We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not 5 star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MarBella Corfu Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added MarBella Corfu Hotel to your Saves list
MarBella Corfu Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Ioannis Peristeron, Agios Ioannis Peristeron 490 84, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good but not 5 star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff are brilliant especially Victoria and Irene in Customer Liaison and Magda in the dining room.
Dining experience was crowded and overly "busy"with no ambience.Get in,eat and get out basically!
Local wines horrendously over priced.I dont mind paying a bit over but this was crazy.
Food great,rooms very good(some interesting shower/toilet arrangements)kept clean,free beach towels and sun beds also.
Very poor and varying Wi-Fi and also mobile signal bad.
Poor/no information about the nightly entertainment which was a pity,and the amount of children running around was noticeable.
Gym had no showers or toilets,no water cooler or towels and was badly managed with many devices broken and out of order.
The hotel complex is basically a main building with connected blocks 'a la apartments"
Loads of steps and lifts with strange level numbering reception is level 0 and the Gym is level 6,one floor above,what happened floors 1 to 5??
Using another lift has reception at level 4,so dont use lift numbers to find way!!
I would go again,but there is work to be done as 5 Star rating is mis-leading

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear mfKent
Thank you for your review.
We really appreciate it and take it into serious consideration.
The location of the hotel (top of a hill) makes the up and down necessary, although we have implemented with lifts and ramps over the premises, we always make this point clear. The reception is level 0 because it is difficult for many to understand that we have 4 floors above reception reachable from certain lifts and another 4 down reachable from other lifts, nevertheless you have your point.
Main restaurant in hush hours might be busy, that is why you also give 3 other options from a la carte restaurants.
Wi fi and mobile signal is an issue we work on continuously but the position of the hotel makes in some parts difficult, that is why we confirm 90% coverage.
The gym room is in constant maintenance and indeed has no shower but changing room. All other details will be provided.
Hopefully we will return to ensure that the constant improvement is our target!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    194
    53
    18
    3
See reviews for
218
340
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
warrington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Great hotel with stunning views of the ocean and very laid back and relaxed. The rooms are well appointed but we booked with Jet 2.com and I think we were given rooms with no view in a secluded part of the hotel. We went on a half board basis which was a mistake as the drinks are extortionate. 8.50 euro for a gin and tonic and 4.50 for a small bottle of beer.

There are very few attractions locally and its not suitable to walk on the roads to neighbouring villages, albeit 400 yards from the hotel down a steep hill is a mini market ( stock up on you drinks here folks) and a couple of restaurants selling local food which was lovely.

Room Tip: book your trips at the beach and go to the greek mainland its lovely. Other boat trips are available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear hodgeyWarrington,

Thank you for your review.
Some rooms called promotional rooms are used as marketing tool with a base rate and no specifications on the room category, so that the hotel can allocate it according to capacity.
The hotel honors its value for money policy and one can compare it based on the same scales.
The location is in between villages surrounded by nature but offers also some options for basic buys and tavernas close by.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We went to corfu for 2 weeks and stayed at Marbella beach hotel. Wow it was great defo a 5 star. The views where stunning and the gardens where kept so neat and tidy. The infinity pool was soooo lovely you can just relax for hours by the pool and feel so comfortable. The room we had was massive and well equipped, even the wardrobe when you opened it had a light in it.The maids where excellent, kept things clean and tidy for us and so polite. The food was the best we have ever tasted, the desserts was sooooo yummmmmy, we had more than our share, you cant help but go up for more. The Chinese night was one of our best nights, the effort the staff put in to it all is unbelievable. The waiters that looked after us was Mr Nicolas and Madga they was so lovely, everytime we went in for a meal they was both so welcoming and nothing was ever to much for them. So id like to say a big thank you to you both. Just one last thing the beach is so close and sea is so blue. Treat yourselfs and go to this hotel its a must, you want regret it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear lisa d,
It is so gratifying to read a review like yours.
We thank you not only for giving us five out of five but also for recommending us!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from a week with Saga and as usual no problems with this travel company. As previously written about the hotel having been recently refurbished is very nice with things being new and décor fresh. I had a room in the main block at the side which did give me a sea view. The rooms are big with new modern furniture and you either have a walk in shower room or a bath with wall shower. What is unusual are the modern glass shower/toilet doors that are frosted only in the middle so depending how small/tall you are, if you don’t mind you could be seen! The rest of the accommodation is in separate blocks around the grounds and as the hotel is on a hill be aware there are numerous ‘ups and downs’ around the grounds.
What must be mentioned are the staff they are excellent and will always state “you are welcome”. If there was an award for their customer service they would come out with Gold!. Food is plentiful, hot and various for all tastes. You have the option of having lunch in three places with the best being down on the beach in the bar on the private beach. The beach can be accessed via steps through the hotel grounds that avoid going down the entrance road (cardiac hill) and having to cross a small road but is like the M6!!
The English are the minority here with the Russians being the majority with various other nationalities. The ‘BUT’ with the hotel for me was although the location is lovely it isn’t if like me you like to go for a walk after dinner, simply there is nowhere to go no promenade and along the road is difficult as the pavement disappears and it is 'life threatening' walking along the road. The other problem is that the nightly entertainment is mediocre but the best night was a tribute to Il Diva but was totally ruined by young children running around the stage and at one point because people were upset about this it nearly came to ‘fisty cuffs’!!! Not what you want on a stressful free holiday. This was mentioned to management who said they would ensure that staff are there to manage the children and ensure there are no problems BUT for the last two nights there nothing had changed. A shame as it would have been the prefect holiday.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk stay in the main block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear lawnsw00d,
Thank you for your review, which we would rather to have without a BUT, but certain things cannot just be changed after happening.
Regarding nationalities, just to talk a bit statistically, we must say that English guests are in almost same percentage of Russian guests, followed by Belgium, German and French and we make no distinguish. Independent of nationality sometimes guests behavior is a challenge to control and we are sorry it spoilt your time, but we cannot turn back to correct it.
Nevertheless, to be awarded with gold by your words makes our team really proud and we honor it!
If you wish to return we will be glad to discuss it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Not really 5-star; but never the less a good overall standard - friendly staff; prompt service; clean and modern; all you need for a beach holiday (let's face it - if you are looking for capital City 5-star standards - go to a capital city - not a beach hotel!). Food in main restaurant could be more varied and warmer - but a minor gripe. No problems with finding empty loungers; no problems with other guests.

Room Tip: Small blocks near swimming pool are quiet; have sea view; and convenient for all facilities (the 580...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear OffshoreEngineer,

Thank you for your review.
As you mention yourself the 5 star standards have different scales of comparison.
However the fact that we managed to provide with a relaxing and friendly time to your holiday is a plus and we appreciate you taking the time to mention it.
All suggestions taken into consideration, we will be looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Marbella Beach during the first week of May and it was outstanding. The room was beautiful and immaculately clean. The bed was very comfy and massive! Food was delicious and there was a good selection at each restaurant. The pool and beach were spotless. All the staff went out of their way to help us and ensure we had everything we needed. We had all inclusive which was definitely worth the money. It is fairly easy to get to Corfu town and back by bus. I have recommended this hotel to my family who are looking to go in October! Wish I was back there now!

Room Tip: Some fourth floor rooms are under the restaurant and can be noisy between 08:00 - 10:00 and 19:00...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear NickiH_23,

Thank you for staying with us, placing your comments here and recommending Marbella Beach Hotel to your family.
We will be looking forward to welcoming them and perhaps you again next October!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Marbella beach hotel is excellent it is hard to find any fault at all, our only problem was when booking with the tour operator we booked sea view rooms and found that they were not!
260 overlooks trees and despite excellent sea views from other areas we were very disappointed. A road runs in front of our room which is noisy, so not the peaceful holiday we were expecting. To be fair to the hotel which was fully booked the Customer relations manager did endeavour to offer us a change of room, unfortunately it was a suite and we did not wish to share with our friends there is something to be said about privacy. The suite was in a perfect position so if you are due to go try to get a room in the 500s these seem to be most suitable for access to all facilities.
On a happier note the food is excellent, at the Italian restaurant, beach restaurant,, pool restaurant and the service is very efficient and friendly. although there did seem to be delays with service at the bars in general we were wholly satisfied.
The beach is lovely and the sea was very warm like getting into a bath, one major point there are no cushions on the sun loungers ( a bit back breaking at times) You must have a swim in the infinity pool its fantastic.. I read somewhere that sheets are changed every day ours certainly were not.All in all very satisfied with our holiday, Marbella beach is wonderful and top marks to all the staff team.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room in the 500s to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fran D, Sales Executive at MarBella Corfu Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear avidholidayer,

Thank you very much for your review.
We always do our best to attend any request guests might have and if possible to overcome them.
You are right to notify that it is important by the time of booking to clarify about room type in order to avoid disappointment.
About the sheets changing we’d rather to have been informed during your stay but thank you anyway for pointing it out. We will look carefully into it.
Despite of the above we are glad you had an enjoyable stay and our team managed to overtake this with the best of hospitality.
We hope you will return for next excellent holidays and we will merit it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MarBella Corfu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MarBella Corfu Hotel

Address: Agios Ioannis Peristeron, Agios Ioannis Peristeron 490 84, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — MarBella Corfu Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort complex consists of two main buildings and cluster buildings of Mediterranean architecture, all overlooking the graceful Corfiot costline and the colourful sub-tropical property gardens. Marbella Corfu reveals luxurious and spacious accommodation, combined with elegantly decorated restaurants, terraces, lounges and bars offering unique views of the Ionian Sea.The lush greenery along with a brand new cascade sea-water swimming pool invites you to indulge in comfort and style.Various water sports facilities await you at the beach. An idyllic area with olive trees and straw umbrellas is located next to the beach, providing the perfect scenery for sport and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your MarBella Corfu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marbella Beach Hotel Agios Ioannis
Marbella Hotel Benitses
Hotel Marbella Corfu
Marbella Hotel Corfu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MarBella Corfu Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.