We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to stay for college families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2150 Metro Lane, Wyoming, MI 49519   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wyoming
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great spot to stay for college families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. It is about 20 minutes to GVSU and close to the mall. The front desk staff, room set up and breakfast were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    56
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
65
41
12
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Hyatt place a few times while in Grand Rapids visiting my elderly grandmother, this hotel was close to her home. It was really clean, I loved the smell and the decor of the lobby. The room set up is really clever. A living room area complete with a built in sectional. Large flat screen Tv that swivels so that you can watch it in bed or in the sitting area. There was a divider between the sitting area and bed for privacy and the bathroom was huge! There was a microwave and mini fridge. There was any kind of technical input you might need, wireless internet! We love it there. Free breakfast and a great location. We have not stayed there recently because my grandmother has had to move into a nursing home across town and we now stay on the East side of Grand Rapids when we visit so we are closer to her.

Room Tip: This is a great place to stay when traveling for personal reasons but from what I saw it would be th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Pros: New, Clean, and Spacious. Great Value!
Cons: Quite a distance from the Beaches of Western Michigan

We ended up booking a room at this hotel last minute due to all the other hotels located by the shores having no vacancy. But we're glad we ended up here. The hotel was very clean, spacious, and comfortable. If you're like my wife and I who have high standards for hotels, look no further. We've had some dingy experiences staying at some of the other motel level chains in the area. Despite this hotel being 30 min. from Saugatuck (Oval Beach), it was well worth the drive. It's also close to downtown Grand Rapids so it's good if you need a more economic place to stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you use your Gold Passport rewards card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is an excellent hotel. Brand new, elegantly decorated, friendly staff, way above average breakfast with fresh fruits, gourmet coffee (Starabucks available at extra cost),,

We have stayed at more than 50 low priced motels this year, and this is the nicest. Nice beds and bedding, plus our room had a sitting area, fridge and wide screen TV. The rates are bound to go up as the Hyatt gets discovered and filled up more often.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The registration counter doubles as the bar and there are automatic check-in machines. Once you get past this weirdness and get to the room you find a really nice lay-out. We had 2 queen beds with a room divider and separate sitting area. Nice amenities, nice bed, good breakfast. Friendly staff. We would recommend this hotel - just need to get a better check-in procedure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Got it on special rate for a wedding. Room was clean and quiet. Very spacious. I liked the suite lay-out: small office, bar, big couch and soft bed.
I didn't have any trouble connecting to the wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for 2 nights. We loved it. The room was clean, and had no stale smokey smell like most rooms do these days. This was our first hotel out of 3 on our Road trip from New Jersey.. I immediately passed out on the couch which was very comfortable for a hotel room. The bed was really comfortable. The hospitality was great, we were greeted immediately as we walked in the door. The television was huge and cable seemed like a luxury for us (we don't have cable at home). The only downside was when the light would turn off in the bathroom.. But that was minor. The location was great. We were able to travel to and from Holland with no issues. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South

Address: 2150 Metro Lane, Wyoming, MI 49519
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Wyoming
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Wyoming
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located just 12 miles outside the city center, far enough to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient. A golf course and park are less than two miles away, and we’re near Lake Michigan and area universities. Experience Hyatt’s incredible service and comfort here. We offer studio, standard and accessible suites, each one beautifully furnished and including amenities like comfortable signature bedding.Free Wi-Fi runs throughout our hotel, and you can also visit our fitness center and dining facilities 24 hours a day. Our indoor swimming pool is naturally lit, and our gym features modern Life Fitness cardio equipment. If you’re organizing a meeting or social function, take advantage of the area’s largest event space, at 1,200 square feet of flexible, modern rooms, holding between 12 and 120 people.We also offer special packages and amenities to event organizers, including special room rates for groups using 10 or more rooms and an exclusive online group booking page. Our event planning officials will help make organization and execution of your event easy and smooth, so you can focus on that important meeting or your special day. Your guests can focus on your event, and in their free time they can enjoy the hotel and area’s many recreation and entertainment options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South Hotel Wyoming

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.