We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay in areas being renovated, unless a discount is offered.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   755 54th Street SW, Wyoming, MI 49509   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Double Points!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vincennes, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay in areas being renovated, unless a discount is offered.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Staff was friendly and helpful. Pool was clean and larger than some. However, for the amount of money we were charged -even with the AAA rate- the value was not there. We had a lot of luggage since we were cleaning out a residence and there was no place to move. The sofa bed was uncomfortable and the hallway seemed like a really really dingy& dark old dorm.

Room Tip: Do not stay in areas being worked on unless just 1 or 2 people without much luggage. Rooms and close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I am so sorry for the construction issues you experienced while you stayed with us. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. As you could tell we are currently going through renovations and I sincerely apologize if we caused you any inconveniences. In addition, I am so sorry if you found our sofa bed to be uncomfortable and our hallways to seem dark. Your feedback is incredibly important to us and I assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration to improve our hotel.

We always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected and I can assure you that your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise.

Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and I hope you give us another chance to serve you, if you travels bring you back to our area. Please know that your business is incredibly important to us and I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    56
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
56
42
7
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolingbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel is very convenient if you are visiting grand rapids. It is also being remodeled, almost done, and will be even better. Staff is very attentive and helpful to any special needs. This hotel is very quiet and convenient to restaurants in the area. You can walk to Arnies.

Room Tip: Book early and dine at Arnies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear gwmeyer31,

Thank you for staying with us recently. I look forward to sharing your kind words with our staff.

We appreciate your patience during our recent renovations. The work to our hallways will finish up next month, just in time for our very busy summer season.

Safe travels!!

Sincerely,

Scott Zeien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierport, MI
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Check-in was great and as an Honors member we got some free stuff. Rooms are average at best, even for a Hampton Inn. All was clean and neat but room was inexpensively furnished. Wifi worked great. Breakfast was okay but busy with kids. Overall it was fine with no complaints and price was right.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmcwilliams, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Pierport:

Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your loyalty to the Hilton brand. We look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Grand Rapids area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloma, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The staff was very helpful, and the location was great. There was even a couple of restaurants that were practically lot. The rooms were clean, and the staff provided cookies in the afternoons. The room was very clean, and when we arrived housekeeping had left handwritten sticky notes that assured us the duvet and sheets were clean for our arrival. They were working on the hallways but they didn't do so in the early morning hours, and kept it clean when they weren't working. I am already planning my next trip, and will stay at this hotel, as it was so much less expensive than most around it but you get way more than you pay for it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Megan S,

Thank you for staying with us recently. Wow. Those are some nice compliments that I am excited to pass on to my staff.

We appreciate your patience with our hallway renovations. We should finish up that project next month.

Sincerely,

Scott Zeien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This hotel is in a decent location and is easy to find. Desk staff were friendly. Room was ok. Housekeeping could be better. Shower curtain was dirty, tub drain was clogged badly and there were crumbs when we pulled the sofabed out. Slept well. Breakfast in the morning was quite comical. The lady working in the breakfast area hovered over guests when making waffles and kept demanding they use less batter so that there would not be a mess. My kids and I felt like we could not get food without her giving us the look of disgust. I have NEVER seen a hilton employee be so rude to so many guests openly. Other than that it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Hannahlore,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you chose our hotel during your recent stay in the area and we apologize for the housekeeping problems you experienced. Unclean rooms are not typical at our hotel and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards and that our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay.

We also apologize for the treatment you and your families received during breakfast and this issue has been addressed. We hope you will give us another chance if you visit this area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I see others have found the place lacking but I must not be a regular enough Hampton person. Or maybe is was the genuine niceness of the check-in staff and the breakfast person the next day. Their website did say they were going to start remodeling in late Oct-early Nov so maybe these messages made a difference.

After staying at a HIE the day before, this was a better choice for us in many ways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear norwoodpark,

Thank you for staying with us recently. We appreciate the kind review. I look forward to passing on your kind words to our front desk and breakfast staff.

The remodel to our front desk area is finishing up today. Our lobby renovation starts next week. We hope to welcome you back to a fully remodeled lobby by year's end!!

Safe travels,

Scott Zeien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I wanted to stay close to my client's location and opted for this Hampton. As the other recent review state, it is older. So if you stay in 2-3 times a week at the new Hampton's, like I do, you will notice the difference. Bottom line, it was clean, very quiet and a good staff. There are a few closed restaurants you can walk to. Easy access off the highway. The parking lot could use more lighting. I would stay here again, if I need to return. This area offers many options.

Room Tip: 4th floor, rear of hotel, away from the highway. Very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Z, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear BW,

Thank you for staying with us recently. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for the compliments on our staff, cleanliness, and quiet location.

The beginning of our lobby renovation starts at the end of this month, now that we are getting into our slower season. We hope to wow our guests that walk in our front doors at the beginning of next year, when our lobby renovations are completed.

Sincerely,

Scott Zeien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South

Address: 755 54th Street SW, Wyoming, MI 49509
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming
Hampton Inn Wyoming
Wyoming Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.