We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday-wasps problematic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MarBella Corfu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MarBella Corfu Hotel to your Saves list
MarBella Corfu Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Ioannis Peristeron, Agios Ioannis Peristeron 490 84, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Olney, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great holiday-wasps problematic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I read lots of reviews before we arrived at the hotel so I was a little apprehensive. The hotel was lovely, we had upgraded to 2 superior sea view rooms which I would recommend, the views and rooms were stunning and very comfortable, thank you Amarylis for the rooms being next door to each other. The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard. The food was good and we enjoyed eating in the Italian and Greek restaurants-no problem with booking! Both meals were very good. The seafood restaurant, although expensive was really good, the location was stunning. We also booked the boat trip organised by the hotel to Corfu Town which is free-book early. The hotel will supply a picnic if you order in advance. The service by the staff is what makes the hotel special and why would consider going back, the staff in the beach restaurant are friendly and good fun, Magda in the main restaurant-Outside area was brilliant and Nicky in the Italian always made us laugh. The a la carte in the Italian at lunchtime was excellent-good food-very few wasps, we never ate in the buffet restaurant during the day. Beach restaurant was good but lots of wasps at times.
The buffet restaurant in the evening can be busy and noisy, we therefore chose to sit outside where the insects screens are as the view is amazing and there is a really nice atmosphere-inside was a bit like a canteen. We upgraded to All Inclusive which worked well for us.
For us the biggest problem was there enormous amount of wasps that plagued us at meal times and when having drinks outside, on the beach and by the pool. After a really bad day when 2 meals were abandoned and teenage children in tears we complained to the catering manager who was brilliant and the hotel manager who we noticed during our last couple of days setting traps and monitoring the situation. The Thomson rep said that wasps are usually a problem-to eat indoors-not what we wanted as most restaurants were outside!, The manager said it is hard to treat wasps when you don't know where they are coming from. We understand that, but it needs to be on the hotel details then. The catering manager and hotel manager took it seriously and were much more active than the rep, thank you to them for at least arranging for us to eat elsewhere at breakfast and for taking the time to track us down a day or so later to see how things were. Both very professional and considerate. We very rarely complain but I really believe that if things are not right let them know so they can try to tackle the problem at the time. We will definitely consider going back.

Room Tip: upgrade to a superior se view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay despite the wasp problem.
We also thank you for your consideration to all effort made to solve this problem that appear time to time in the entire island.
The MarBella Team will be more than happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    189
    50
    18
    3
See reviews for
209
331
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Booked a sea view room BUT it was a very limited sea view room. We even went down to check with reception but were told that it was. Food was lovely, staff fine but needed more around the bar area as service slow and they were rushed off their feet. The hotel itself is very impressive and they are doing a lot to upgrade it. Unfortunately it is in the middle of nowhere and you can't walk anywhere as no pavements, just a main road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and value your comments.
On your next visit to the island we will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks all inclusive with a 13 year old. I had e-mailed the hotel on booking to ask for a room away from the road. I paid a lot extra to get a sea view and got a sea view room that couldn't have been any closer to the road! So we didn't get the amazing room views that other people were raving about, which was disappointing after paying so much extra. Having said that, we weren't in the room much, it was well equipped, comfortable, quiet aircon and really quiet, we slept like logs!

This hotel has a great ethic and they really do do everything they can to make sure your stay is enjoyable. They are friendly, hard working and will always do their best to help. The grounds are lovely, the views (elsewhere in the hotel) are stunning and there are plenty of places to sit. Yes the sun loungers get busy, but there is always room at the beach and sun beds become free later if you want to return to the pool.
I wasn't wowed by the food, expected more from a 5 star, but could always find something nice to eat - The Italian and Greek restaurants were lovely (do the reservations the day you arrive) and I would recommend booking at the Italian restaurant for breakfast, you can do this as often as you like and it's lovely, much quieter than the busy buffet at breakfast.
Yes, the wasps were a real pain and spoilt many a meal outside. We loved the restaurant outside and the beach restaurant but got sick of wasps crawling all over our food. Only saw a few wasp traps towards the end of the holiday and they really did need more.
Do take the hotel boat trip round to Corfu town - especially the evening trip, it's a lovely boat ride and a beautiful town with a great atmosphere, cafes, architecture and shops.
We also did the hike on the Friday morning over to a local town and taverna, it's steep but worthwhile to see a change of scene outside the hotel.
The sports and animation is Very low key and you wouldn't really notice anything was going on. There wasn't really enough for our 13 year old and the hotel really doesn't cater for the teenage age group. There were a few pool tables but they were down by the children's pool where it's dark and deserted at night, they would be better relocated behind reception so that older children have somewhere to congregate, there was nothing for them unless they happened to find a friend and the entertainment of no interest to them at all. The hotel is quite dull in the evening, the entertainment is lame and the new venue downstairs, awful, completely lacking in atmosphere - could be so much better. We found the bar was dying down by about 11.30 each evening which was disappointing.
I may have highlighted a few negatives, but overall, it is a lovely hotel and we did have a great time - maybe next time go as two adults outside the school holidays.

Room Tip: Better views higher up, but blocks separate from the main building are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
We are glad you have enjoyed your stay overall.
The negative points mentioned have already been addressed.
On your next visit to the island we will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Arrival reception was poor. Was left sitting at reception with no explanation as to why, until it asked and was advised my room was not ready.

My room with an apparent Garden View was of a brick wall, which separated us from the noisy main road.

The children's beds were sofa's, not real beds and were quite hard.

The wardrobe area was very small and having 2 adults & 2 children in the room would make it a struggle to hang everything up.

The hotel is on a mountainside not a hillside. The website does not provide Any description as to how severe the climb is. The point is hugely misrepresented.

The Wifi within the hotel is appalling. This was one of the main reasons for booking the hotel, the fact it was free and coverage was supposedly throughout the hotel. The signal would drop every time you moved 25 yards and then had to go through a laborious procedure to reconnect. As a guide to how poor the wifi was, I could not download The Time newspaper, which I do everyday at home on standard broadband.

There were too manly trainee waitresses. They did not provide a 5 star service.

The pool/beach towels ran out regularly, there were far too few in the hotel. An a guide, in the last 3 days, I could not change my towel as they had run out by midday.

There were insufficient sunbeds around the main pool. Some people were reserving them the night before. At the children's pool area, none of the sunbeds had cushions. I do not think the hotel has sufficient beds to satisfy its residents towards full capacity, bearing in mind we were there before the schools broke up in the UK.

Whilst the hotel has 3 further restaurant in addition to the Main, after the 2nd day of our week long stay, I was unable to book the Italian as it was full in the evening until after we had left.

The food selection within the main restaurant is also average for a 5 star hotel. There was not enough plain food, without a sauce for children, other than burger and chips.

This is not a 5 star hotel, it is also overpriced for what it provides and the facilities are insufficient for it size. It has some good facets such as the kids club, albeit small, the staff are very good and keep the children very well entertained and organised.

The hotel also has a water slide which is very popular with the children.

The only thing that saves this hotel are the staff who are very friendly, polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
We value your comments in all aspects, as they are all guide to offer remarkable holidays experiences to our guests.
Yet sometimes without willing it promotes some misinformation, so we would like to take it one by one.
Check in time is 14:00 and it is a standard time in all hotels. Reception staff always communicates it on arrival and we believe they would not ask guest to wait without given a reason.
You probably had a Superior Family Room with Garden view situated on the Nafsika Building with a large garden ground with grass and trees in front. The wall that separated the hotel from the road is there for an important reason which is the soundproof system that avoids noise from the road.
All rooms in hotel which accommodates over 2 persons have sofa beds, a part of the Suite with 2 bedrooms where you can have 2 single beds, an exceptional choice for families too.
Wi-fi is available on all hotel grounds and the coverage is not 100% but about 90% and depends on the time of demand. Our IT manager is always available shall guests need any further support.
The hotel has a number of trainees always supervised by a professional. They are the professionals of the future and it is a practice used by all great hotels.
Towels are available at the pool and if they finish the pool boys are there to assist on the refill.
The hotel rules say that if sunbeds are reserved and unattended over 1 hour the belongings are collected in order to free the place. All items can be collected at the Pool stand with the pool boy available.
We regret we did not have the chance to clear all above point while you were here but remain at your disposal.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel in Corfu early in May this year. It's in an impressive location just 30 minutes from Corfu Town with wonderful panoramic views across the sea to mainland Greece and down the coast of the island of Corfu. We were lucky enough to have a room in Chloe block which is one of the annexes away from the main hotel building. The good thing about this was that we were close to the two main swimming pools, the Italian & Greek restaurants and far enough away from the outside bar area of the hotel which could be quite noisy at night with people enjoying the lovely warm May evenings.
The staff were at all times courteous and helpful and the buffet dining was absolutely fine. Plenty of choice. Lovely outside area with stunning views out to sea and the mainland. We were on a full board plus package which meant that you could order whatever drinks you fancied at lunch and dinner. And if you were unable to finish them you could take them away with you either to the bar or back to your room. The hotel also provided a kettle, teas/coffees & creamers and a fridge in the room, so effectively, unless you wanted any extra drinks during the day, the package we were on felt like an All Inclusive deal. Extremely good value in our opinion.
You were also able to book- at no extra cost- an evening meal in the Italian and the Greek restaurants. Both of these were very pleasant and provided a different evening experience to the buffet restaurant.
What we particularly liked about this hotel was that there were plenty of places to relax indoors and out. The weather was a bit iffy for the first few days of our stay in early May but this was not a big issue because of the abundance of available seating inside. We met some very interesting people.
The beach is a bit of a trudge down the hill and a main road passes by the hotel at beach level (there is an underpass so you don't have to cross the road to get to the beach).
No hotel is 100% perfect so as for the negatives we would say that there is very little outside of the hotel- just a couple of tavernas and a small supermarket. There is also an excursion company that offers a wide range of trips and activities on and around the island. But if you're looking for a post evening meal stroll then there is really nowhere to go. Also because the hotel is built on a steep hill there are quite a lot of steps to negotiate and the lifts are very small. The grounds though are lovely and well kept.
For the sporting types there is a tennis court and a perfectly adequate gym.
Evening entertainment mainly consisted of duos singing and accompanying themselves on their own instruments with some backing tracks thrown in. Pleasant enough as background music. There was a Greek evening with a very professional troupe of dancers and musicians. This was excellent and great fun.
For the right price we would definitely return as it was one of the most relaxing holidays we have ever had. The free wifi throughout the hotel worked most of the time and this meant we were able to keep in touch with family at home and even download a couple of books to our kindles.
Corfu Town is well worth a visit. Lovely seaside location with forts, harbours and of course a multitude of shops. Buses pass the hotel regularly and some even come up the hill to the hotel entrance. We would certainly like to explore more of the island. It has a lot to offer.
All in all we had a great holiday and would highly recommend this hotel to couples and families with children. When we were there they were putting the final touches to a separate children's play area with pool and slide.

Room Tip: Annexe rooms are best unless you want to be close to the restaurant and bar. Family garden rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
We are very glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and value your comments.
On your next visit to the island we will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

I stayed at the Marbella Hotel for 11 nights, all inclusive, in July with my boyfriend. Before we were due to go I kept reading recent reviews about this hotel and it seemed that there were lots of different opinions on it so we didn't know what to expect, but for the price we paid we hoped it would be what we expected. As we arrived the hotel grounds were very clean and welcoming and the gardens and flowers were kept very well. A member of staff came straight out to the taxi to help take our suitcases, waited in reception till we checked in, then showed us to our room. We were welcomed by the reception staff very warmly and were given a glass of fresh orange juice on arrival. We had a twin room with garden view, but when we got to our room we found we had a double bed and our view looked out onto some greenery and the children's pool, but to the right was a fantastic view of the sea, so we were really pleased. (Room N359) The room inside was extremely clean, plenty of space for clothes etc, and there was a bundle of information about the hotel and the all inclusive package which came in helpful. The bathroom, although quite small, was also gleaming and had toiletry gifts inside. The walk to the beach from the room was literally 2 minutes but We only ever used the infinity pool because we liked it so much, but we found that we had to go and put towels on the sun loungers every morning around 7:30-8:00am or else we wouldn't of got any. The area around the pools was very clean and sun loungers were comfy. The pool itself was always immaculate but we found it to be painfully cold at times, I think there was only one day it must of been heated by the sun and it was lovely to jump in. The pool bar was a great place to just sit in the shade, or watch the staff make all sorts of drinks. The staff there were great, even though they were always rushed off their feet, which meant that you could be sitting up to 10 minutes before getting served. We also noticed that one female member of staff there was very ignorant and unpleasant. One negative was that the pool toilets were extremely smelly and dirty, I'm not sure whether they were cleaned regularly. The beach view was just out of this world, with clear blue sea and a private wooden deck with deck chairs. We sat here a few times but had to move due to the heat as there are no umbrellas there. The beach always seemed quite quiet and peaceful, although there were many people there. We found that the sun lounger problem wasn't as bad here but I'd still get up early to reserve some just to be on the safe side. The beach restaurant was a great spot for lunch during the day and had a nice, little selection of meals. The staff there were also great and very friendly. We ate at the main buffet restaurant most of the time, with only being allowed to use the Italian and the Greek once each per stay for an evening meal. The first night I began to worry because the only thing I really liked to eat that was there were fries and salad! However, I am very fussy with food. There was a large selection of food, but it would only satisfy people who aren't fussy at all and who don't mind things being cooked differently (the mash tasted like powder mix, the fish goujons just didn't taste like the usual taste and the rice was bland). There was also a great, big selection of desserts but we found that some didn't really taste much. We were disappointed in the main buffet restaurant because we found it not to be the 5 star we expected and for the price we paid we sometimes felt like we were at a 3 star hotel. There was also a particular member of staff who we found rude here - a female who always wore thick black eyeliner and always had a stern face. The Greek was lovely. It was a waiter service set menu. We both chose the cous cous for starter and it was absolutely delicious (recommend) and I'd also recommend the beef dish which was basically creamy mash with pieces of beef on top with gravy (the mash was actually nice and not the kind from the buffet). The Italian was also lovely. We enjoyed the little extras like the little appetizer they bring you and the bread and dips. I also chose the beef dish here and it was lovely. At the Greek we chose to sit outside under a palm tree which was nice and romantic but the Italian is all inside but still nice and airy. The buffet restaurant has seating in and out and we preferred outside looking over the sea. We did the 30 minute free pedalo boating which was nice to just float across the sea and relax. We also did the Corfu Sundowner trip which was good. We were took round some of Old Corfu Town by a Greek lady who told us some history, followed by going on a boat to Mouse island where we stopped and had our evening meal at a little taverna overlooking the sea. This was beautiful and the meal was Greek salad and bread, chicken from the bone and chips and sponge cake. The food was included in the price which was 60€ each, however, as we got there we were told that only water was included but there was a bar there where you could buy other drinks for a fair price. On this island there were a bunch of bunnies and pheasants hopping around which was nice to see. We then sailed back just after sunset to Corfu Town and then got the coach back, which broke down just as we got to our hotel, so in a way we were glad, but I doubt other passengers weren't as I'm not sure how long they had to wait. The other negative is the hugely steep hill that the hotel is on, it's horrendous to walk up in the heat but we only ever had to do it twice before we realised that if you cross the road opposite the hotel and go through the opening next to the bus stop, it brings you out to the beach and then you are in the hotel grounds so that was a lot easier. We also went to Old Corfu Town on the bus one day for a look around and some food in one of the many tavernas there. We found that if you were walking up to a taverna or looking at the menu outside the owner would come over and really try and force you in. This was the same with the staff at the shops. It was 1.70€ each on the bus one way so not bad at all. The entertainment on a night was good. Mondays was Greek night so a bunch of men and women dressed up, dancing to Greek music and they were not shy to try ad get you up! Another night there was a woman singing solo which was nice, and another woman on another night. There was also karaoke one night but we decided to just sit at the bar in reception and have a few drinks or sit on the sofas and play cards or FaceTime home. The bar staff were brilliant here, especially Periklis who was very quirky with his drink making and was very friendly, and also Lefteris, but our favourite was Fotis. He was just so kind and friendly, always asked how we were and what we had been up to and sometimes brought us the odd shot or drink out of the blue. He even brought us some pieces of melon one night, which was very random but just an act of kindness. On our last night he was working in the bar on the entertainment terrace so we went to see him and said goodbye and he made us a shot to drink together, gave us a cuddle and had a photo with us. He made our holiday and deserves a well done! Another negative was that there were only certain drinks included on the all inclusive package which we were really disappointed at because of the price of the holiday, you'd expect most drinks to be included. This is probably the main thing that let us down on the holiday so we will definitely think twice about going all inclusive in Europe next time, however we still had a lovely time and would recommend the hotel. Thanks Marbella
P.s. The camera woman who takes photos of you then expects you to buy them off her the next morning is very very rude! She basically sticks the camera in your face and even comes round whilst your eating, which to me is just bad manners. I would recommend to just ignore her.

Room Tip: N block is furthest away from reception/restaurants and pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Thank you for your so detailed review.
Your experience with us is certainly a guide and we have already addressed the negative points mentioned.
For your information the All Inclusive program has already been improved for season 2015, so you might rethink of given us the opportunity of welcoming you again in a near future.

Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My family (2 adults and 3 children of 14, 5 and 3) stayed at the Marbella Beach for 10 night from late July to early August. We arranged our holiday with friends with similar aged young children (6 and 4). We upgraded from half board to all inclusive on arrival directly with the hotel. The staff were excellent about this, suggesting we don't upgrade until the second day as we'd arrived late and wouldn't get any value from the first nights upgrade. It was also only 80% of the cost of doing the same through Thompson who we'd booked the holiday with.

First the good points. The hotel was excellent, very clean, we'll appointed, spacious rooms, lots of dining and bar options. We had two rooms next to one another which the hotel opened up into interconnecting for us at our request which was very much appreciated. The hotel service was also very good with friendly staff throughout, table service for drinks, a high standard of maid service in the rooms etc.

The food and be beverages both at main meal times and throughout the day/evening were generally very good. Lots of choice at the buffet restaurant where we ate most of the time (see below). The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our larger group, finding us a table for 9 every time we visited.

There were a choice of pools and we split our time between the main infinity pool, (which was, for the size of hotel remarkably calm and not too busy) and the children's Splash Park area. Again, this pool was very good, particularly for our young children, with two shallow pools, slides and various water features, which they thoroughly enjoyed. There was also a good poolside bar with great service at both.

The (man made) beach area belonging to the hotel was also very nice, again with its own bar and restaurant. Although we didn't use this area as much as we'd like it was definitely a great feature of the hotel (the shingle beach a few yards further down less so).

So,what was not so good.

We had two main problems with our stay, both of which significantly reduced our enjoyment of the holiday. The first was the wasp problem that the hotel suffers from. This made eating outdoors an arduous task and something we only attempted twice (breakfast in the Italian and lunch in the beach restaurant) in the end with frustration both times. This resulted in us not using three of the nicest dining options in the hotel because a meal could not simply be enjoyed in a relaxed manner.

I could understand that insect problems are difficult to manage if it weren't for the fact that two days before we left the hotel actually took action, using some kind of bait, which had very good results in reducing the problem. However, open bins full of ice cream and sticky drinks surely will only ever encourage wasps though and these were throughout the hotel - please put some lids on the bins and try to curtail the issue Marbella.

The second issue was the night time entertainment, which was poor. The majority was on the terrace and involved very dull singing or dancing. (It felt like elevator music). On occasion, the hotel moved the entertainment to their new purpose build function room. This was truly awful. The furniture was uncomfortable (felt like a business conference room), the music way too loud for the size of room, you literally couldn't hear others speak right next to you. No wonder the place was empty, entertainment or not. We stayed 5 minutes and didn't even get a drink.

If it had been an adults only holiday I think this would have been OK (not enjoyable, just OK). However, it was very disappointing for our younger children. There was a "mini disco" two evenings a week (for all of 30 minutes no less!!! 18:30-19:00 outside in the heat). We went once and it was dreadful. Two girls on a bland concrete outdoor stage jumping around with no interaction with the very few children who'd ventured there with their parents. A complete waste of time.

This left the distinct impression that young children are an afterthought for the hotel rather than a focal point. Surely a proper hour, say 19:00-20:00 in the "Entertainment Suite" could be worked into the hotel schedule most nights for the children (and parents for that matter)? This opinion was emphasised by the ice cream only options for treats - no ice lollies here boys and girls unless you're paying for them at the beach bar......

So, would we go back? It was a lovely hotel with some great facilities but No, we wouldn't go back. There are far better options of quality hotels/resorts where children are properly catered for, feel like part of the fabric of the holiday and where you don't have to fight the local insect population over dinner.

Room Tip: If travelling as a larger family request interconnecting rooms. The hotel will guarantee them (they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales & Marketing Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for your review on MarBella Corfu Hotel in Trip Advisor.
It seems that the wasp and the animation were the down factors to your stay, which we regret deeply.
However we would like to emphasize that the hotel does fight with the wasp problem in a discrete and sustainable way. Unfortunately it can only be reduced and not exterminated. Moreover it is not a permanent or frequent situation, happening only at certain periods of the season.
Children are also our focus and we can’t take the word “afterthought”, while the World Wide Kids Co takes a great care of them at the Meli Kid’s Club and Meli Crèche with a plentiful range of activities, plus all the specials provided for the small ones.
We assure you that all negative and positive points of your stay have been duly addressed and we would be happy to have the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Best regards,
MarBella Corfu Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MarBella Corfu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBella Corfu Hotel

Address: Agios Ioannis Peristeron, Agios Ioannis Peristeron 490 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — MarBella Corfu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort complex consists of two main buildings and cluster buildings of Mediterranean architecture, all overlooking the graceful Corfiot costline and the colourful sub-tropical property gardens. Marbella Beach reveals luxurious and spacious accommodation, combined with elegantly decorated restaurants, terraces, lounges and bars offering unique views of the Ionian Sea.The lush greenery along with a brand new cascade sea-water swimming pool invites you to indulge in comfort and style.Various water sports facilities await you at the beach. An idyllic area with olive trees and straw umbrellas is located next to the beach, providing the perfect scenery for sport and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MarBella Corfu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Beach Hotel Agios Ioannis
Marbella Hotel Benitses
Hotel Marbella Corfu
Marbella Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MarBella Corfu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.