and sometimes will sit and chat with you. It's an excellent place to get your day started!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
318 helpful votes 318 helpful votes
“Good Patty Melts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

While we ate at the Luca's Coney Island in AUBURN HILLS, MICHIGAN, Trip Advisor doesn't have it in its data base, so I will review under a different Luca's! The patty melt I enjoyed on 10-7-12 in Auburn Hills was delicious; one of the best I have had. I had onion rings to go with it and they were also great; plentiful and shared with my husband. The open faced roast beef sandwich and mashed potatoes my husband ordered were not up to his standards! He said the gravy was way to salty and the beef not that good. The potatoes didn't look good, so I don't think they could have tasted much better! I would have ordered a Coney Island Dog, but they don't serve Nathan's hot dogs!!!! Being from the South, I had never heard of the brand the waitress named. I would go back here again. (This seemed to be a neighborhood favorite because all the people who came in seemed to know the owner and were greeted with a smile and hug!)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crappy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Worst experience ever. I paid over $16 for two dinners to go and I received a pita bread with pieces of meat, a half cup of veggies and tomato slices. The second was a piece of bread with 5 thin chicken fingers and a half cup of veggies. I'm livid and never going back. It;s ridiculous to pay that much for TRASH.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luca's Coney Island also viewed

 

Been to Luca's Coney Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luca's Coney Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.