We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel on the up” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Corfu Senses Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Corfu Senses Resort to your Saves list
Corfu Senses Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agios Ioannis Peristeron 49084, Greece (Formerly Mare Monte Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
chipperfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Hotel on the up”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

just returned from 7 day stay was a bit worried before we arrived but the good points are food was excellent, good choice andvery tasty. Staff very friendly and helpful the animation team are fantastic and very hard working, we had our 14yr old grandson with us and they made sure he was not bored and made friends. We met some fantastic people and had a great time. the beach and sea are stoney so make sure to take some shoes for the sea. things that need to be improved on sunbeds not enough of them and lots broken, air conditioning not working a lot of the time but if you complain it soon starts working again, decor looking tired could do with a lick of paint,AI ends at 11 at night when entertainment is still going on very annoying cause if you want another drink after that you have to pay, yes there was lots of wasps due to surrounding fruit trees but not a problem, would we go back again YES

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    70
    28
    20
    48
See reviews for
74
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
swindon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Well as a first timer to corfu didnt know what to expect and to be honest felt a bit let down when first arrived
This did change however once we got our bearings and met some great people from Halifax and Liverpool (I know they are northern but very nice folks lol )
The rooms were very basic but only used them to place our heads at night so not really bothered about them
Food was ok the soup and bread were lush and never went hungry ,ice cream was to die for
Drinks were ok too beer was nice but maily had tequila sunrises
Main concern was the grating around the pool needs fixing urgently or somebody god forbid will seriously get injured
As i said great people and had some good laughs playing water volleyball daily against the italians and albanians
Evening entertainment was good as long as you were prepared to join in
Very competitive Scouser called Tony finally got his certificate for winning table tennis so was chuffed for him
Only other concern was getting up early for sunbeds always said would never do but as the Albanians were the worst culprits you had to fight fire with fire (Needs addressing manager)
Overall a nice break made all the better by the people we met ,probably wouldnt go back but enjoyed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

just come back from 10 days not what we expected

bad points
wasps wasps wasps absolute pain in the butt,food sorry but i wouldnt feed it to my dog lived on chip buttys most of the time,rooms have a shower on a mixer tap but not clipped onto the wall so bit of a struggle sometimes,every now and then smell of sewage around the place but saying that have been told before that corfu has problems with drainage systems so expected that,around the pool are BE VERY CAREFULL STANDING ON THE PLASTIC GRATES seen many people fall through,closed town 10 euros in taxi so would recomend hiring quads car etc cheap shop round the corner from the hotel.
good points
reception staff absolutely lovely very helpfull even the guy on a night time who people are complaining about try getting to know him hes a good laugh people forget these people have been working for 5 month solid with no day of up to now and are getting complaints left right and centre.entertainment staff lovely go out of there way to get to know you even sit down and have a chat with you whilst there on there breaks,bar staff again really friendly and helpfull something happening everyday same things through the day different at night again if your not happy or get bored organise something i did we had a five aside football match consisting of both english and italians getting involved even the groundsman is friendly and because its such a small hotel its easy to meet and get on with people.

my advise if you want somewhere remote and your not fussy about your food ideal if not dont bother unless you hire a car and you venture out as i say we made the most of it and enjoyed if ya spend your holiday moaning and groaning your gonna not like it we some fantastic people and some right laughs not just english neither albania and russian so you decide

Room Tip: sea view definetly
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agios Ioannis Peristeron hotels

Camberley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

After reading the reviews before we arrived, we were very concerned. When we arrived it was late at night, so we had to wait until the morning to see what the hotel was like. The bathrooms was very basic & shabby. The room has air conditioning which works when the patio door is fully shut. You can take the card off your key fob & keep it in the holder. This then keeps the air con, and fridge going all day. Bed was very hard, but we put a blanket under the sheet which helped a bit. Had only one pillow & towel each, so asked for more. Fionola on the desk was lovely, and always got things sorted as quickly as possible.
The pool is lovely, we spent a lot of time in the pool. It is however run down and the grates are broken in places. But this was soon replaced. As long as you are careful, you should be ok. There are not enough sunbeds to go around, so be prepared to got down before 8 in the morning to put your towels out.
The staff are fantastic, and could not be more helpful. The animation team were lovely, and provided lots to do during the day & evening. We found it lots of fun, and joined in with lots of the activities.
The food was lovely, with plenty of choice. Always topped up, when empty. Fresh bread every day. Ice cream was provided during the day. This was lovely, and you could help yourdself as much as possible. Drinks were ok, and there were some lovely cocktails to drink. These are provided in plastic disposable cups. But as the bar was by the pool area, you don't want broken glass.
We went to Benistes one evening in a taxi, this was 10 euro each way. There is no shop in the hotel, so you will need to walk to the local one about 5 mins away.
Beach was stoney, but it did not worry us. There are lots of wasps, as there are fruit trees. As long as you don't bother them, you'll be fine. I'm allergic to wasps, and they did not bother me. There is free wifi inside the hotel, better downstairs.
We met up with some lovely genuine people, and all the kids got on well. This made the holiday, by everyone looking out for each other.
The hotel has been recently taken over. We understand that it will be having all the rooms redone. Also the pool will be completed redone at the end of the season, when the hotel shuts down. With these improvements, it should be a really nice hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the road side, can be noisy. However sea facing can suffer with late night loud music from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SK R, Manager at Corfu Senses Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Camberley,

Thank you for your positive comments and criticism. In fact the hotel has been taken over not so long time ago and there is a lot of work is to be done. We are likely to redone and refurbish rooms and pools equipments in the next season as we are focused on the quality of servise and change from all-inclusive to half board service this year. We appreciate for your comments and let us assure you that we will work on improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you have already booked to go to the Corfu Senses Resort please don't let the bad reviews on this page worry you - and whatever you do don't rebook somewhere else.

As you will already have gathered the Corfu Senses Resort was FORMERLY the Mare Monte. These reviews are history. The hotel is now under new management and ownership and is trying very hard to shrug off the old reputation. The staff are all extremely friendly and hardworking, and the animation team are without doubt the very best I have even known. The hotel is small and spotlessly clean, the rooms are a bit small and during our two week stay some people did moan about the beds being hard - but there were three people in our room and we were quite comfortable. We were overlooking the road and weren't disturbed by road noise or any generator noise. The sun beds are plentiful and not once did we have to get up at dawn and do a towel run. If you want extra pillows or blankets - just say and they will be supplied. Every member of staff at this hotel will do whatever it takes to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable, from the three receptionists, Dimitri and Panos behind the bar and all of the maintenance men nothing is too much to ask. The food is very very good - exceptional quality and plenty of choice. Especially the bread and the ice cream. The drinks are also very good, I didn't try the wine at all but it seemed quite popular. The beer and the cocktails were great. The bar is all inclusive from 10am till 11pm - after that you can pay for drinks and they are not overly expensive. I was expecting to be ripped off once the AI finished but that wasn't the case.

There are one or two areas around the pool that need attention but the maintenance men are working on this all the time, and during our stay it was improving. WASPS - yeah there are wasps but there are fruit trees all over the grounds so that is to be expected. We went on a trip to Aqualand and Corfu Town and guess what ......... there were wasps there too!! The beach is small and pebbly, but the sea is crystal clear and warm and the views are breathtaking. Buy a cheap snorkel from the local shop and take a closer look at the tropical fish - beautiful!

All in all a holiday is what you make it - if you are used to the large impersonal complexes of Egypt or are looking for nightclubs and Discos this might not be for you but if you are looking for a relaxing, fun, holiday then you will love it! People make a holiday and we met some really great people from both the Uk, Poland and Albania, and as I mentioned before the animation team are exceptional. There are four of them in all and if you want to lie on your sun bed that's fine but if you want to join in with the fun and games there is a full programme available. For the first time ever this year I played Volleyball and table tennis and although I may not have been much good it was great fun. The funny games at lunchtime are addictive and not to be missed - if you are aged 8 to 80 you will love them.

So don't panic if you have booked - go and give it a try.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear of the hotel have the sun in the evening - your beach towels will dry on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, Worcestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I went herewith my daughter aged 9 son aged 7 and my sister and her two children aged 10 and 8. We flew with BMI baby and had private transfer arranged in Corfu which took about 45 mins to arrive which we were not impressed with. However that should not reflect on the Hotel. We were greeted by very friendly and obliging staff who bought us more towels as we were a large family without requesting them. We were on the third floor and there is a lift. The rooms are basic with three single beds, two are for adults and one would suit average child up to 14 or so. There was a full size fridge, air con, wardrobe several drawers, dressing table, mirror and wardrobe hanging space. The bathrooms seemed to differ in size from one room to another. They are wet rooms with a toilet sink and shower with curtain and the water drains into the centre of the room. Apparently some rooms have baths with shower over. We had a sea view and balcony, shutters for security and patio style sliding doors. The beds were unfortunately rock hard. Our air con leaked twice and left pools of water on e floor which was corrected within 5 min of reporting I. We also had problem with door lock and this was also sorted within minutes. The room made was lovely and very friendly too. Overall ver clean and tidy. The food was excellent with a wide range of dishes for adult and children. However the red wine was chilled and pretty ropey! The animation team were excellent and made yo feel part of the team without being over zealous. if you didnt want to join in you didnt have to. However both the adult an childrens entertainment in the day was excellent. The pool was never packed even though we went at peak times (firs week in August). There Is a Childrens pool and huge adult pool deep enough to dive in. Even though there were no Germans there the sun beds did fill up quick. There is a small football pitch and a lovely walk to the pebble beach which is sheltered and worth a snorkel to see the fish. It is literally on the hotels doorstep. Other activities included table tennis pool and darts. There a safety deposit boxes at reception which cost 5 euros to rent. The bar is open until the small hours but is chargeable after 11. However the entertainment go's on til 12 most nights. Also during the day apart from lunch they do have regular cake or pizza and ice cream at the pool bar.
After visiting Aqualand both my daughter a my sisters daughter contracted an ear infection. The Irish lady on reception was so helpful in getting a doctor and health forms completed
I have only rated this 3 star as I really think with the right investment some TLC which it is
supposed to be getting I think it will be a cracking place to revisit. We met some really lovely genuine people here and my 9 year old has said it was the best holiday abroad she has ever had!

Room Tip: We were on third floor and the lift was temperamental a couple of times. Also the electric in the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

After reading all the reviews about the the previous name of the hotel, I must admit I was seriously worried, I flew with Easy Jet from Luton, had seperate transfers with Lords Travel, who were very easy to find and we only waited for 10 mins to get on a minibus, we were dropped off on the road but the driver made sure we got acoss the road safely. On entering the hotel it immediately look clean and was very cool inside, took minutes to check in, room was very basic, but I do not go on holiday to spend all day in my room apart from getting washed and changed and sleeping, the room and bathroom was clean, bathroom only had a small shower but was ok, my only grumble with the room was the bed was rock hard. As for the rest of the hotel, pool was fab, bar was open from 10am - midnight, food was lovely and well cooked, animation team was excellent with the kids and did silly activities for the adults. It was a pebble beach but I take my sea shoes with me everywhere so it wasnt a problem. Overall, My Nephew and myself have a great week, if you are looking for 5 star then you need to book 5 star, I have stayed in worse places than this, so do not be frightened to go there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Corfu Senses Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corfu Senses Resort

Address: Agios Ioannis Peristeron 49084, Greece (Formerly Mare Monte Resort)
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Corfu > Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Agios Ioannis Peristeron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Corfu Senses Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Corfu Senses Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Monte Hotel Benitses

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Corfu Senses Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.