We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Cow Kitchens

Green Cow Kitchens
Crumplebury Farm | Crumplebury Farm, Whitbourne WR6 5SG, England
01886 821992
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Whitbourne
Price range: $46 - $61
Cuisines: French, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Green Cow Kitchens is proud to be a bit different. We are based in a former pigsty hidden away on a remote farm in Whitbourne, on the Herefordshire and Worcestershire border. We are open to the public for dinner on Friday and Saturday showcasing fantastic local produce and the innovative cooking style of resident chef, Mickey Provis. The principle four courses are advertised in advance and Mickey prepares a number of surprise extras for guests on the night. Booking in advance is essential and you are given the choice to dine privately or join another table of like minded foodies. We limit numbers to a maximum of 30. Private bookings: We also offer the restaurant for private bookings and will gladly open the dining room for parties of between 15 and 30. Please see the website for further details.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Such a delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

It is such a delight to have a civilised place to eat. Good food, good service, good atmosphere. What more could you want? I have had three great experiences so far. Booked again for this month . Voting with my feet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    9
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“How to make a miserable evening a pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A wet and miserable evening making the Green Cow difficult to find in the dark but the menu and the quality of the food more than compensated for this. The Green Cow is distinctive insofar it is not like any other local restaurant that we have been to. The quality of the food is exceptional and the menu is fine and well balanced. The little inserts of food and drink which make up a splendid evening also add to the experience insofar as they are unexpected but do much to show the range of skills of the chef. We ended up eating food which we would never contemplate doing in a local Herefordshire environment. A warm and friendly place in which to eat and considering the quality of the food well priced. All things considered we hope to return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Introducing our neighbours to Green Cow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

As others have described, you don't just drop in to Green Cow on a whim. The restaurant is open two nights a week and chef Mickey Provis plans the menu well in advance, so you can see at the time of booking what is in store. Except you can't exactly, because of the surprise extras, the canapés and amuse-bouches, the little shot glasses with a delicious mouthful of hot soup or a refreshing sorbet that punctuate the meal and lift if from being excellent to truly memorable.

Having been here twice on our own we thought it was time to invite our neighbours. The venue has been refurbished since we last went, which I have mixed feelings about. I really liked the way that the crisp, linen tablecloths, candlelit tables and impeccable service contrasted with the painted concrete floor and rough walls of a former pigsty. It was true to the pop-up concept. On the other hand, the building was draughty and the room was a little cramped. The venue is now warmer, larger and much better for the staff who now have a proper serving area from which to work. And as my wife pointed out, you can hardly argue that Green Cow is insufficiently rural.

Our menu was scallops with crispy bacon, pheasant and cheesecake. Ordinary enough you might think, but Mickey has a real talent for the unexpected. To give just one example, the cheesecake, baked New York style, came with a shot glass of warm sherry (so sweet and rich it could have been port) that you could either drink with it or pour on top. It sounds odd but worked brilliantly, completely changing the character of the dish. And the other stand-out dish for me was beetroot soup - again in a shot glass, piping hot, perfectly spiced and seasoned.

All in all, a great success and our neighbours have already told their friends and are planning a return visit. It's just as well that the restaurant is opening two nights a week this year ...

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Green Cow Kitchens is open on a limited number of evenings and pre-booking is required to make certain of a place in their excellent restaurant. There is a set menu but there were no problems when I asked for a vegetarian menu for my wife. The food is of a very high standard and certainly rates it as one of the best restaurants around West Worcestershire/East Herefordshire. The informality of everyone arriving for dinner at the same time and being able to break the ice whilst consuming canapés and sparkling wine, is a very nice touch. All the staff were attentive and deserve praise, especially the chef - I hope his Michelin star does not take too long! Good food takes time and effort, but the cost of the meal, including canapés and a carafe of good wine was not much more than a 'gastro' pub would charge - and far less than London or south east prices - well worth the two mile drive along the approach road in the dark!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeEvansGCK, Owner at Green Cow Kitchens, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write and with such wonderfully supportive comments. Hope to see you at Green Cow Kitchens again soon.

With best wishes,

Joe Evans
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Had the pleasure of dining here recently and have to say its one of the best restaurants we have visited for a long time. The experience from start to finish was excellent and it was lovely to have a set menu which made us try things we might not have done before. Can not recommend the place highly enough. Can't wait till my next excuse for a meal out!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Cow Kitchens also viewed

Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Abbey Dore, Herefordshire
Weobley, Herefordshire
 

Been to Green Cow Kitchens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Cow Kitchens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.