We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Weekend Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soar Mill Cove Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Soar Mill Cove Hotel to your Saves list
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   near Salcombe, Malborough, Salcombe TQ73DS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Ashford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Weekend Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a birthday treat for my partner, the hotel was great, room was large, comfortable and clean. The hotel will benefit greatly once the new spa/pool complex is finished. One slight problem we had was that although the hotel allows dogs, they are only allowed in the corridors and rooms. Our dog is an important part of our family and we didn't really want leave her in the room all the time! Soar Mill Cove is a beautiful beach and the coastal walks are just lovely, as is the surrounding area. Views from the hotel are great too. Complimentary cream tea was just what we wanted after a long walk. Marmalade at breakfast was possibly the best i have ever tasted! All in all a lovely relaxing weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I’m delighted that you were able to make the most of our wonderful coastline and beach, whilst celebrating such an important birthday. We have always been a dog friendly hotel; Farley our hotel Labrador spends many hours greeting our hotel residents from the hotel reception. As you pointed out already dogs are allowed in both your room and corridors, however they are also allowed in our beautiful coffee shop, I’m sorry if this was not made clear upon arrival. The marmalade always goes down a treat at breakfast, Ian our Head Chef really has the magic touch. I can’t wait to welcome you back for another relaxing weekend away at the Soar Mill Cove Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    65
    32
    15
    17
See reviews for
115
190
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at this resort on three previous occassions.
The re opening of the Hotel although the furnishings pleasant were un finished.
Food as always is excellent.
For a hotel charging London rates the house keeping of the rooms leaves a lot to be desired.
Items including bottled water, coffee refills and even toiletries had to be requested each day of our 4 day stay.
Very himiliating to have to ask each time for standard inclusive items.
The suite was not finish furnished with major items of furniture not in place such as chairs tables and chest of drawers or clothe storage space.

Room Tip: Hotel is in the most exquisite location and the food is some of the best in the area for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
It’s always so lovely to welcome back returning guests, nothing better than having recognizable faces around the hotel. I’m so glad that you enjoyed your dinner as usual, “the best in the area” what a lovely comment, I’ll be sure to pass the message on. We have spent all winter making sure the hotel looks at it’s best, I’m so happy that you approved with the new restaurant. I reassure you that everything you require in your suite is now as it should be; I do hope that we will see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Soar Mill cove over the February mid term break and had the most amazing family time. It was the first time we stayed in the Sea View self-contained villas, the accommodation was spacious and of a high standard, with beautiful sea views.

It was really convenient to be able to be able to use the hotel facilities, while still having the benefits of a self-contained unit.

The food was delicious and my 2 little children enjoyed going up to fetch warm fresh croissants in the morning before going for a walk down to the beach. All the staff are really friendly and helpful and my son enjoyed speaking to Matt, the assistant manager. We really did feel very much at home and I cannot recommend Soar Mill highly enough.

The swimming pool was great and the new refurbishment to the dining room and lounge areas gives the place a light and airy contemporary feel.

Thank you soar Mill - a wonderful place for families to restore their energy

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I have to agree Devon for me is also my idea of heaven. I’m so pleased that you and your family enjoyed staying in our villas, your two children were delightful. It’s always a pleasure to welcome you back to our family home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my wife only had a couple of nights at Soar Mill, but we both must say it won't be too long before we return, what a fantastic treasure this hotel really is, hidden away from day to day life as we know it, the staff made us so welcome on arrival and all throughout our stay, the restaurant is first class with great sea views, we look forward to a return when we will be trying out the new swimming pool and facilities. I can definitely recommend this hotel to people looking for that special relaxing break.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view , you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
The sea views as you said will never disappoint and your wonderful words will send such confidence to all the team. Having a relaxing holiday is what we are all about and I’m delighted that you were able too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was a birthday treat for myself and daughter who share mid Feb birthdays. This hotel was the only one to respond (promptly) to my online enquiry and I was quickly able to negotiate a pamper spa day, all inclusive, package by phone with Shirley, the Spa manager. This 4 star, small family run hotel complex is a hidden jewel between Marlborough and the coast, offering magnificent sea views. We visited on a Friday and guests were arriving for a weekend break but we had exclusive use of the spa facilities. Our package included coffee on arrival with homemade biscuits which we enjoyed sat looking out at the beautiful gardens and views from the comfort of squishy sofas in the large lounge room. This also gave us the opportunity to finalise spa treatments and look over the lunch menu. Shirley took us through to the comfortable treatment area where we enjoyed a facial and neck, shoulders and back massage led on adjacent couches, whilst relaxing to soothing music. Shirley has been running the spa for many years and obviously has a clear understanding of her client's expectations. She was gentle, respectful and clearly competent. After a delicious lunch accompanied by a glass of champagne, we took a stroll down towards the sea along the partially made up track. The colours of the heather and remoteness of the location are stunning. The only slight downside for us was the pool area which is currently being extended and will be a bonus. All in all, a lovely pamper day and to be thoroughly recommended. The parting Devon cream tea was delicious too!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I so glad that Shirley and the team looked after you, what a wonderful birthday treat. Im delighted that we lived up to your expectations, I look forward to showing you around our new spa complex when open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just returned from 6days at Soar Mill Cove Hotel and cannot give higher praise. The hotel has had huge makeover since our last visit. Our sea view view was amazing as are all the public rooms. The dining room especially seems more spacious and light. There is a new swimming pool and leisure suite in the process of being built which can only add to the hotels amenities. The peace and quiet in this amazing venue is great. But the best thing about the hotel is the staff. Nothing is ever too much trouble and they really made the holiday. Keith and Jenny (the owners) should be rightfully proud of their hotel, but even more proud of their great staff. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The views from sea view rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Manager at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We know how lucky we are to have such a good team working with us, many of the staff have been with us for 10-20 years so they really do know how to treat our guests. The changes to the hotel have really had positive feedback and I'm really pleased you enjoyed your holiday with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Fab food and great service. Lovely walking and spectacular views. We will return in the summer and recommend to friends. Love our room and the local area. Lots to do and met lots of lovely people at the hotel and in the local town. Wonderfully trip away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I’m delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay; I can’t wait to welcome you back this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Soar Mill Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soar Mill Cove Hotel

Address: near Salcombe, Malborough, Salcombe TQ73DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Soar Mill Cove Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soar Mill Cove Hotel near Salcombe is a comfortable family run hotel with spacious accommodation. A good base for walking holidays, short breaks & in holiday times popular with families enjoying caring service. A great base to explore South Devon. No stay is complete without dining in our sea view 2 Rosette Restaurant and the hotel offers best value when taking an inclusive break. All rooms have DVD library, flat screen TVs and public areas have free broadband. 10 acres of grounds and plenty of free parking. NEW salt water indoor heated swimming pool now open as well as sauna. New Gym & treatment suite due to open by 25th of May, "just for fun" pitch and putt golf, table tennis, lawn tennis in season and snooker. Near Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe, Thurlestone and Dartmouth. Luxury Self Catering Villas with up to 5 bedrooms. Available for exclusive use sea view weddings, so that no other guests are disturbed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Soar Mill Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soar Mill Cove Salcombe
Hotel Soar Mill Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soar Mill Cove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.