We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful location and almost a wonderful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Soar Mill Cove Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Soar Mill Cove Hotel to your Saves list
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   near Salcombe, Malborough, Salcombe TQ73DS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sensational Summer
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Certificate of Excellence 2014
winchester
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful location and almost a wonderful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Soar Mill Hotel has a location to die for, with wonderful views over the hills leading to a small, picturesque and unspoilt sandy cove. Our room was comfortable and quite large, and we appreciated the attention to detail: curtains that really cut out the light, cafetieres and real milk out of a jug for your coffee, home-made marmalade and jams at breakfast, good-sized bath and much more. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the food of a high standard, if a little rich. The wine list was more than adequate.
However, when you are paying nearly £200 per night b&b out of season, you expect an outstanding experience - and we did not quite get it. The staff were a bit over-stretched, which probably explains why they forgot to bring our coffee two nights in a row. The waiters appeared to be mostly untrained and ours, for example, did not know what a granary roll looked like. The atmosphere was relaxing but not cosy, and would have benefited from an open fire. So, yes, we left feeling revived and refreshed and it has the potential to be a truly wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your high rating and your constructive criticism. Soar mill Cove has had a huge investment recently both in facilities, and its fabric and also in staff training as you will see from all the more recent reviews that seem to be singing its praises. We would therefore like to take this opportunity to ask you to try us out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    79
    36
    15
    18
See reviews for
121
232
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We felt that this hotel is very much pricing itself on its location, but doesn't really deliver value for money.
Staff were friendly, but a bit thin on the ground with one chap flitting between the cream teas, the bar and the restaurant.
The accommodation was good with a very large and comfortable bed and the wet room en suite was excellent.
But our stay was very much let down by the food. The first warning signs came with fact that we were asked to pre-order our menu choice, the second when the pre-diner drink order of
a Soar Mill Sour perplexed the barman - so we elected to go for a bloody mary so as not to tax him. This came without celery - so two menu cocktails not quite as they should have been.

Having elected to take our drinks in the lounge we were then left waiting there. It wasn't until I enquired whether our table was ready that we were told we could come into the dining room straight away. Had I not asked - might we still have been sitting there I wonder?

As for the food - my starter of scallops with chorizo were delicious, but the subsequent loin of pork main and brûlée dessert were each overcooked. Rendering the pork tough and the brûlée set solid! Deficiencies we would have mentioned had anyone enquired - but no-
one did. In fact after the brûlée was served no-one visited our table again.

So, overall a disappointing stay and based on our experience, not good value. At £300+ the food as well as the accommodation should have been right. I don't think we'd return or recommend to friends - which is a shame because some elements were good and the potential great.
Maybe we just caught a bad day at the office for the kitchen.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
Thank you for your constructive criticism. I apologise unreservedly that you did not get the impression that we wanted to know whether you were content at dinner.
Please do not ever think we would rest on our laurels, I promise we spend all of our time worrying and working hard to try and make sure everyones experience is special.
I tend to think we generally perform satisfaction checks too often, but by the sounds of things we need to keep a better record in the restaurant, as if we are told of a problem at the time then it is often so easy to put things right. Pork particularly can go dry so quickly if overdone. Of course the problem in this case is that you were not asked and therefore felt than you had not had the level of service to match the rate you were paying.
I invite you to dine with us free of charge on a night of your choosing so that we can show you how much everyone really does care that you have a terrific meal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

With a location and views like this, Soar Mill Cove cannot fail to impress upon arrival. With only 22 rooms and dogs allowed it was a perfect choice for a long girlie weekend away with the dog. To be able to swim in the sea in England is a real treat and the Cove was very clean with crystal clear water and a sandy beach inlet. If you have children you would need to keep a watchful eye on them. The room and bathroom were very clean and fresh towels were provided daily. The dining room for breakfast is like going back to the 50s with a buffet of every conceivable breakfast item you could want and waiter(ess) service for a full English or variations of. Everything looked fresh and appetising. We stayed on for dinner on the first night which was very relaxing and seemless. The staff are friendly and very efficient. The location is perfect and you have the best of the scenery, walks and a spot of shopping in Kingsbridge or Salcombe, each one providing a buzzing, exciting atmosphere. My sister was so impressed she has gone back for a further 4 nights. Loved it. Tip: if you book make sure you get a sea facing room; the back rooms miss out on the views and scenery which is why you would visit in the first place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Great to hear your lovely review, my apologies that I did not post a response earlier. Sometimes such lovely praise is hard to know how to reply to. Soar Mill Cove does make a rather good base for a group of friends as you have discovered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

We stayed in a very clean family suite which meant our 10 year old could have his own room but that it opened off our room. The trip to the beach is a bit of a hike (5 minsthere, 10 mins back up the hill!) but so worth it - the beach is stunning - acres of good sandcastling sand at low tide and some good rolling waves all day for children to body board. The food in the hotel was delicious and breakfasts were great with plenty of choice. The most impressive thing about this place was the fact that all the staff were really interested in making sure that we had a great holiday - they seemed to care so much about our comfort and take a real pride in their hotel. All the little things are thought about leaving plenty of time for Devon cream teas on the lawn, staring out to sea and dreaming!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

although initially tricky, my direction sense is not superb, to find, splendid signs eventually point the way to a tranquil and delightfully isolated cove. Very comfortable room, high standard of service, cleanliness and cuisine - especially the breakfast which deserved second helpings - why does fruit juice and buttered toast taste better than usual? - a tranquil and delightful location and a secluded cove and warm water and warm sand.

And a pool, private terrace, peace and quiet, nearby town, and (if you deserve it) breakfast in bed.

Room Tip: some rooms have sea views, some do not. Some parts are noisier than others and some are child free
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith Makepeace, Owner at Soar Mill Cove Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Super review that others clearly find very useful. The toast thins, is all down to Devonshire butter, homemade marmalade and locally baked bread from our friends at the Upper Crust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Having spent a week at this Hotel we can honestly say we did not want to come home. The view from our room was breath taking especially in the evening when dining. The food was excellent and the best we have had at a four star hotel so the chef should be complimented. We were served well especially from Nick and nothing was to much trouble for him, the waitresses were very smiley and polite and have obviously been trained very well. A couple of days into our stay we noticed a strange whirring noise in our room coming from next door which we understand was a cupboard. We spoke to reception and they tried to establish where it was coming from but with no luck. Keith was very apologetic and very kindly offered to change our room to a similar room which we were very grateful for. The Hotel has a very nice feel about it and we will be back next year but this time dieting beforehand to compensate all the extra pounds gained whilst staying there.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: See view rooms are a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

After a long journey on a warm day how nice it was to be welcomed with "you are a little late for a cream tea but would you like a Gin & Tonic" Oh Yes! Sitting outside on our patio with a G&T was a wonderful start to a great long weekend. Help with the luggage, restaurant menu brought to the door and friendly smiley faces. One immediately relaxes into the friendly unpretentious atmosphere of the surroundings.The views from the front of the hotel are stunning. Beautiful coastal walks outside the door and Soar cove we thought was the best cove around.

Nice rooms and good bathrooms.

I appreciated the ability to make decent coffee in the room and the coffee at breakfast is excellent - a pleasant surprise given most hotel coffee. Breakfast in general is a pleasant experience.

Dinner is a little expensive and the restaurant lacks in atmosphere but the food is good. Although it is nice to have a treat, It would be good to have, as an alternative, somewhere to go in the evenings on a more relaxed theme with a cheaper more flexible menu.

I'm looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Soar Mill Cove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soar Mill Cove Hotel

Address: near Salcombe, Malborough, Salcombe TQ73DS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Malborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Soar Mill Cove Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soar Mill Cove Hotel near Salcombe is a family run hotel & luxury self catering. A good base for walking holidays, short breaks & in holiday times popular with families enjoying caring service. A great base to explore South Devon. No stay is complete without dining in our sea view 2 Rosette Restaurant and the hotel offers best value when taking an inclusive break. All rooms have DVD library, flat screen TVs, WiFi free throughout, but limited connection speeds and no mobile phone signal in this rural idyll. 10 Acres of grounds and plenty of free parking. NEW salt water indoor heated swimming pool , sauna, gym & Spa Treatments, "just for fun" pitch and putt golf, table tennis, lawn tennis in season and snooker. Near Kingsbridge, Hope Cove, Salcombe, Thurlestone and Dartmouth. Luxury Self Catering Villas with up to 5 bedrooms. Available for exclusive use sea view weddings, so that no other guests are disturbed. New for 2015 the rather rugged approach road has been replaced with a lovely smooth driveway, the first of our new bathrooms are been rolled starting with The Makepeace Suite now ready for you holiday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Soar Mill Cove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soar Mill Cove Salcombe
Hotel Soar Mill Cove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soar Mill Cove Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.